Research Guides: Human Nutrition and Dietetics: Books and Other Stuff

Finding Books

First open up our library catalog, in another window.
To find a book on your topic, enter your keywords in the search box.
Click on a relevant book title and then click on the subject headings for more books on the same topic.
Determine where the book is located. If it's at Morris Library retrieve it from the indicated floor. If it's in Off-Site Storage, use the Request function in I-Share to have it retrieved.
If Morris Library does not have the book you want, use the Request First Available option in I-Share catalog to have it retrieved from another library in llinois.
If I-Share does not have the book you want, search WorldCat and then request it through Interlibrary Loan.

Search for books, ebooks, journals, government documents, DVDs, CDs, and more.

Credo Reference
Credo is an online collection of reference works in all subjects. It includes medical dictionaries and some psychology reference books.
Dissertations and Theses Global
"Includes more than 2 million doctoral dissertations and master's theses." Recent citations include abstracts and free 24 page previews. There is an option to buy a print or microform copy, but use our InterLibrary Loan borrowing service at no charge."
Dissertations and Theses @ Southern Illinois University Carbondale
Contains Ph.D. dissertations and Master's theses produced by SIUC students. Full text PDFs are included when available. Note: This database also has an option to buy a print or microform copy, but Morris Library can loan its print copies for free.
Encyclopedia of Life Sciences (eLS)
"A fulltext resource that includes 4,200 peer-reviewed articles written by leaders in the field. The appendix and glossary include biochemical and taxonomic information, acronyms, synonyms, units and other technical data."

Food Environment Atlas (USDA, Economic Research Service)
The U.S. Department of Agriculture has compiled data from several government agencies to create the atlas. It contains data, in some cases at the county level, about obesity, diabetes, access to locally grown food, food prices, access and proximity to a grocery store, demographics, food insecurity, income and poverty levels, etc.

OpenSIUC
Institutional repository offering permanent, reliable,and free access to research and scholarly material produced at Southern Illinois University Carbondale.
WorldCat
Worldwide union catalog created and maintained collectively by more than 9,000 member institutions. If you find an item in WorldCat, check in the library catalog to see if Morris Library or an I-Share library own a copy. If not, try Interlibrary Loan.