Carbondale & Jackson County
Local NewsPresidential Constitution LawsElectoral CollegeLibrary and Campus Events
General Tutorials
CareerConstitutionCopyrightEarthquakeGenealogyKatrinaPaul SimonPresidential ElectionSustainabilityWaterAmerican IndianAnthropologyData/Statistics
Get StartedSearching Digital DocumentsSearching Science GovDocsSearch by Documents TypesCatalogs, Indexes, PortalsOnline Resources List
CatalogsIndexes, Web Portals, Encyclopedias, Guides...BiographyCongressHistorical StatisticsPresidentsPublic OpinionSupreme CourtDocuments Asked by Users
This is the "Using SuDoc Call Numbers" page of the "Government Documents Collections and Services at Morris Library" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Government Documents Collections and Services at Morris Library   Tags: government documents, resources  

This guide serves as a point of access to government information for the constituents of Southern Illinois University of Carbondale and the citizens of Illinois' 12th Congressional District.
Last Updated: Feb 27, 2017 URL: http://libguides.lib.siu.edu/govdocs Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Using SuDoc Call Numbers Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Current Lettering for SuDoc Class Stems

A Agriculture
AE National Archives and Records Administration
B Broadcasting Board of Governors
C Commerce Department
CC Federal Communications Commission
CR Civil Rights Commission
D Defense Department
E Energy Department
ED Education Department
EP Environmental protection Agency
FA Fine Arts Commission
FCA Farm Credit Administration
FHF Federal Housing Financing Board
FM Federal Mediation and Conciliation Service
FMC Federal Maritime Commission
FR Federal Reserve System Board of Governors
FT Federal Trade Commission
FTZ Foreign-Trade Zones Board
GA Government Accountability Office
GP Government Printing Office
GS General Services Administration
HE Health and Human Services Department
HH Housing and Urban Development Department
HS Homeland Security
I Interior Department
IC Interstate Commerce Commission
ID US Agency for International Development
ITC International Trade Commission
J Justice Department
JU Judiciary
L Labor Department
LC Library of Congress
LR National Labor Relations Board
MS Merit Systems Protection Board
NAS National Aeronautics and Space Administration
NC National Capital Planning Commission
NCU National Credit Union Administration
NF National Foundation on the Arts and the Humanities
NMB National Mediation Board
NS National Science Foundation
OP Overseas Private Investment Corporation
P United States Postal Service
PE Peace Corps
PM Personnel Management Office
PR President of the United States
PREX Executive Office of the President
PRVP Vice President of the United States
RR Railroad Retirement Board
S State Department
SBA Small Business Administration
SE Securities and Exchange Commission
SI Smithsonian Institution
SSA Social Security Administration
T Treasury Department
TD Transportation Department
TDA US Trade and Development Agency
VA Veterans Affairs Department
X and Y Congress
 

SuDoc Numbers

The SuDocs stands for Superintendent of Documents Classification. It is the call number system used in SIU Morris Library and many other Federal depository libraries for shelving U.S. Federal government documents.

The SuDocs is a system of library classification developed in the office of the Superintendent of Documents of the United States Government Printing Office (GPO) at the turn of the 20th century.

The SuDocs is straightforward on the surface--A call numbers are publications of the Department of Agriculture, C is Commerce, D is Defense, and so on. This type of system is called a provenance system--it organizes publications based upon issuing agency.

There are exceptions to the straightforward letters, of course: Y 1 call numbers are general publications of Congress--House and Senate Documents and Reports, Y 3 call numbers are independent boards and commissions, and Y 4 call numbers are House and Senate Committee hearings and publications.

Here is a more detailed tutorial, excercise and quiz: http://www.lib.msu.edu/branches/gov/for-libns.jsp

Source:

The information of this page is mainly based on GPO's SuDocs Classification Scheme.

 

Examples of SuDocs

A 13.2:T 73/4
A 93.2:N 95/3
A 93.73:76
A 93.73:89
A 93.73/2:62
C 13.58:7564
C 13.58:7611
HE 20.4002:AD 9/2
HE 20.4002:AD9/5
HE 20.4002:F 94
L 36.202:F 15/2
L 36.202:F 15/2/980
L 36.202:F 15/3
Y 1.1/7:109-118
Y 1.1/7:109-131
Y 1.1/7:110-6
Y 1.1/7:110-20
Y 4.EC 7:C 73/7
Y 4.EC 7:C 73/10
Y 4.EC 7:S.HRG.110-646
Y 4.EC 7:SA 9/2
Y 4.EC 7:SCH 6
Y 4.EC 7:SE 2

Browse US SuDocs and Agency List http://www.library.illinois.edu/doc/researchtools/guides/usfederal/sudoclist.html

 

Subordinate Structure

Subordinate Structure

To describe subordinate structure, the alphabetic symbol is followed by an integer denoting the agency, bureau, office, or other subordinate unit. 1 always represents the parent agency. The integer is followed by a full stop (period) which is not a decimal point.

An integer denoting series, general type, or form follows the period. Originally four series designations were defined:

.1 Annual Reports
.2 General Publications
.3 Bulletins
.4 Circulars

These four have remained in common usage. Other form designators have been defined but their application has been inconsistent over time. These designators include:

.5 Laws
.6 Regulations, rules, and instructions
.7 Press releases
.8 Handbooks, manuals, and guides
.9 Bibliographies and lists of publications
.10 Directories
.11 Maps and charts
.12 Posters
.13 Forms
.14 Addresses

Other series designators that were established, but were not assigned specific numbers, include Electronic Products (which includes CD-ROMs, VHS, and DVD-ROMs) and Ephemera (which includes items issued for a specific, limited use, and are usually intended to be discarded thereafter – it includes bookmarks that are not part of a kit, event programs, and calendars; this class is no longer active).

The second integer is followed by a colon. All the characters up to and including the colon are referred to as the "class stem" or "first figure" and refer to all items of a particular class, not a specific volume, issue, or manifestation.

To the right of the colon, a second figure describes the particular volume or issue at hand. Serial items receive a series designation: volume and number, year and month, or sequential number within series. Monographic items receive a two figure Cutter symbol, derived from the first significant word in the title and based off of C.A. Cutter's Two-Figure Author Table. In its usual application, Cutter classification is applied to personal author names to arrive at a shelf arrangement within subjects. Because SuDocs classification depends solely on corporate authorship, and the stem describes that authorship hierarchically, Cutter is adapted to arrive at a shelf arrangement within provenance from the title.

Contact Morris

Morris Library
Southern Illinois University
Carbondale, IL 62901
Information Desk: (618) 453-2818
Administrative Office: (618) 453-2522
Circulation Desk: (618) 453-1455

Web Administrator

Copyright

© 2014 SIU Board of Trustees

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip