Philosophy: Reference Resources for Philosophy

This Biographical Dictionary provides detailed accounts of the lives, works, influence and reception of thinkers from all the major philosophical schools and traditions of the twentieth-century. This unique volume covers the lives and careers of thinkers from all areas of philosophy - from analytic philosophy to Zen and from formal logic to aesthetics. All the major figures of philosophy, such as Nietzsche, Wittgenstein and Russell are examined and analysed.

Ideas have spurred the way to human progress, from the earliest cave dweller to the latest frontiers of computers and technology. This is a human-scale distillation of the major ideas which have had the greatest impact on our development through the ages. It includes a huge variety of terms including the intimidating, such as post-modernism, structuralism and chaos theory, the unusual, including alchemy, polyphony and parapsychology...

Widely acclaimed as the most authoritative and accessible one-volume dictionary of philosophy available in English (and now with translations into Chinese, Italian, Korean, Russian and Spanish forthcoming) this second edition, written by an international team of more than 440 contributors, offers an even richer, more comprehensive, and more up-to-date survey of ideas and thinkers.

Alien abductions, bleeding trees, crop circles, phantom funerals and mysterious showers of fish all feature in this uniquely wide-ranging and balanced guide to unexplained phenomena. Many carefully researched entries shed light on such diverse and controversial subjects as cryptozoology, folklore, fringe science, ghosts, spiritualism, UFOs and witchcraft.

The Companion Encyclopedia of Asian Philosophy is a unique reference work which makes a broad range of richly varied philosophical, ethical and theological traditions accessible to a wide audience. The Companion is divided into six sections covering the main traditions within Asian thought: Persian; Indian; Buddhist; Chinese; Japanese; and Islamic philosophy.

This dictionary introduces undergraduate and post-graduate students in philosophy, mathematics, and computer science to the main problems and positions in philosophical logic. Coverage includes not only key figures, positions, terminology, and debates within philosophical logic itself, but issues in related, overlapping disciplines such as set theory and the philosophy of mathematics as well.

The Dictionary of Philosophy can be used as a guidebook to the history of ideas, an immensely useful handbook for the student of philosophy - or of the many disciplines touching on philosophy - or for the general reader who needs clarification or definition of the many terms and names within its scope. From the classic thinkers, through Aquinas, Descartes, Spinoza, Kant and hundreds more who lead up to the modern age, this comprehensive dictionary...

The Dictionary of World Philosophy covers the diverse and challenging terminology, concepts, schools and traditions of the vast field of world philosophy. Providing an extremely comprehensive resource and an essential point of reference in a complex and expanding field of study the Dictionary covers all major subfields of the discipline.

This reference guide covers the most important authors and movements in Continental Philosophy. Each section focuses on a school of thought, bringing together articles by leading scholars which explore the key thinkers and texts. Arranged in chronological order, the volume begins with the founding texts of Classical Idealism and concludes with Post-structuralism.

Featuring articles, from A PRIORI/A POSTERIORI DISTINCTION to LUDWIG WITTGENSTEIN, by more than 70 leading scholars, this is the only encyclopedia devoted to Empiricism. It is an essential source of information on particular figures, topics, and doctrines, treating the topic as a 17th- and 18th-century movement as well as a broader tendency in philosophical thought.

In this new edition, the Encyclopedia of Ethics has been substantially revised, and it has been expanded by more than 30 percent. Its intended audience remains the same: scholars, university students, and readers with a serious interest in philosophy. Its aims with respect to subject matter remain the same: coverage of ethical theory as pursued among English-speaking philosophers. Its 326 distinguished contributors (see the list of Contributors and Editors) are authorities in their fields.

The Encyclopedia of Postmodernism provides comprehensive and authoritative coverage of academic disciplines, critical terms and central figures relating to the vast field of postmodern studies. The work is easily accessible to readers with specialized research agendas and general interests in contemporary cultural, historical, literary and philosophical issues.

An important resource for those needing to understand the key concepts in philosophy and ethics and their relevance to current issues. It covers a wide range of philosophical ideas including often-neglected non-European traditions such as African philosophies and Islamic ethics.

A concise alphabetical guide to the key terms, issues, theoretical approaches, projects and thinkers in feminist philosophy from Abject to Naomi Zack. Feminist Philosophies A-Z covers contemporary material in a number of feminist approaches.

Great Thinkers, A-Z brings together short, accessible snapshots of the people who have shaped Western thought from the ancient Greeks to today. The snapshots, written by the world's leading experts, describe a major thinker's life and work with suggestions for further reading on each one. Covering philosophers as well as cultural and scientific thinkers - such as Foucault, Darwin, Einstein and Freud - who have had a major impact on philosophy, Great Thinkers, A-Z is the ideal book for anyone...

This book offers introductory entries on ideas that have shaped the study of language up to the present day. Entries are written by experts in the fields of linguistics and the philosophy of language to reflect the full range of approaches and modes of thought. Each entry includes a brief description of the idea, an account of its development, and its impact on the field of language study.

Key Thinkers in Linguistics and the Philosophy of Language is a unique and accessible reference guide to the work of figures who have played an important role in the development of ideas about language. It includes eighty entries on individual thinkers in the Western tradition, ranging from antiquity to the present day, chosen because of their impact on the description or theory of language.

Ancient Greece was the cradle of philosophy in the Western tradition. Meet the Philosophers of Ancient Greece brings the thoughts and lives of the pioneers of Western philosophy down from their sometimes remote heights and introduces them to a modern audience. Comprising essays written by internationally distinguished scholars in a lively and accessible style, this book presents the values, ideas, wisdom and arguments of the most significant thinkers from the world of ancient Greece.

While philosophy of science has always been an integral part of philosophy, since the beginning of the twentieth century it has developed its own structure and its fair share of technical vocabulary and problems. Philosophy of Science A-Z gives concise, accurate and illuminating accounts of key positions, concepts, arguments and figures in the philosophy of science from A priori/a posteriori to Elie Zahar.

A comprehensive, up to date and concise guide to one of the most important branches of philosophy. Both topical and historical, Political Philosophy A-Z has entries on Hobbes, Marx, and Rorty, as well as entries which explain what 'contract theory' is, and gives an account of 'multi-culturalism.' This book guides the reader through the intricacies of political theory, enabling them to trace their way through a debate, fixing historical and theoretical points of reference along the way.