This LibGuide contains resources useful to catalogers.
- Bibliographic Formats and Standards
Bibliographic Formats and Standards is an exhaustive guide to the MARC format from OCLC. It includes explanations of how the MARC 21 format is applied in OCLC, as well as OCLC expansions beyond the MARC 21 format.
- Cataloger's Desktop
Cataloger's Desktop provides access to AACR2 rules, Describing Archives: a Content Standard (DACS), LC policy statements and rule interpretations, RDA, subject cataloging manuals, MARC21 Formats, and the latest editions of all MARC code lists. This a subscription based resource available to staff only.
- Cataloger's Reference Shelf
Cataloger's Reference Shelf provides cataloging resources including MARC data formats, MARC code lists, subject cataloging manuals, and other reference manuals (Archival moving image materials: a cataloging manual, Cataloging rules for the description of loose-leaf publications, CONSER cataloging manual, CONSER editing guide, Descriptive cataloging of rare books, Graphic materials: rules for describing original items and historical collections, LC classification outline, LC Cutter tables, Library of Congress rule interpretations, LCSH: Principles of structure and policies for application, Map cataloging manual, and NACO participants' manual).
- Cataloguer's Toolbox
This resource contains a collection of cataloging resources from the Memorial University of Newfoundland.
- Classification Web
Search, browse, and access all Library of Congress Classification schedules and Library of Congress Subject and Name Headings. Construct, verify, and assign classification numbers, subject headings, and name headings to library materials. This is a subscription based resource available to staff only.
- Online Dictionary for Library and Information Science (ODLIS)
ODLIS includes the terminology of various specializations within Library and Information Science, and the vocabulary of publishing, printing, binding, the book trade, graphic arts, book history, literature, bibliography, telecommunications, and computer science when, in the author's judgment, a definition might prove useful to librarians and information specialists in their work. Entries are descriptive, with examples provided when appropriate.
- RDA Toolkit
Create your user profile, and browse or search RDA Toolkit. You can look up rules and cross reference them with AACR2 rules. You can create bookmarks. You can create your own workflows and maps, or use those created by others. “RDA Toolkit is an integrated, browser-based, online product that allows users to interact with a collection of cataloging-related documents and resources including RDA.” – James Hennelly, ALA Publishing. This is a subscription based resource available to staff only.
- Record Relationships in Voyager
Provides record relationship diagrams and examples.