Research Guides: Education: Home

Suggested Databases

Academic Search Complete
Multi-disciplinary database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals as well as indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 other publications.
Child Development & Adolescent Studies
This bibliographic database covers current and historical literature related to growth and development of children through the age of 21.
ERIC (EBSCO)
Collects and distributes the U.S. national bibliographic database and full text materials whenever possible covering the literature of education. Uses the EBSCO interface.
Google Scholar
To connect to Morris Library's online resources via Google Scholar, follow these steps:
1. go to Google Scholar Settings
2. click on Library links on the left
3. search for Carbondale
4. check the checkbox next to the "Southern Illinois University Carbondale - Find Full Text @ Morris"
5. Hit save.
Now Find Full Text @ Morris links will appear on Google Scholar results allowing you to connect to library resources.
JSTOR
Provides access to more than 12 million journal articles, books, images, and primary sources in 75 disciplines.
Professional Development Collection
Provides a specialized collection of nearly 550 high quality education journals, including more than 350 peer-reviewed titles for professional educators. Also contains more than 200 educational reports.
PsycINFO
Contains more than 2.6 million citations and abstracts spanning 1806 to the present, selected from approximately 2,000 periodicals n the psychological, social, behavioral, and health sciences. Includes articles, books, chapters, and dissertations.
SocIndex with Full Text
Contains over 1,600,000 citations, abstracts for 640 core journals in the social sciences dating back to 1895. Indexes books, conference papers, and other sources and includes full text for 547 books and monographs, and full text for 6,711 conference papers.
Teacher Reference Center
Provides indexing and abstracts for more than 270 teacher and administrator journals and magazines on topics such as Assessment, Best Practices, Continuing Education, Current Pedogogical Research, Curriculum Development, Elementary Education, Higher Education, Instructional Media, Language Arts, Literacy Standards, School Administration, Science & Mathematics, and Teacher Education.
Web of Science
Provides access to over 170 million citations in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities. Allows cited reference searches. Tutorials available at https://www.youtube.com/user/WoSTraining.

Additional Resources for Articles and News

Peer-Reviewed Journals employ an editorial board, editor, and system of academic reviewers who assess the quality of the research and contribution to the discipline of submitted articles and recommend to the editor whether the article should be accepted/published as is, returned for minor revisions, or rejected. Rejections might include recommendations of other journals for which the article might be a better fit. Normally, the system is double-blind -the author does not know the identify of the reviewer and the reviewer does not know the identity of the author.

Chronicle of Higher Education
A trade paper for academic education that features news, advice, and jobs in higher education is published every weekday. Features daily news and advice columns; thousands of current job listings; vibrant discussion forums; and career-building tools such as an online CV's, salary databases, and more.
Cricket Media ebook Collection
The collection is comprised of the Cricket Media’s award-winning, short-form fiction and nonfiction e-books geared towards the young adult.
Journal Citation Reports
Allows evaluation and comparison of journals using citation data drawn from over 7,000 scholarly and technical journals from more than 3,300 publishers in over 60 countries. Includes science, technology, and social sciences publications.

Search Morris Library's Catalog

Search for books, ebooks, journals, government documents, DVDs, CDs, and more.

Books

Educated by Tara Westover
Call Number: LC Books: 6th Floor CT 3262 .I2 W47 2018
ISBN: 9780399590504
Publication Date: 2018
After being isolated in a rural Mormon community her life, Tara Westover goes to college and through learning adjusts to a new world around her.
Creative Schools by Ken Robinson and Lou Aronica
Call Number: LC Books: 5th Floor LB1590.5 .R64 2015
ISBN: 9780670016716
Publication Date: 2015
At a time when standardized testing businesses are raking in huge profits, when many schools are struggling, and students and educators everywhere are suffering under the strain, Ken Robinson argues for an end to our outmoded industrial educational system. He proposes instead a highly personalized, organic approach that draws on today's unprecedented technological and professional resources to engage all students, develop their love of learning, and enable them to face the real challenges of the twenty-first century.
Pedagogy of the Oppressed by Freire, Paulo and Myra Bergman Ramos (Translator)
"The methodology of the late Paulo Freire has helped to empower countless impoverished and illiterate people throughout the world. Freire's work has taken on especial urgency in the United States and Western Europe, where the creation of a permanent underclass among the underprivileged and minorities in cities and urban centers is increasingly accepted as the norm."

Can't find it at Morris?

Request items from around the world through Interlibrary Loan. Check and request books from I-Share first before requesting books through this service.

Interlibrary Loan
Request books that you can't find at Morris Library or through I-Share. Articles are usually delivered to your @siu email; books are delivered to the first floor circulation desk at Morris Library.
more...less...
used in description of NEW ECONOMICS PAPERS on AGBE; in the FINDING BOOKS box on HORTICULTURE: FINDING BOOKS AND OTHER STUFF; HOW TO FIND BOOKS box on POLITICAL SCIENCE: BOOKS AND OTHER STUFF. STEP #2 on WORKFORCE ED: RESEARCH STRATEGY; RESEARCH TIPS on EDUCATION; FINDING BOOKS on FOR 409

WorldCat
Worldwide union catalog created and maintained collectively by more than 9,000 member institutions. If you find a resource in WorldCat, check in the library catalog to see if Morris Library or an I-Share library own a copy. If not, try Interlibrary Loan.

Children's Literature Information

Books in Print
Bibliographical records for more than 5 million in-print, out-of-print, forthcoming, book,audio book, and video titles.
Elementary School Ebook Collection
Over 16000 titles to support K-8 students across all academic subjects from History, to Language and Literature, to Science & Technology
High School ebook Collection
This collection of over 13000 full text titles designed specifically to support a quality learning experience for High School students across all academic subjects.
Literary Reference Source
Contains full text for more than 35,000 plot summaries, synopses and work overviews, nearly 100,000 articles/essays of literary criticisms, more than 253,000 author biographies (including more than 22,000 in-depth bios), more than 460 literary journals, more than 693,000 book reviews, nearly 78,000 classic and contemporary poems, more than 19,600 classic and contemporary short stories, more than 6,500 author interviews, more than 8,200 classic texts and much more.
MAS Ultra - School Edition
Contains full text for more than 700 popular, high school magazines, 84,074 biographies, 86,135 primary source documents, 518 pamphlets, more than 350 reference books (including the Columbia Encyclopedia, the CIA World Fact Book, and World Almanac & Book of Facts), and backfiles (to 1975) for key magazines.
Middle Search Plus
Includes full text for more than 140 popular, middle school magazines, over 300 reference books, and over 5000 juvenile fiction and non-fiction e-books.
Nonfiction Book Collection
This database contains informative abstracts and searchable full text for more than 4,100 popular nonfiction books on core subject areas, as well as information on careers, health, sports, adventure, technology, life skills and more
Novelist Plus
Find books that perfectly match your reading preferences and moods. 
Oxford Encyclopedia of Children's Literature
Documents and interprets the books read by children throughout the world with attention to international trends and the multicultural expansion of the field. Includes brief biographies of major authors and illustrators, essays on genres, individual works, and prominent trends and themes, and the traditions of children's literature in many countries.
Primary Search
Designed specifically for elementary school libraries and public library children's rooms. Contains full text for nearly 70 popular, elementary school magazines with all full text articles assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles). Offers indexing and abstracts for additional magazines and full text of over 100 student pamphlets.
Public Library ebooks
This general reference e-book collection features over 50000 titles for both adults and juveniles, as well as best-selling and recommended titles from leading publishers.

ALSC Book & Media Awards Shelf
Information provided by a division of the American Library Association on award-winning children's books and media.
International Children's Digital Library
The ICDL is committed to creating a digital library of outstanding children's books from all over the world. The collection includes nearly 4000 books in 54 languages.
Library of Congress: Free to Use and Reuse Classic Children's Books
Scanned copies of classic children's books from the Library of Congress' collection.
Project Gutenberg
Library of over 60,000 free eBooks.
SurLaLune Fairy Tales
Dedicated to the study of fairy tales, this website includes in depth studies of 45 fairy tales, over 1,400 illustrations, an illustrator index, full-text articles on the study of fairy tales, activities for school and home, links to fairy tales around the world, and even a discussion board.

Data and Surveys

ICPSR: Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Science Research
Data archive of more than 500,000 files of research in the social sciences. Hosts 16 specialized collections of data in education, aging, criminal justice, substance abuse, terrorism, and other fields.

Childstats.gov
Compiled by the Federal Interagency Forum on Child and Family Statistics, this site provides access to federal and state statistics on children and their families, including population and family characteristics, economic security, health, behavior, social environment and education. The Forum annually publishes "America's Children: Key National Indicators of Well-Being."
Digest of Education Statistics
"The primary purpose of the Digest of Education Statistics is to provide a compilation of statistical information covering the broad field of American education from prekindergarten through graduate school. The Digest includes a selection of data from many sources, both government and private, and draws especially on the results of surveys and activities carried out by the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES)."
Illinois Report Card Data Library
This website contains annual reports from 1996 that track educational performance, student population, and more at public K-12 schools in the state of Illinois. Information is readable in Excel documents with an additional document containing a glossary of terms.
National Center for Education Statistics, U.S. Department of Education
The NCES collects and analyzes data on all aspects of education and schools and makes it available in full-text on their website. The Nation’s Report Card is also available, as is a school, college, and library locator.

Illinois State Resources

Illinois Board of Higher Education
The Illinois Board of Higher Education seeks to increase the number of people with higher education in the state of Illinois. Their website includes data and reports relating to this goal, from total numbers to demographics.
Illinois Report Card Data Library
This website contains annual reports from 1996 that track educational performance, student population, and more at public K-12 schools in the state of Illinois. Information is readable in Excel documents with an additional document containing a glossary of terms.
Illinois State Board of Education (ISBE)
The Illinois State Board of Education web site includes many resources for teachers, including a list of Illinois State Standards and 2,923 lesson plans on various topics supplied by the government. The website can be navigated either by subject browsing or by a direct search. This is a great website to visit if one is planning on teaching or be certificated in Illinois.
Illinois State Board of Education: Standards and Instruction
"The Standards and Instruction Department is committed to supporting Illinois schools and educators by providing guidance, resources, and professional learning to support student achievement and equitable learning outcomes. "
Special Education Department, Illinois State Board of Education
"The Special Education Department assures that ... programs and services meet state and federal requirements. This involves both compliance and technical assistance functions."
Standards and Courses, Illinois State Board of Education
"The Illinois Learning Standards establish expectations for what all students should know and be able to do in each subject at each grade."

Federal Government Websites and Resources

Childstats.gov
Compiled by the Federal Interagency Forum on Child and Family Statistics, this site provides access to federal and state statistics on children and their families, including population and family characteristics, economic security, health, behavior, social environment and education. The Forum annually publishes "America's Children: Key National Indicators of Well-Being."
Digest of Education Statistics
"The primary purpose of the Digest of Education Statistics is to provide a compilation of statistical information covering the broad field of American education from prekindergarten through graduate school. The Digest includes a selection of data from many sources, both government and private, and draws especially on the results of surveys and activities carried out by the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES)."
National Assessment of Educational Progress (NAEP)
Often called the 'Nation's Report Card,' the NAEP provides comprehensive measure of what America's students know and can do.
National Center for Education Statistics, U.S. Department of Education
The NCES collects and analyzes data on all aspects of education and schools and makes it available in full-text on their website. The Nation’s Report Card is also available, as is a school, college, and library locator.
Teaching and Learning Tools, Service-Learning Resource Center
Listing of lesson plans and project ideas created by the National Youth Leadership Council.
U.S. Department of Education
The U.S. Department of Education contains information and resources about federal laws relating to education and data on both a state and federal level relating to education.

Websites

Crash Course
Aimed at High Schoolers and Undergraduates, Crash Courses provides free video courses on a wide range of subjects from History to STEM.
Eurydice: The Information Network on Education in Europe
An information network developed by the European Commission and member states, Eurydice gathers information and produces reports on education within Europe.
Generative AI for Teachers
A Library resource guide made by SIU about AI resources useful for teachers.
Khan Academy
Khan Academy provides free instruction videos on a wide range of topics from Pre-K to College, including videos, readings, and quizzes.
OER Commons
As a network for teaching and learning materials, the site offers engagement with resources for curriculum alignment, quality evaluation, social bookmarking, tagging, rating, and reviewing. A very useful platform to assist in being part of a global community.
UNESCO Education Databases and Tools
Provides access to a wide range of education statistics maintained by UNESCO.
AllSides
Gathers news articles from over 1,400 sources and uses language analysis to sort them by political bias. Similar to Ground News, but the full feature set is free.

Also Try

Dissertations and Theses @ Southern Illinois University Carbondale
Contains Ph.D. dissertations and Master's theses produced by SIUC students. Full text PDFs are included when available. Note: records include an option to buy a print or microform copy of a dissertation or thesis, but Morris Library can loan its print copies of dissertations and theses for free.
Dissertations and Theses Global
Includes dissertations and theses from around the world, offering millions of works from thousands of universities. Full-text coverage spans from 1743 to the present, with citation coverage dating back to 1637.
Education in Video, Volume I
Streaming video developed specifically for training and developing teachers. Contains more than 1,000 video titles totaling 750 hours of teaching demonstrations, lectures, documentaries, and primary-source footage of students and teachers in actual classrooms.
Research Papers from SIUC
Primarily papers written after 2008. Search the library catalog for older papers.

Your Librarian

Moira Fiscus

Email Me

Contact:

Morris Library
Room 260F
Southern Illinois University
Carbondale, IL

Morris Library

Education: Home