MCMA 508: Conceptual Foundations of Research: Media Archives

Collection of archived audio recordings: poetry, spoken word, music, news, podcasts, radio, and more. Downloadable and/or streaming.

A free a searchable database of movies digitized and made available by the Internet Archive. Search or browse videos by collections.

Search or browse this archive news programs from stations around the control (local and national news). Goes back to 2009.

Searchable database of free web media, text, audio, and the WayBack Machine (searchable archive of existing and extinct web pages).

Production information on films beginning in 1893. For research on when and how these early films were made

Over 50,000 hours of digitized programming from public television and radio stations across the U.S. Searchable. Notable material gathered by name or topic under "Special Collections."

Early American films, audio recordings, and more, available online.

You may search the film catalog for free, but must sign up for a free trial or subscription to view videos.

Moving Images of the British Empire. This website holds detailed information on over 6000 films showing images of life in the British colonies. Over 150 films are available for viewing online.

Broad collections of films and print materials created beginning in 1870. Including everything from early American films to webinars on current topics.

Stock footage library for video, music, and images.

Searchable digital collection of books & magazines in the public domain. Includes archives of Variety, Photoplay, Cinea, Radio Age, Cinematographer, and more.

1936-1972. Free PDFs from Google Books. Print Life Magazine copies are available in the basement of Morris Library.

Information about film exhibits online and IRL at MOMA, as well as their film archives.

Films (1949-1981), videotape (1982-1996), and lacquer phono discs (1936-1963) produced by municipal radio and television station WNYC.

Online archive of media for educational purpose: includes online courses, films, audiobooks, audio recordings, and eBooks.

From the UNC-Chapel Hill, a collection of digital videos from many source (Edison Video, NASA, Internet Moving Image Archive, Johns Hopkins & Carnegie Mellon).

An online archive of video and new media art: some works are commissioned by Rhizome, an affiliate-in-residence at the New Museum in NYC, and some are archived here.

Local TV news archive with coverage 1948-2005. Click "Collections" to view online.

Art videos and media art installations, as well as experimental films, films in the public domain, audio recordings of spoken word art and music, and more. An archive of unusual and international media/art.

UCLAFTA's channel includes restored films from the archive, digitized for YouTube, as well as videos of events and speakers on film & television history.

The Vanderbilt Television News Archive is the world's most extensive and complete archive of television news. We have been recording, preserving and providing access to television news broadcasts of the national networks since August 5, 1968. The core collection includes evening news from ABC, CBS, and NBC (since 1968), an hour per day of CNN (since 1995) and Fox News (since 2004).

Searchable wiki of images, video, and more, most of which are under Creative Commons License or in the public domain, so they can be reused and transformed.