Authoritative information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. Uses MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) and searches citations from over 4,800 current biomedical journals.
These resources are available to SIUC faculty, staff, and students:
Indexes 3,024 journals from the fields of nursing and allied health, with coverage back to 1937. Full text for 337 journals, plus legal cases, clinical innovations, critical paths, drug records, research instruments and clinical trials. PDF backfiles to 1937 are also included.
Contains more than 2.6 million citations and abstracts spanning 1806 to the present, selected from approximately 2,000 periodicals n the psychological, social, behavioral, and health sciences. Includes articles, books, chapters, and dissertations.
The Agency for Health Care Research and Quality (US Department of Health and Human Services) coordinates, supports, and reports on all Federal quality improvement efforts and health services research. Links to freely available evidence reports and technology assessments on topics relevant to clinical, social science/behavioral, economic, and other health care organization and delivery issues.
Content from more than 2,500 journals, books, reference works, databases, laboratory manuals and the Cochrane Library, which is the world's best-known resource for evidence-based medicine.
DARE contains abstracts of reviews of the effects of interventions used in health and social care. Contains over 6,000 abstracts of quality-assessed and critically appraised systematic reviews, including all Cochrane reviews and protocols.
A comprehensive database of evidence-based clinical practice guidelines and related documents produced by the Agency for Health Care Research and Quality, in partnership with the American Medical Association and the American Association of Health Plans. Updated weekly.
Southern Illinois University Carbondale
