Research Guides: Agricultural Systems and Education: Resources

In this Guide

Your Librarian

Email Me

Contact:

Morris Library
Room 260G
Southern Illinois University
Carbondale, IL

618-453-5492

Subjects: Agribusiness Economics, Agricultural Education, Agricultural Sciences, Agricultural Systems, Agricultural Systems and Education, Air Traffic Control, Animal Science, Automotive Technology, Automotive, Truck, and Equipment Management, Aviation Flight, Aviation Management, Aviation Technologies, Biological Sciences, Crop Breeding, Genetics, and Biotechnology, Crop, Soil, and Environmental Management, Environmental Resources and Policy, Environmental Studies, Equine Studies, Fermentation Science, Food and Process Engineering Technology, Forestry, Geography and Environmental Resources, Geology and Geosciences, GIS, Horticulture, Microbiology, Molecular Biology, Microbiology, and Biochemistry, Molecular, Cellular, and Systemic Physiology, Neuroscience, Pharmacology and Neuroscience, Plant Biology, Plant, Soil, and Agricultural Systems, Sustainability, Unmanned Aircraft Systems, Zoology

Trial Database: FSTA: Food Science And Technology Abstracts (Expires January 25, 2024)

Key Databases

AGRICOLA
American Society of Agricultural and Biological Engineers (ASABE) Online Technical Library
Business Source Complete
CAB Abstracts
CAB Direct indexes resources in all agricultural fields as well as nutrition, environmental studies, and the life sciences. It includes coverage from 1973-present. Note: This is the same database as CAB Abstracts on a different platform with different dates of coverage.
Communication and Mass Media Complete
Computers and Applied Sciences Complete
Covers the research and development spectrum of the computing and applied sciences disciplines. provides indexing and abstracts for more than 1,800 academic journals, professional publications, and other reference sources. Full text is available for more than 730 periodicals.
ERIC (EBSCO)
The Educational Resources Information Center includes citations to journal articles, research reports, books, conference papers, etc. There is also a public access version to use after you graduate.

Also Try

Academic Search Complete

Agriculture Network Information Center (AgNIC)
Includes access to the public version of AGRICOLA, as well as full text extension documents, agricultural experiment station documents, and other "reliable, freely-available, evaluated, digital content and quality services for agriculture, food, and natural resources information."

PLANTS Database, National Resources Conservation Service, USDA
Includes information about agricultural and horticultural plants. From the site: "The PLANTS Database provides standardized information about the vascular plants, mosses, liverworts, hornworts, and lichens of the U.S. and its territories."

PubAg
Portal to USDA-authored and other highly relevant agricultural research. Includes datasets and many full text articles as well as citations.
SciFinder-n
Abstracts for articles in more than 10,000 journals, chiefly in chemistry. Coverage goes back to the beginning of the 20th century. Includes searching by chemical formula, structure, and reaction.
SciFinder-n Registration (for first time users)
First-time users need to register with a .siu.edu email address.
Web of Science

Search Morris Library's Catalog

Search for books, ebooks, journals, government documents, DVDs, CDs, and more.

Can't find it at Morris?

Request items from around the world through Interlibrary Loan. Check and request books from I-Share first before requesting books through this service.

Interlibrary Loan
Request books that you can't find at Morris Library or through I-Share. Articles are usually delivered to your @siu email; books are delivered to the first floor circulation desk at Morris Library.
more...less...
used in description of NEW ECONOMICS PAPERS on AGBE; in the FINDING BOOKS box on HORTICULTURE: FINDING BOOKS AND OTHER STUFF; HOW TO FIND BOOKS box on POLITICAL SCIENCE: BOOKS AND OTHER STUFF. STEP #2 on WORKFORCE ED: RESEARCH STRATEGY; RESEARCH TIPS on EDUCATION; FINDING BOOKS on FOR 409

WorldCat
Worldwide union catalog created and maintained collectively by more than 9,000 member institutions. If you find a resource in WorldCat, check in the library catalog to see if Morris Library or an I-Share library own a copy. If not, try Interlibrary Loan.

Morris Library

Agricultural Systems and Education: Resources