This is the "Home" page of the "BIOL 213: Introductory Organismal Form and Function" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

BIOL 213: Introductory Organismal Form and Function   Tags: agriculture, animal science, biochemistry, biology, cellular biology, forestry, horticulture, microbiology, molecular biology, plant biology, water, zoology  

This is a guide for students taking Biology 213, Introductory Organismal Form and Function.
Last Updated: Jan 11, 2018 URL: http://libguides.lib.siu.edu/biol213 Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Your Librarian--Get Help

Profile Image
Mary Taylor
Your JavaScript is disabled.

Can't find it at Morris?

Request items from around the world through Interlibrary Loan.

  • Interlibrary Loan
    If there's a book not in I-Share, we'll find it. If there's an article that says "We don't have this online," we will get it for you. Just sign up for an Interlibrary Loan account (click First-Time User). Request articles through "Request a Photocopy".
  • WorldCat  
      
    Worldwide catalog of library resources. See if it's in I-Share, SIU, or locate items to request via ILL.
 

McMillan: Writing Papers in the Biological Sciences

See Chapter 5, "Writing a Review Article." You may check the book out for 2 hours at a time from the 1st Floor Circulation Desk. Tell the staff it is in the Library Affairs Textbook section. Note: Bring your SIUC ID.

Cover Art
Writing Papers in the Biological Sciences - Victoria E. McMillan
Call Number: 1st Floor Circulation Desk, Reserves: Library Affairs Textbooks
ISBN: 9781319047139
Publication Date: 2016

Key Databases for Literature Reviews for Biology 213

Use these databases to find peer-reviewed original research articles about plant pathology and mammalian teratology.

See this box if you need help identifying an original research paper vs. a review article. If you need assistance contact me or your instructor.

Note: For most of these  tools, don't search with sentences. Use your key terms and connect them with the words and (i.e. all of my words), or (any of my words), or not (none of these words):

What are the effects of thyroid hormones on gene expression in amphibian limbs --->thyroid and hormones and gene expression and amphibians and limbs

Use the Find Full Text link/icon to see if we have the item online or in print at Morris Library.

For help, contact me or the librarians at Morris Library.

  • Biological Abstracts (Web of Science)  
      
    Contains citations to information about plant pathology and mammalian teratology.
  • CAB Abstracts (EBSCO)
    CAB Abstracts contains information about plant pathology and wildlife. Use the Scholarly Journals limit to find articles.
  • JSTOR  
      
    JSTOR contains full-text articles from *older* plant biology, aquatic sciences, biology, ecology, and environmental sciences journals. Dates of coverage vary.
  • MEDLINE
    May be useful for articles about mammalian teratology.
  • Web of Science  
      
    Use this link to search Science Citation Index, Biological Abstracts, Zoological Record, and MEDLINE at the same time. Use the Publication Type limit to find articles.
  • Zoological Record (1945-present) - Web of Science  
      
    Contains citations from 1945 to present. Use the Publication Type limit to find articles.
 

Original Research Articles vs Review Articles

You will need at least  6 references, including "at least 4 original research/journal articles from a variety of authors." (Biology 213 Literature Review handout).

Scholarly journals often include both original research articles and review articles. You need to be able to tell them apart so you will use the right types of sources in your paper. What's the difference?

An original research paper:

  • Is a report of an experiment or study performed by the authors
  • Usually has these sections:
    • Abstract (a summary of the paper)
    • Introduction (includes the research question or hypothesis) and often a brief literature review
    • Methods (also called Materials and Methods or Methodology, explains how the experiment/study was performed)
    • Results (which usually include charts and graphs in scientific papers)
    • Discussion
    • References

Example:

Feldman M.L., Andreu A.B., Korgan S., Lobato M.C., Huarte M., Walling L.L.,  Daleo G.R. 2014. PLPKI: a novel serine protease inhibitor as a potential biochemical marker involved in horizontal resistance to Phytophthora infestans. Plant Breed. 133(2):275-280.

A review article:

  • Gives an overview and analysis of previously published research on a topic.
  • Usually examines multiple experimental research papers on a topic, and summarizes the results of these articles
  • May have the word "Review" in the title.

Example:

Akino S., Takemoto D., Hosaka K. 2014. Phytophthora infestans: a review of past and current studies on potato late blight. J Gen Plant Pathol. 80(1):24-37.

If you have any questions, ask me or your instructor.

     

    Find Books

    Use the I-Share @ Morris Catalog to find books and other resources. 

    Search by broad topic and then limit by format type including electronic books (see the right hand-hand column of the search results screen).

    You may limit to SIUC only if you choose (this works for electronic books).

    You may also change the search type from relevance to newest.

    If you are unable to request an item from I-Share, ask me or Ask-A-Librarian about requesting it using a different interlibrary loan system. 

    Search I-Share @ Morris Library

     

    CSE Resources

    The Council of Science Editors (CSE) style is used by many scientists. There are 3 ways to format citations in CSE Style: Author-Name, Citation-Sequence, and Citation-Name. Ask your instructor about which format to use. 

    Morris Library has a print copy of the newest edition (8th edition) for in-library use:  

    Scientific Style and Format: The CSE Manual for Authors, Editors, and Publishers
    Call Number: Reference T11 .S386 2014
    Location: 1st Floor Information Desk

    Some online resources are available below.

    • Official Scientific Style and Format Citation Quick Guide
      There are 2 tabs: one for Author-Name and one for Citation-Sequence/Citation Name
    • EndNote via Web of Science
      EndNote Web allows you to create and format online lists of references using many styles, including CSE. You may also import references from many databases. You will have to register for access (free for SIUC users). Click on the "My Tools" link at the top of the Web of Science page, then on the EndNote(TM) link. Contact me for assistance.
     

    Contact Morris

    Morris Library
    Southern Illinois University
    Carbondale, IL 62901
    Information Desk: (618) 453-2818
    Administrative Office: (618) 453-2522
    Circulation Desk: (618) 453-1455

    Web Administrator

    Copyright

    © 2014 SIU Board of Trustees

    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip