Research Guides: Government Documents Collections and Services at Morris Library: Home

Federal Depository Library Program

This library is a congressionally designated depository for U.S. Government documents. Public access to the Government documents is guaranteed by public law (Title 44 U.S.C.).

Depository documents in the collection are searchable through the library's catalog.

Tangible govdocs items are located on the third floor of Morris Library and arranged by Superintendent of Documents (SuDoc) classification number and organized by the issuing agency.

Current Lettering for SuDoc Class Stems

A	Agriculture
AE	National Archives and Records Administration
B	Broadcasting Board of Governors
C	Commerce Department
CC	Federal Communications Commission
CR	Civil Rights Commission
D	Defense Department
E	Energy Department
ED	Education Department
EP	Environmental protection Agency
FA	Fine Arts Commission
FCA	Farm Credit Administration
FHF	Federal Housing Financing Board
FM	Federal Mediation and Conciliation Service
FMC	Federal Maritime Commission
FR	Federal Reserve System Board of Governors
FT	Federal Trade Commission
FTZ	Foreign-Trade Zones Board
GA	Government Accountability Office
GP	Government Printing Office
GS	General Services Administration
HE	Health and Human Services Department
HH	Housing and Urban Development Department
HS	Homeland Security
I	Interior Department
IC	Interstate Commerce Commission
ID	US Agency for International Development
ITC	International Trade Commission
J	Justice Department
JU	Judiciary
L	Labor Department
LC	Library of Congress
LR	National Labor Relations Board
MS	Merit Systems Protection Board
NAS	National Aeronautics and Space Administration
NC	National Capital Planning Commission
NCU	National Credit Union Administration
NF	National Foundation on the Arts and the Humanities
NMB	National Mediation Board
NS	National Science Foundation
OP	Overseas Private Investment Corporation
P	United States Postal Service
PE	Peace Corps
PM	Personnel Management Office
PR	President of the United States
PREX	Executive Office of the President
PRVP	Vice President of the United States
RR	Railroad Retirement Board
S	State Department
SBA	Small Business Administration
SE	Securities and Exchange Commission
SI	Smithsonian Institution
SSA	Social Security Administration
T	Treasury Department
TD	Transportation Department
TDA	US Trade and Development Agency
VA	Veterans Affairs Department
X and Y	Congress

Federal Government Documents

USA.gov
"USA Gov is the federal program that guides you to tips and tools in English and in Spanish from hundreds of government agencies, departments, and programs."
GovInfo
Full text of the U.S. Code, Code of Federal Regulations, Congressional Record, Federal Register, presidential materials, the Supreme Court web site, congressional bills, GAO reports, etc.

ProQuest Congressional
Indexes historical publications, 1789-1969 and unpublished hearings, 1823-1972. It also provides full text access to the Federal Register (from 1980), the Congressional Record (from 1985) and the National Journal (from 1977). It is especially useful in providing help screens and guides to the legislative and regulatory process.

Congress.gov
"Congress.gov is the official website for U.S. federal legislative information."
Catalog of U.S. Government Publications (CGP)
Provides bibliographic records of U.S. Government information products. Coverage begins with July 1976.
The National Archives Catalog
"The National Archives Catalog contains descriptions for NARA's nationwide holdings in the Washington, DC area; regional facilities; and Presidential Libraries."

HeinOnline (SIU Law Library subscription)
Provides more than 200 million pages of multidisciplinary periodicals, essential government documents, international resources, case law, and much more.

U.S. Government Accountability Office (GAO)
Search for information on audits, evaluations, and investigations provided to Congress.

Court Case Information

Nexis Uni
Search for federal and state cases, including Supreme Court decisions since 1790. Allows the ability to validate cases through Shepardizing the case.
HeinOnline (SIU Law Library subscription)
Search cases as well as an extensive law journal library.

Supreme Court of the United States
Official website of the United States Supreme Court. Includes court opinions, oral argument transcripts and audio files, and case documents.
Oyez
Multimedia archive of Supreme Court cases including summaries, transcripts, and audio. Includes information on the justices and the court.
National Center for State Courts
Listing of state court websites.

Data and Statistics

Data.gov
Contains datasets from across U.S. government agencies.
Statistical Abstracts Series, U.S. Census Bureau
Free or open source. Access to the Statistical Abstracts of the United States in electronic format.
U.S. Census Bureau
Provides information about the U.S. population. In addition to data on populations, housing, income, etc., the “Business and Industry” link provides valuable information on the economic profiles of the U.S. There is also useful data via “Find an Area Profile with Quick Facts” (on the Census home page). Selecting “Illinois” from the drop-down menu will produce data for population, housing, and business. The site also includes the “American Fact Finder,” with community-level data.
Explore Census Data, U.S. Census Bureau
"data.census.gov is the new platform to access data and digital content from the U.S. Census Bureau."
Healthy People 2030
Comprised of "measurable goals to improve the health and well-being of people nationwide". The fifth version of the initiative contains hundreds of "evidence-based objectives organized into user-friendly topics".
National Center for Health Statistics, CDC
Documents from the National Center for Health Statistics on a wide variety of topics.

Illinois Government Documents

Morris Library is also an Illinois State Depository Library. Illinois State government publications are cataloged in I-Share.

Illinois Compiled Statutes
Codified statutes of Illinois.
Illinois Administrative Code
Access to the administrative rules of Illinois state agencies.
Illinois General Assembly
Includes Senate and House floor debate transcripts from 1971-present.
Illinois Courts
Includes opinions, dockets, orders, and announcements and, also, an interactive map linking to U.S. judiciaries’ websites.