Resources for Animal Science students taking the seminar.
Search for review articles to find overviews on your topic and additional resources.
- Not every database indexes the same items or journals, even OneSearch or Google Scholar. For a complete search, use more that one database.
- Databases produced by the same vendor (for example, EBSCO) may be searched together.
- Use synonyms, e.g., common name and scientific name: dogs or canis lupus familiaris (or canis familiaris).
- Use Boolean searches. Connect your search terms and phrases with and, or, and not.
- Use Thesaurus or “Suggest” or “Map” functions to search subject headings if available.
- Link from subjects or descriptors found in articles to find others.
- If available, use author indexes to search for publications by the same person (AGRICOLA, CAB, Zoological Record, etc.)
- Use limits, such as language, publication date, and publication type (review articles, scholarly journals).
- Combine searches in Search History.
- Search databases simultaneously if in same database group (Ex: AGRICOLA and CAB are in EBSCO and OneSeach).
- Use truncation symbols if available, e.g. radio* will find radiography, radiology
Most articles in scholarly journals are peer-reviewed, except for editorials, commentaries, letters to the editor, or news items.
Visual clues can help you determine whether an article is probably peer-reviewed or not.
See this YouTube video or the two handouts below for clues to distinguishing between a magazine article and a scholarly article.
- Academic Search Complete
- AGNIC: Agriculture Network Information Collaborative
From the site: Mission: AgNIC facilitates and participates in partnerships and cooperation among institutions and organizations world-wide that are committed to the identification, delivery and preservation of reliable, freely-available, evaluated, digital content and quality services for agriculture, food, and natural resources information.
- AGRICOLA (EBSCO, OneSearch)
Contains citations to journal articles, monographs, theses, patents, software, audiovisual materials, and technical reports related to agriculture. Coverage: 1970-present. Created by the U.S. National Agricultural Library.
- Biological Abstracts (Web of Science)
Contains citations to information about life sciences and basic veterinary research. Online coverage: 1968-present. (Morris Library has older volumes in print.) For review articles, click on the Literature Types limit in the left-hand column, and then select Literature Reviews, and click on the Refine button. To just retrieve peer-reviewed journal articles, click on the Literature Types menu, select the items you want to eliminate, e.g., editorials or meetings, and then click on the Exclude button.
- CAB Abstracts (EBSCO, OneSearch)
Contains citations to journal articles, monographs, conference proceedings, books, annual reports etc. in all agricultural fields including animal science and veterinary medicine. Coverage: 1990-present. To limit to scholarly journals, click on the Academic Journals limit under Source Types in the left column of the results page. To find review articles, use reviews as a search term, e.g., rabies and reviews.
- Environment Index (EBSCO, OneSearch)
"Environment Index provides abstract/index information for over 1000 titles in the area of environmental policy and studies. The product has an Environment thesaurus. Some coverage goes back to the 1940s.
- MEDLINE (EBSCO, OneSearch)
General medical database that includes citations to veterinary medicine journals. PubMed is the public access version of this database. For scholarly journals, use the Academic Journals limit in the Source Type menu in the left column. To find review articles, use the word review in your search, e.g., PRRSV and review, or on the opening search page, check the box next to the words, Review Articles, in the right-hand column in the Limit your results section on the starting search page.
From the site: "PubAg is a portal to USDA-authored and other highly relevant agricultural research. At launch it delivers over 40,000 full-text journal articles by USDA staff and citations to an additional 340,000 articles. The initial release also previews its directions for intended functionality and will serve as the foundation for further enhancements."
General medical database that includes citations to veterinary medicine journals. This is the public access version of MEDLINE. To find reviews, run your search. On the results page, go to the Article Types section in the left-hand column. Click on Review. PubMed will automatically re-run the search with the Review limiter
. See brochures and tutorials for using PubMed
at the National Library of Medicine's Veterinary Science Search page.
- Web of Science
Web of Knowledge covers many disciplines in depth. It includes Biological Abstracts, Zoological Record, and Medline. It also includes citation searching. For peer-reviewed articles or review articles, go to the Document Types menu in the left column and select Article or Review.
- Zoological Record (Web of Science)
Use for searches about wildlife and their diseases. May have information about wildlife/domestic animal interactions. For peer-reviewed articles go to the Document Types menu in the left column and select Article. For review articles, include the word review> in your search, e.g., deer and review.
Request items from around the world through Interlibrary Loan.
- Interlibrary Loan
If there's a book not in I-Share, we'll find it. If there's an article that says "We don't have this online," we will get it for you. Just sign up for an Interlibrary Loan account (click First-Time User). Request articles through "Request a Photocopy".
Worldwide catalog of library resources. See if it's in I-Share, SIU, or locate items to request via ILL.
- Congressional (Proquest) - formerly LexisNexis Congressional
Search congressional hearings, presidential documents, laws, the Federal Register, US Code, and more
The official US site for government documents. Search congressional hearings, presidential documents, laws, the Federal Register, US Code, and more
Full text legal journals.
- Nexis Uni
Search law reviews, newspapers, and more.
Southern Illinois University
(618) 453-5492Send Email
, Animal Science
, Human Food and Nutrition
, Hospitality and Tourism
, and Agricultural Systems
, Plant Biology