Map Resources Online: Historical

Approximately 155 maps from 1815-2002; in French only

Available from the Newberry Library.

Historical map collection of over 42,000 maps and images, primarily 18th and 19th century

A collection of nearly 800 maps depicting California as an island—a "cartographic blunder" that wasn't fully rectified on maps until the mid-18th century.

Over 1,000 historic maps, primarily of Georgia and the region

16th century to present

"The Henry J. Bruman Map Collection at UCLA contains historical and contemporary maps from around the world. The digital collection focuses on historical maps of California, Los Angeles County, and the city of Los Angeles with an emphasis on maps from 1860-1950. This is an ongoing project and maps will be added to this collection as they are scanned and processed."

Digitized maps and nautical charts.

Broad variety of digitized maps.

Contains annotated links to almost 2,500 historical maps for regions all over the world.

Digital presentation by Anne Morrow.

While the focus is primarily on New York City and State, this archived page includes maps of other states and beyond. Using the search option to look for "historic maps" returns current guides.

Google-like search engine that indexes over 400,000 maps.

"Mapping historical photos from the NYPL."

"The Peutinger Map is the only map of the Roman world to come down to us from antiquity. An elongated object full of colorful detail and featuring land routes across Europe, North Africa, and the Near East, it was mysteriously rediscovered around 1500 and then came into the ownership of Konrad Peutinger, for whom it is named. Today it is among the treasures of the Austrian National Library in Vienna."

Digitized maps from the Historical Map Archive, University of Alabama.

Maps, statistical trends, and historical descriptions of Britain and Europe from 1801 to 2001.

Made available by the UK Onshore Geophysical Library, "a charitable body providing a substantial open-access resource of commercial data on the deep geology beneath our feet—promoting education, research and development."

The Society's collection of over 6,000 digital maps and atlases