Streaming video developed specifically for training and developing teachers. Contains more than 1,000 video titles totaling 750 hours of teaching demonstrations, lectures, documentaries, and primary-source footage of students and teachers in actual classrooms.
To connect to Morris Library's online resources via Google Scholar, follow these steps:
1. go to Google Scholar Settings
2. click on Library links on the left
3. search for Carbondale
4. check the checkbox next to the "Southern Illinois University Carbondale - Find Full Text @ Morris"
5. Hit save.
Now Find Full Text @ Morris links will appear on Google Scholar results allowing you to connect to library resources.
Abstracts and indexes international journal articles, book reviews, books, book chapters, dissertations and working papers in linguistics and related disciplines in the language sciences. Covers all aspects of the subject including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax, and semantics.
Authoritative information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. Uses MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) and searches citations from over 4,800 current biomedical journals.
Contains more than 2.6 million citations and abstracts spanning 1806 to the present, selected from approximately 2,000 periodicals n the psychological, social, behavioral, and health sciences. Includes articles, books, chapters, and dissertations.
Provides a specialized collection of nearly 550 high quality education journals, including more than 350 peer-reviewed titles for professional educators. Also contains more than 200 educational reports.
Compiled by the Federal Interagency Forum on Child and Family Statistics, this site provides access to federal and state statistics on children and their families, including population and family characteristics, economic security, health, behavior, social environment and education. The Forum annually publishes "America's Children: Key National Indicators of Well-Being."
"The primary purpose of the Digest of Education Statistics is to provide a compilation of statistical information covering the broad field of American education from prekindergarten through graduate school. The Digest includes a selection of data from many sources, both government and private, and draws especially on the results of surveys and activities carried out by the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES)."
This website contains annual reports from 1996 that track educational performance, student population, and more at public K-12 schools in the state of Illinois. Information is readable in Excel documents with an additional document containing a glossary of terms.
The NCES collects and analyzes data on all aspects of education and schools and makes it available in full-text on their website. The Nation’s Report Card is also available, as is a school, college, and library locator.
used in description of NEW ECONOMICS PAPERS on AGBE; in the FINDING BOOKS box on HORTICULTURE: FINDING BOOKS AND OTHER STUFF; HOW TO FIND BOOKS box on POLITICAL SCIENCE: BOOKS AND OTHER STUFF. STEP #2 on WORKFORCE ED: RESEARCH STRATEGY; RESEARCH TIPS on EDUCATION; FINDING BOOKS on FOR 409
Worldwide union catalog created and maintained collectively by more than 9,000 member institutions. If you find a resource in WorldCat, check in the library catalog to see if Morris Library or an I-Share library own a copy. If not, try Interlibrary Loan.
Dissertations and Theses
For in-depth arguments (often) not yet published, try these databases of dissertations and theses.
Contains Ph.D. dissertations and Master's theses produced by SIUC students. Full text PDFs are included when available. Note: records include an option to buy a print or microform copy of a dissertation or thesis, but Morris Library can loan its print copies of dissertations and theses for free.
Includes dissertations and theses from around the world, offering millions of works from thousands of universities. Full-text coverage spans from 1743 to the present, with citation coverage dating back to 1637.
Includes more than one million electronic theses and dissertations from across the globe. Faceted searches available by language, continent, country, date, format, and source institution. Not all theses and dissertations included are open-access.