- Academic Search Premier
Academic Search Premier searches both popular magazines and academic journals in nearly every academic subject. It includes full text of many, but not all, of the articles.
- ACM (Association for Computing Machinery) Digital Library
ACM Digital Library includes citations and full text from ACM (Association for Computing Machinery) articles and conference proceedings.
- American Society of Agricultural and Biological Engineers (ASABE) Online Technical Library
Contains full text journal articles and technical documents published by the ASABE, including Transactions of the ASABE," Journal of Agricultural Safety and Health, Applied Engineering in Agriculture, ASABE Standards, conference proceedings, and annual meeting papers.
- Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals
The Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals has a listing of journal articles in architecture and design, including architecture and city planning. It is useful for some civil engineering topics.
- Dissertations and Theses Abstracts
Abstracts from doctoral dissertations and masters theses from many universities, mostly in North America, can be found in Dissertation and Theses Abstracts. It includes complete dissertations and theses produced by SIUC graduates in recent years.
- EBSCOhost Research Databases
Allows for searching multiple databases at once. Can search Computers & Applied Sciences Complete and Academic Search Premier simultaneously.
- Environment Index
Environment Index provides indexing and abstracts for titles in environmental studies and environmental policy.
"esp@cenet is Europe's network of patent databases. Its simple interface is available in most European languages and has been carefully tailored for use by people who don't have a lot of patent searching experience. It contains over 60 million patent documents from all over the world."
- GeoRef (Ovid)
GeoRef is a major database for geology. GeoRef includes references to journal articles, books, maps, conference papers, reports and theses. It is useful for mining and mineral resources engineering topics and for some civil engineering topics.
- Google Patents
Google Patents includes the patents available in the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office (USPTO) Web site. It has patents from the 1790s up to a few months ago. Google Patents has scanned the USPTO images of patents into full-text searchable pdfs.
- Google Scholar
Google Scholar is a free resource that searches across disciplines for materials, including published articles, unpublished preprints, theses, books, preprints, and technical reports.
"Indexes scholarly and general interest titles, as well as government documents and reports. This resource offers a unique perspective on the positive and negative ways humans affect the environment.”
- IEEE Xplore
Full-text publications back to 1988 from IEEE (originally the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers) and IET (the institution of Engineering and Technology), including journals, transactions, proceedings, magazines, and standards
JSTOR has complete online copies of older issues of many key journals across many subject areas. JSTOR does NOT include recent issues of journals.
- Math/Sci/Net (Mathematical Reviews on the Web)
Primarily a mathematics database, MathSciNet is useful for mathematical topics in engineering.
- Medline (EBSCO)
MEDLINE can be used to search for journal articles from over 18 million article citations in the fields of medicine and the life sciences, including biomedical engineering.
- Oceanic Abstracts
Oceanic Abstracts focuses worldwide technical literature about the marine and brackish-water environment. It is useful for some civil and environmental engineering topics.
PapersFirst indexes papers published in conference proceedings in many different subject areas.
An index of conference proceedings in many disciplines that are received The British Library Document Supply Centre.
A free resource from the National Library of Medicine, PubMed can be used to search for journal articles from over 18 million article citations in the fields of medicine and the life sciences, including biomedical engineering.
- SciFinder (Web version login)
SciFinder includes the abstracts for articles in more than 10,000 journals, chiefly in chemistry. Coverage goes back to the beginning of the 20th century. It includes searching by chemical formula, structure, and reaction. First-time users need to register. See the registration information below.
- SciFinder Web Registration (for first time users)
First-time users of the SciFinder Web version need to register. Registration must be done with an email address ending in .siu.edu from an on-campus computer or from a computer connected to the university's VPN.
Scitopia is a free resource that searches bibliographic records of articles published in the journals of fifteen different science and technology societies, including IEEE, ASME, APS, and AIP. It also searches U.S. and European patents.
ThomasNet is an online directory of parts and equipment suppliers. It includes industrial information, products, services, CAD drawings, and more.
- USPTO Patent Database
The U.S. Patent and Trademark office's entry page to search full text and full-image patents from the United States. You must have a TIFF image viewer plug-in installed in your Web browser to view and print full image pages.
- Water Resources Abstracts
Provides abstracts of technical and scientific literature in water resources, including water treatment and environmental engineering.
- Web of Science
On Web of Knowledge, Morris Library has Web of Science, a multidisciplinary citation index, as well as Medline, Biological Abstracts, Zoological Record and Inspec. If you want to use just one of these databases, click on the "Select Database" tab. It also includes citation searching and analysis, journal impact factor and a bibliographic management tool.
- Web of Science (Citation Indexes)
Multidisciplinary database that makes connections between publications, the works that they cite, and the works that cite them.