A guide to research in human nutrition and dietetics
Contains citations to journal articles, monographs, theses, patents, software, audiovisual materials, and technical reports related to food and agriculture. Coverage: 1970-present. Created by the U.S. National Agricultural Library.
- CAB Abstracts (1990-present)
Contains citations to journal articles, monographs, conference proceedings, books, annual reports etc. in nutrition and all agricultural fields as well as forestry, veterinary medicine, and biological information. Coverage: 1990-present.
- CINAHL Plus with Full Text
Search for journal articles in over 3,000 journals from the fields of nursing and allied health from 1937 to the present. Uses the EBSCO search form.
Publicly available general medical database that includes citations to human and animal nutrition journals. Medline (EBSCO)
uses the same underlying database with the EBSCO search form.
- Web of Science
Covers many disciplines in depth. Uses keyword searching. It includes citation searching and analysis, journal impact factor and a bibliographic management tool (EndNote)
- Annual Reviews
The Annual Reviews site contains full-text access to many yearly life sciences reviews, including nutrition. Dates of coverage vary.
- Biological Abstracts (Web of Science)
Contains citations to information about life sciences. Online coverage: 1968-present. (Morris Library has older volumes in print.)
- Cochrane Library
Search for articles in more than 2,500 journals, books, reference works, databases, laboratory manuals. The world's best-known resource for evidence-based medicine.
- Dietary Supplement Subset in PubMed
From the NLM website: "The subset is designed to limit search results to citations from a broad spectrum of dietary supplement literature including vitamin, mineral, phytochemical, ergogenic, botanical, and herbal supplements in human nutrition and animal models "published, international, scientific literature on dietary supplements including vitamins, minerals, and botanicals." This link will open up the PubMed search screen with limiters for dietary supplements already in place. See the list of limiters here
. From the NLM site: "This subset can also be used in a search as dietsuppl [sb].
Example: anemia AND dietsuppl [sb]
- ERIC (EBSCO)
Search the scholarly literature in education, including nutrition education and information about the school lunch program. The Current Index to Journals in Education (CIJE) contains article citations for over 1,000 journals. Uses EBSCO.
- Google Scholar
General search engine that includes citations to journal articles and freely available full text items. Use the Find it Morris Links to check for article availability via Morris Library. Dates of coverage vary.
- Health-evidence (McMaster University)
"Provides quality research evidence to public health decision makers, saving you time by searching, screening, and rating the systematic review evidence to compile it in a free, searchable online registry."
- Human Microbiome, Diet, and Health, The (US Institute of Medicine)
Workshop summary. From the National Academies Press website
: "The Food Forum convened a public workshop on February 22-23, 2012, to explore current and emerging knowledge of the human microbiome, its role in human health, its interaction with the diet, and the translation of new research findings into tools and products that improve the nutritional quality of the food supply. The Human Microbiome, Diet, and Health: Workshop Summary summarizes the presentations and discussions that took place during the workshop." Washington (DC): National Academies Press (US); 2013.
- LactMed: Drugs and Lactation Database
From NLM's Toxnet site: "Drugs and Lactation Database (LactMed) - A peer-reviewed and fully referenced database of drugs to which breastfeeding mothers may be exposed. Among the data included are maternal and infant levels of drugs, possible effects on breastfed infants and on lactation, and alternate drugs to consider."
- Morbidity and Mortality Weekly Report (MMWR)
Contains a basic and advanced search function for past editions of the CDC's Morbidity and Mortality Weekly Report.
- Nutrition Evidence Library (USDA)
Reports of systematic reviews done by scientists and librarians.
- Obesity Resources (Partners in Information Access for the Public Health Workforce)
Includes: associations, obesity information and resources; reports, publications and guidelines; programs and campaigns; child obesity information; data and statistics; legislation and policy; grants; training and CE; and conferences. This site is provided by Partners in Information Access for the Public Health Workforce (including US government agencies, public health organizations, and libraries).
"Search the scholarly literature in the psychological, social, behavioral and health sciences, including health behavior and motivation. Spanning 1806 to the present, coverage is of approximately 2,000 periodicals."
- PubAg (US Department of Agriculture)
From the site:"PubAg is a portal to USDA-authored and other highly relevant agricultural research. At launch it delivers over 40,000 full-text journal articles by USDA staff and citations to an additional 340,000 articles."
- SciFinder (Web version login)
SciFinder Scholar includes information about chemistry, biochemistry, and life sciences. Go to this page
for registration information. Coverage: mostly 1907-present
- SocIndex with Full Text
Search more than 600 journals from 1895 to the present in the most comprehensive database covering the field of sociology. Also includes extensive indexing of books, conference papers, and other materials.
Search abstracts of journal articles, conference proceedings, some books and dissertations dealing with exercise, health, rehabilitation, sports injuries, sports medicine, and training and conditioning. Uses EBSCO.
- Tests and Instruments
A Morris Library tutorial about locating tests, measures and instruments for psychological or educational assessment.
TOXNET is a group of databases with citations to articles about toxicology, hazardous chemicals, etc. from the U.S. National Library of Medicine. It includes the Developmental and Reproductive Toxicology database (DART).
Southern Illinois University
(618) 453-5492Send Email
, Animal Science
, Human Food and Nutrition
, Hospitality and Tourism
, and Agricultural Systems
, Plant Biology