Research Guides: Curriculum and Instruction: Home

Databases

Credo Reference
Reference works in all subjects, including encyclopedias, dictionaries, atlases, etc. Includes statistics, definitions, biographies, quotations, videos, maps, etc.
Education in Video, Volume I
Streaming video developed specifically for training and developing teachers. Contains more than 1,000 video titles totaling 750 hours of teaching demonstrations, lectures, documentaries, and primary-source footage of students and teachers in actual classrooms.
ERIC (EBSCO)
Collects and distributes the U.S. national bibliographic database and full text materials whenever possible covering the literature of education. Uses the EBSCO interface.
Google Scholar
To connect to Morris Library's online resources via Google Scholar, follow these steps:
1. go to Google Scholar Settings
2. click on Library links on the left
3. search for Carbondale
4. check the checkbox next to the "Southern Illinois University Carbondale - Find Full Text @ Morris"
5. Hit save.
Now Find Full Text @ Morris links will appear on Google Scholar results allowing you to connect to library resources.
Professional Development Collection
Provides a specialized collection of nearly 550 high quality education journals, including more than 350 peer-reviewed titles for professional educators. Also contains more than 200 educational reports.
PsycINFO
Contains more than 2.6 million citations and abstracts spanning 1806 to the present, selected from approximately 2,000 periodicals n the psychological, social, behavioral, and health sciences. Includes articles, books, chapters, and dissertations.
Teacher Reference Center
Provides indexing and abstracts for more than 270 teacher and administrator journals and magazines on topics such as Assessment, Best Practices, Continuing Education, Current Pedogogical Research, Curriculum Development, Elementary Education, Higher Education, Instructional Media, Language Arts, Literacy Standards, School Administration, Science & Mathematics, and Teacher Education.

Children's Literature Information

Books in Print
Bibliographical records for more than 5 million in-print, out-of-print, forthcoming, book,audio book, and video titles.
MAS Ultra - School Edition
Contains full text for more than 700 popular, high school magazines, 84,074 biographies, 86,135 primary source documents, 518 pamphlets, more than 350 reference books (including the Columbia Encyclopedia, the CIA World Fact Book, and World Almanac & Book of Facts), and backfiles (to 1975) for key magazines.
Oxford Encyclopedia of Children's Literature
Documents and interprets the books read by children throughout the world with attention to international trends and the multicultural expansion of the field. Includes brief biographies of major authors and illustrators, essays on genres, individual works, and prominent trends and themes, and the traditions of children's literature in many countries.
Primary Search
Designed specifically for elementary school libraries and public library children's rooms. Contains full text for nearly 70 popular, elementary school magazines with all full text articles assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles). Offers indexing and abstracts for additional magazines and full text of over 100 student pamphlets.

ALSC Book & Media Awards Shelf
Information provided by a division of the American Library Association on award-winning children's books and media.
International Children's Digital Library
The ICDL is committed to creating a digital library of outstanding children's books from all over the world. The collection includes nearly 4000 books in 54 languages.
Library of Congress: Free to Use and Reuse Classic Children's Books
Scanned copies of classic children's books from the Library of Congress' collection.
Project Gutenberg
Library of over 60,000 free eBooks.
SurLaLune Fairy Tales
Dedicated to the study of fairy tales, this website includes in depth studies of 45 fairy tales, over 1,400 illustrations, an illustrator index, full-text articles on the study of fairy tales, activities for school and home, links to fairy tales around the world, and even a discussion board.

Web Resources

Accelerated Reader Bookfinder
A link to Accelerated Reader (AR) produced by Renaissance Learning, Inc. You do not need a keycode to search for appropriate titles.
Applying Big6 Skills, AASL Standards and ISTE Standards to Internet Research
Janet Murray's site correlates Eisenberg's and Berkowitz's Big6 Skills with the Standards for the 21st Century Learner (American Assoc. of School Librarians) and the National Educational Technology Standards for Students.
Cooperative Children's Book Center (CCBC)
The CCBC is part of the University of Wisconsin-Madison School of Education. Here you will find direct links to lists of annual awards and distictions.
Donors Choose
An online charity connecting donors to classrooms.
Lesson Planet
Search over 550,000 teacher-curated reviews to free and open educational resources (OER).
OER Commons
As a network for teaching and learning materials, the site offers engagement with resources for curriculum alignment, quality evaluation, social bookmarking, tagging, rating, and reviewing. A very useful platform to assist in being part of a global community.
Resources, Illinois Media Literacy Coaltion
To aid teachers incorporating media and information literacy skills in lessons.
Standards and Courses, Illinois State Board of Education
"The Illinois Learning Standards establish expectations for what all students should know and be able to do in each subject at each grade."
Universal Design of Instruction (UDI): Definition, Principles, Guidelines, and Examples
UD is a set of principles for curriculum development that give all individuals equal opportunities to learn.

Additional Resources

Almanack
Free lesson planning and generation of slide decks, assessments, and worksheets
BookAI
Ask questions about and get summaries of books after entering the author and title.
Diffit for Teachers
"... instantly get “just right” resources for any lesson, saving tons of time and helping all students to access grade level content."
Generative AI for Teachers
A Library resource guide made by SIU about AI resources useful for teachers.
Khan Academy
Khan Academy provides free instruction videos on a wide range of topics from Pre-K to College, including videos, readings, and quizzes.

Your Librarian

Moira Fiscus

Email Me

Contact:

Morris Library
Room 260F
Southern Illinois University
Carbondale, IL

We're Here to Help

Ask A Librarian

Subjects: Accountancy, Accounting, Advanced Energy and Fuel Management, Advanced Vehicle Systems and Diagnostics, Aerospace Studies, Africana Studies, Agricultural Education, Agricultural Sciences, Agricultural Systems, Agricultural Systems and Education, Air Traffic Control, Aircraft Product Support, Airport Management and Planning, American Sign Language, Ancient Practice, Anthropology, Architectural Studies, Architecture, Army Military Science, Art, Art and Design, Art Education, Art History, Automotive Technology, Automotive, Truck, and Equipment Management, Aviation Flight, Aviation Management, Aviation Technologies, Behavior Analysis and Therapy, Biomedical Engineering, Biomedical Science, Business, Business Administration, Business Analytics, Business and Administration, Cannabis Production Systems, Child and Family Services, Chinese, Cinema, Civil and Environmental Engineering, Classical Civilization, Communication Studies, Computer Engineering, Construction Management and Operations, Continuous Improvement, Counseling and Rehabilitation Education, Creative Writing, Criminology and Criminal Justice, Crop Breeding, Genetics, and Biotechnology, Curriculum and Instruction, Cybersecurity and Cyber Systems, Early Childhood, East Asian Civilization, Econometrics and Quantitative Economics, Economics, Education, Educational Administration, Electrical and Computer Engineering, Elementary Education, Energy Engineering, English, Environmental Resources Policy, Equine Studies, Exercise Science, Fashion Studies, Finance, Food and Process Engineering Technology, Forensic Science, French, Game Design and Development, Geography and Environmental Resources, Geosciences, German, German Studies, GIS, Global Studies, Greek, Health Administration, Health Informatics, Health Information and Informatics Management, Higher Education, History, Human Sciences, Industrial Design, Infection Prevention and Control, Information Technology, Interior Design, International Studies, Japanese, Journalism, Languages, Cultures, and International Studies, Latin, Latina/o/x and Latin American Studies, Leadership (Military Science), Legal Studies, Linguistics, Long Term Care Administration, Management, Marketing, Mass Communication and Media Arts, Mechanical Engineering and Energy Processes, Media Theory and Research, Medical Dosimetry, Medical Science, MEDPREP, Molecular Biology, Microbiology, and Biochemistry, Molecular, Cellular, and Systemic Physiology, Music, Musical Theater, Mythology, Neuroscience, Nursing, Occupational Therapy, Organizational Learning, Innovation, and Development , Paralegal Studies, Pharmacology and Neuroscience, Philosophy, Plant, Soil, and Agricultural Systems, Political Science, Pre-Law, Professional Media and Media Management Studies, Psychology, Public Administration, Public and Nonprofit Administration, Public Safety Management, Quality Engineering and Management, Quantitative Methods Education, Radio, Television, and Digital Media, Radiological Sciences, Recreation Leadership, Social Work, Sociology, Spanish, Special Education, Sport Administration, STEM Leadership, Strategic Analytics, Sustainability, Teacher Education Program, Teaching English to Speakers of Other Languages, Technical Resource Management, Television Studies, Theater, University Honors, University Studies, Unmanned Aircraft Systems, Visual and Screen Cultures, Women, Gender, and Sexuality Studies