Agricultural Sciences: Resources

Links to the main data gathering sections of the US Department of Agriculture: Economic Research Service (ERS), National Agricultural Statistics Service (NASS), Foreign Agricultural Service (FAS), Rural Business-Cooperative Service, and the World Agricultural Outlook Board (WAOB).

Search the NASS data.

Annual publication including data on agricultural production, supplies, consumption, facilities, costs, and returns.

From the site: "Includes number of farms by size and type, inventory and values for crops and livestock, operator characteristics, and much more." Use the Quick Stats database to search the Census by keyword.

See links to databases on the right-side of the page.

Includes recent and historical data.

From the site: "The Core Historical Literature of Agriculture (CHLA) is a core electronic collection of agricultural texts published between the early nineteenth century and the middle to late twentieth century. Full-text materials cover agricultural economics, agricultural engineering, animal science, crops and their protection, food science,forestry, human nutrition, rural sociology, and soil science. Scholars have selected the titles in this collection for their historical importance. Their evaluations and 4,500 core titles are detailed in the seven volume series The Literature of the Agricultural Sciences, Wallace C. Olsen, series editor."

Contains information by disease, production, and type of plant for field crops (including the Illinois Agronomy Handbook and "The Bulletin" with current news about pest management and crop development in Illinois), fruits and vegetables, turfgrass, and ornamentals.

From the site: "The Research, Education, and Economics Information System (REEIS) is a source of information on the research, education and extension programs, projects and activities of the U. S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) and its partner institutions in the following areas: ARS (Agricultural Research Service), NIFA (National Institute of Food and Agriculture), ERS (Economic Research Services) and NASS (National Agricultural Statistics Service).

Request books that you can't find at Morris Library or through I-Share. Articles are usually delivered to your @siu email; books are delivered to the first floor circulation desk at Morris Library.