Agricultural Systems and Education: Agricultural Statistics

Annual publication including data on agricultural production, supplies, consumption, facilities, costs, and returns.

Complete count of U.S. farms, ranches, and their operators conducted every 5 years. Data for 2017, the latest completed census, and previous years are available.

The Census of Agriculuture is taken every 5 years. Data for 2017 and previous years are available at this site. From the USDA's National Agricultural Statistics Service.

ESMIS contains recent and historical reports and datasets about both internal U.S. agriculture and international trade. The USDA's Agricultural Marketing Service, Economic Research Service, National Agricultural Statistics Service, Foreign Agricultural Service, and the World Agricultural Output Board and the Albert R. Mann Library at Cornell University are the site's creators.

Overviews and quarterly forecasts from the USDA's Economic Research Service.

Source of "accurate, timely, and useful statistics" pertinent to U.S. agriculture. A wealth of data available under “Demographics" and "Statistics by State." Includes the Census of Agriculture.

Comprehensive tool for accessing agricultural data published by NASS. Allows customized queries by commodity, location, or time period, results of which can be visualized on a map, manipulated, exported, and/or a link saved for future use..

Provides information about the U.S. population. In addition to data on populations, housing, income, etc., the “Business and Industry” link provides valuable information on the economic profiles of the U.S. There is also useful data via “Find an Area Profile with Quick Facts” (on the Census home page). Selecting “Illinois” from the drop-down menu will produce data for population, housing, and business. The site also includes the “American Fact Finder,” with community-level data.

Select a crop to see the estimates by Illinois county.

Click "Illinois" to see congressional district links. Includes statistics on the number of farm operators, number of farms, land in farms, market value of products sold, land in irrigation, market value of commodities sold, value of sales by commodity group, farm expenses, farms by value of sales, operator characteristics, etc.

Data sets include Population, Income, Education, Employment, and Federal Funds; Organic Agriculture; Farm Characteristics; Farm Financial Indicators; and Top Commodities, Exports, and Counties.

Fact Sheets. Click on the relevant county in the state of Illinois. Based on the Census of Agriculture.

International statistics for trade in agricultural products.

Provides free access to food and agriculture data for over 245 countries and territories and covers all FAO regional groupings from 1961 to the most recent year available.

Presented by the USDA's Economic Research Service, this site contains monthly, fiscal year, and calendar year information, including the latest updates, exports of bulk agricultural products, top import sources, top export destinations, and much more.

Includes the Global Agricultural Trade System (GATS), commodity data and statistics, Export Sales Query System, etc.

Updates on recent exports. Use the Export Sales Data Query System to generate your own reports.

Access requires free registration.
Dynamic data tool that gives users access to current and cumulative U.S. export and import data.

Provides access to U.S. import and export statistics, U.S. tariffs, future tariffs, and tariff preference information.