Research Guides: AD 318: Curriculum Building through Art in Diverse Contexts: Research Guide

Research Guide Contents

> Key Resources

> Art Education Journals

> Search Morris Library's Catalog

> Example Subject Searches

> Lesson Planning Resources

> Images Licensed for Reuse

> Citing Images

> Citation Help

> Suggested Reading

Key Resources

Carbondale Arts
The website includes information on artwork in schools and past community-art education events.

Art Education Journals

Art Education
Studies in Art Education
Full text of articles published from 1959 through 15 months ago available online. Issues published between 1959 - 2008 available in print, shelved in the basement.
Visual Arts Research
Full text of articles published from 1982 - 2012 available online. Issues published from 1982 - present available in print, shelved in the basement.

Search Morris Library's Catalog

Search for books, ebooks, journals, government documents, DVDs, CDs, and more.

Example Subject Searches

Lesson Planning Resources

Instructional Materials Center (3rd Floor)
The IMC houses children's literature, oversize books, curriculum guides, teacher resource books, textbooks, and posters. Check out items for two weeks, and email askalibrarian@lib.siu.edu for details.
National Gallery of Art Lessons and Activities
Grade-specific, thematic projects and lesson plans organized around National Gallery collections. Meets NAEA standards.
Getty Museum Resources for Teaching
Searchable list of lesson plans can also be browsed by subject, including "When Art Talks," "Historical Witness, Social Messaging", and teaching with sculpture.
Illinois Art Education Association
Professional development organization that includes a list of resources for teaching as well as information on grants and conferences.
Metropolitan Museum of Art Lesson Plans
Activities which teach about the history of art, design, and architecture, using the objects housed in the Met.
Kennedy Center Digital Resources Library
Digital resource for teaching art, including activities and lesson plans, as well as a database of the National Standards for Arts Education.

Images Licensed for Reuse

These images are publicly available or have limited restrictions. Remember that public domain is always "to the best of our knowledge" and use images according to the restrictions described by each hosting site.

Art Images for College Teaching
A set of public domain. images created by Minneapolis College of Art & Design students and staff.
Art Resource
More than 400,000 searchable fine art images, three million transparencies, and black and white photographs of works of painting, sculpture, architecture and the minor arts. All images are subject to the copyright terms of the owners (often museums and galleries in this case).
Open Content Images, Getty Search Gateway
Provides tens of thousands of images from various collections. to aid in the teaching of art and art history, including over 88,000 artworks.
Library of Congress Prints and Photographs Online Catalog
More than 1.2 million digitized images from the Library of Congress, many in the public domain.
Metropolitan Museum of Art's Open Access Digital Collection
These images of items in the Met's collection are available for free download and use.
National Gallery of Art Open Access
Repository of digital images of the collections of the National Gallery of Art. More than 29,000 open access digital images up to 3000 pixels each are available free of charge for download and use.
Rijksstudio Search from the Rijksmuseum
A Dutch national museum of art and art history, which has made high-resolution images of art in its collection available for download and reuse via its Rijks Studio software.
Web Gallery of Art
The Web Gallery of Art is a virtual museum containing over 52,000 images, focusing on European painting and sculpture. Search by artist name, or the generalized search engine.
Wikimedia Commons
Searchable wiki of images, video, and more, most of which are under Creative Commons License or in the public domain, so they can be reused and transformed.

Citation Help

The Writing Center
Make an appointment for writing and citation help at the Writing Center in Morris Library (2nd floor).
more...less...
used in STEP #5 on WORKFORCE ED: RESEARCH STRATEGY; used in GETTING HELP on GETTING STARTED ON YOUR LITERATURE REVIEW

APA Style and Formatting (OWL)
Quick guide for citing resources in APA style.

Citing Images

For APA, 7th edition:

Artist Lastname, Firstinitial. (Year of release). Title of artwork [medium]. Name of owning museum, Location City, State, Country. URL of page on which the image appears.

For MLA:

Artist Lastname, Firstname. Title of work. Date of creation. Owning Institution/Gallery/Museum, Location City. Name of Website, URL of page on which the image appears.

APA Style and Formatting (OWL)
Quick guide for citing resources in APA style.
MLA Style and Formatting (OWL)
Quick guide to citing resources using MLA style.