Carbondale & Jackson County
Local NewsPresidential Constitution LawsElectoral CollegeLibrary and Campus Events
General Tutorials
CareerConstitutionCopyrightEarthquakeGenealogyKatrinaPaul SimonPresidential ElectionSustainabilityWaterAmerican IndianAnthropologyData/Statistics
Get StartedSearching Digital DocumentsSearching Science GovDocsSearch by Documents TypesCatalogs, Indexes, PortalsOnline Resources List
CatalogsIndexes, Web Portals, Encyclopedias, Guides...BiographyCongressHistorical StatisticsPresidentsPublic OpinionSupreme CourtDocuments Asked by Users
This is the "Congress" page of the "Government Documents Collections and Services at Morris Library" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Government Documents Collections and Services at Morris Library   Tags: government documents, resources  

This guide serves as a point of access to government information for the constituents of Southern Illinois University of Carbondale and the citizens of Illinois' 12th Congressional District.
Last Updated: Feb 27, 2017 URL: http://libguides.lib.siu.edu/govdocs Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Congress Print Page
  Search: 
 

Online Sources

 

Books and Journals

The Congressional Record is the official record of the proceedings and debates of the U.S. Congress. For every day Congress is in session, an issue of the Congressional Record is printed by the Government Printing Office. Each issue summarizes the day's floor and committee actions and records all remarks delivered in the House and Senate.

Publication History

Publication of the Congressional Record began in 1873, but it was not the first printed record of congressional debate, proceedings, and activities. In 1824 (18th Congress, 2nd session), Gales and Seaton, a private firm, began publishing the Register of Debates, which summarized debates considered important by the editors. This publication continued through 1837 (25th Congress, 1st session). In 1834, Gales and Seaton began to publish the Annals of Congress, which retrospectively covered the First Congress through the 18th Congress, 1st session (1789-1824). In 1833, Blair and Rives, another private firm, initiated publication of the Congressional Globe, which began as a weekly report summarizing congressional debate, proceedings, and activities, and later moved closer to a substantially verbatim account. Beginning in 1863, annual appropriations for the Congressional Globe were authorized and publication continued through the end of the 42d Congress in 1873, when Congress decided that going forward the Government Printing Office should be responsible for publishing the official record of Congress.

CIS U.S. Serials Set Index
Call Number: Government Documents Reference, 3rd Floor, Q. 328.730016 C749C
Publication Date: 1975 - 1997
Invaluable reference guide to hearings and reports.

Congressional Record: Proceedings and Debates in U.S. House and Senate (1873 - Current)
Call Number: Government Documents (non-circulating), 3rd floor, X 83/2-X 99/2, X, X1.1, X 1.1/A. Shelved in chron
Publication Date: 1874 - Present
Annual indexes are shelved at the end of each session of Congress through the 105th Congress, 1st session. After this the Indexes are shelved after all of the paperback volumes of the Congressional Records.

Ask staff if you need assistance.

Congress and the Nation: A Review of Government and Politics in the Postwar Years
Call Number: KF49.C653 C66 1965x
Publication Date: 1965 - 2010
Very useful chronological guide to politics, 1945-present.

Congressional Quarterly Almanac
Call Number: Journals 1996+, 3rd Floor; 1995 & older in McLafferty Annex. Shelved by title, A-Z
Publication Date: 1948 - 2002
Largely duplicates Congress and the Nation, but contains major Supreme Court decisions and voting records of congressional representatives.

Directory of Congressional Voting Scores and Interest Group Ratings - J. Michael Sharp (Editor)
Call Number: Reference (non-circulating), 1st Floor, JK1051 .S555 2000
Publication Date: 2000




[Serial set].
Call Number: Y1.1/2:
Government Documents Microfiche 4x6, 3rd Floor.
Library has 1789-1969.
CLASS 10:MISCELLANEOUS (1ST-17TH CONGRESS)
CLASS 9:CLAIMS (1ST-17TH CONGRESS)
CLASS 8:PUBLIC LANDS (1ST-24TH CONGRESS)
CLASS 7:POST OFFICE (1ST-22ND CONGRESS)
CLASS 6:NAVAL AFFAIRS (3RD-24TH CONGRESS)
CLASS 5:MILITARY AFFAIRS (1ST-25TH CONGRESS)
CLASS 4:COMMERCE & NAVIGATION (1ST-17TH CONGRESS)
CLASS 3:FINANCE (1ST-20TH CONGRESS)
CLASS 2:INDIAN AFFAIRS (1ST-19TH CONGRESS)
CLASS 1:FOREIGN RELATIONS (1ST-20TH CONGRESS)

CIS index to U.S. executive branch documents, 1789-1909 : guide to documents listed in Checklist of U.S. public documents, 1789-1909, not printed in the U.S. serial set.
Call Number: Q. 015.73 C5792
Government Documents Reference, 3rd Floor.
Each part includes a User guide and the following sections: Reference bibliography, Index by subjects and names, Index by Superintendent of Documents numbers, Index by titles, Index by agency report numbers.
Accompanies microfiche collection entitled: U.S. Executive Branch documents, 1789-1909.

American state papers [electronic resource] : documents, legislative and executive of the Congress of the United States - selected and edited, under the authority of Congress, by Walter Lowrie and Matthew St. Clair Clarke.
Available online to current SIUC students, faculty and staff only.
Editorship of later vols. varies.
Retrospective vols. of the United States Congressional serial set appended as nos 1-38 of the set.
Covers period: 1789-1838.
Includes indexes.
Indexed by: CIS U.S. serial set index.
Reproduction of original from The American Antiquarian Society.
Sabin no. 1228.

American state papers. Documents, legislative and executive, of the Congress of the United States ... - Selected and edited under the authority of Congress.
Call Number: Y1.1/2:CLASS/
Government Documents Reference, 3rd Floor.
CLASS 8/V.1 (PUBLIC LANDS)
CLASS 8/V.8 (PUBLIC LANDS)
CLASS 8/V.7 (PUBLIC LANDS)
CLASS 8/V.6 (PUBLIC LANDS)
CLASS 8/V.5 (PUBLIC LANDS)
CLASS 8/V.4 (PUBLIC LANDS)
CLASS 8/V.2 (PUBLIC LANDS)
CLASS 6/V.3 (NAVAL AFFAIRS)
CLASS 6/V.2 (NAVAL AFFAIRS)
CLASS 5/V.7 (MILITARY AFFAIRS)
CLASS 5/V.6 (MILITARY AFFAIRS)
CLASS 5/V.5 (MILITARY AFFAIRS)
CLASS 5/V.4 (MILITARY AFFAIRS)
CLASS 5/V.3 (MILITARY AFFAIRS)
CLASS 3/V.5 (FINANCE)
CLASS 3/V.4 (FINANCE)
CLASS 3/V.3 (FINANCE)
CLASS 3/V.1 (FINANCE)

The Congressional globe
Call Number: X:72-180
GovDocs Microfilm, 3rd Floor
23-42 (1833-1873)

Associate Professor, Government Information Librarian

Profile Image
Jian Anna Xiong
Contact Info
Morris Library (Mail Code 6632)
Carbondale, IL 62901

(618) 453-7108
axiong at lib.siu.edu
 

Contact Morris

Morris Library
Southern Illinois University
Carbondale, IL 62901
Information Desk: (618) 453-2818
Administrative Office: (618) 453-2522
Circulation Desk: (618) 453-1455

Web Administrator

Copyright

© 2014 SIU Board of Trustees

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip