Map Resources Online: Geology

"The BGS maps portal provides high-resolution scans of almost all the small- and medium-scale maps produced by the BGS since mapping started in 1832. It includes the key 1:63 360 or 1:50 000 maps of England and Wales and of Scotland."

Features interactive maps of latest earthquakes, faults, and earthquake scenarios, along with many more static maps.

The USGS EROS Center studies land change and produces land change data products used by researchers, resource managers, and policy makers across the nation and around the world. It also operates the Landsat satellite program with NASA, and maintains the largest civilian collection of images of the Earth’s land surface in existence, including tens of millions of satellite images.

ISGS maps are published in a variety of series, differentiated primarily by level of review. Those map series that are available online are described below.

"A distributed archive of standardized geoscience information for the nation."

From the U.S. Geological Survey - includes information on various topics including earthquakes

TopoView highlights one of the USGS's most important and useful products, the topographic map.

Presents instructions and examples on how to locate and interact with topographic maps online in the USGS database.

Official USDA soil information as viewable maps and tables for more than 3200 soil surveys.

"The USGS monitors, analyzes, and predicts current and evolving Earth-system interactions and delivers actionable information at scales and timeframes relevant to decision makers.The USGS provides science about natural hazards, natural resources, ecosystems and environmental health, and the effects of climate and land-use change."

"Since 2011, FracFocus has been growing a database of chemical disclosures, and prides itself on providing a one-stop, easy-to-understand public resource for consumers wishing to explore this data."

Stories on fracking from the Carbondale newspaper.

"Exploring data, sharing perspectives, and mapping impacts of the gas industry"; includes links to maps, data, pictures, articles, facts, etc.

Includes information on permitting, applicable regulations, and IDNR rules.