Research Guides: Resources for the Study of African American History in Southern Illinois: Rare Books

Search Morris Library's Catalog

Search for books, ebooks, journals, government documents, DVDs, CDs, and more.

Books, Theses and Term Papers in the Rare Book Collection

Buying practices of selected low-income black families in Carbondale, Illinois by Bankston, Joanne
Call Number: Thesis FA 1973 B218; 3rd Floor
1973. MA Thesis: Southern Illinois University Carbondale.
The legal status of the negro in Illinois as determined by state legislation and state Supreme Court decisions, 1818-1853 by Baumgartner, Sandra Anne
Call Number: q 326.9773 B348L; Dewey Books, Basement
1966. MA Thesis: Southern Illinois University Carbondale. Also available at Special Collections (non-circulating), 1st floor (Requires 48-hour notice).
An analysis of indentured servants contracts in St. Clair County Illinois prior to statehood by Bovinet, Judith A.
Call Number: 91-BOVI315121R; Special Collections (non-circulating), 1st floor (Requires 48-hour notice).
1991. Research Paper. SIUC.
The Cairo Project: a report by the students of the School of Journalism at Southern Illinois University Carbondale.
Call Number: Folio F549.C2 C35 2007x; Folio Books, 5th Floor
2007. SIUC, School of Journalism. Also available at Special Collections (non-circulating), 1st floor, 002273.
Environmental neoliberalism in the War on Poverty: a case study of Carbondale, Illinois by Carter, Gregory M.
Call Number: Available online, follow the "Request: Full Text from ProQuest" link
2017. MA Thesis. SIUC. Also available at Theses, etc., Special Collections (non-circulating), 1st floor (Requires 48-hour notice).
Memories of Lakeview by Cofield, Jewell Russell
Call Number: Special Collections (non-circulating), 1st floor, 001461
1976.
Investigating public participation in the environmental decision making process: a case study of northeast Carbondale, Illinois by Davis, Deidra D.
Call Number: Available online, follow the "Request: Full Text from ProQuest" link
2017. Dissertation. SIUC. Also available at Theses, etc., Special Collections (non-circulating), 1st floor (Requires 48-hour notice).
Bondage in Egypt: Slavery in Southern Illinois by Dexter, Darrel
Call Number: F545 .D49 2012x, LC Books, 6th floor
2010. Cape Girardeau, MO: Center for Regional History, Southeast Missouri State University. Also available at Special Collections (non-circulating), 1st floor, 032412.
Let My People Go: Cairo, Illinois, 1967-1973: civil rights photographs by Ewing, Preston and Jan P. Roddy
Call Number: Oversize F549.C2 E85 1996, 4th Floor
ISBN: 0809320851
1996. Carbondale: SIU Press. Also available at Special Collections (non-circulating), 1st floor, 036757, and Reference Office (non-circulating), Ask at Information Desk, 1st Floor ; F549.C2 E85 1996.
The black laws of Illinois by Gertz, Elmer
Call Number: Special Collections (non-circulating), 1st Floor, 004524
Written between between 1957 and 1965.
The history of Negro servitude in Illinois, and of the slavery agitation in that state, 1719-1864 by Harris, Norman Dwight
Call Number: Available online, follow the "Full Text Available at HathiTrust" link
1904. Ann Arbor, Mich. University Microfilms. Also available at Dewey Books, Basement ; 326.9773 H315h and Special Collections (non-circulating), 1st Floor, 004570.
An approach to communications and black unity in Carbondale through the works of the Narcotic Addiction Rehabilitation Coordinating Organization (NARCO) of Carbondale, Illinois by Harvey, Patricia Ann Holmes
Call Number: Thesis D 1974 H342, Theses & Dissertations, 3rd Floor
1974. MA Thesis: Southern Illinois University Carbondale.
Illinois Negro historymakers by Hodges, Carl G. et al.
Call Number: 325.26 H688I, Dewey Books, Basement
1964. Chicago: Illinois Emancipation Centennial Commission. Also available at Special Collections (non-circulating), 1st Floor, 005018.
Nonwhite population in Illinois, 1950-1960 by Illinois Commission on Human Relations
Call Number: q 312.9 I29N, Dewey Books, Basement
1961. Chicago.
Illinois African-American resource guide by Illinois State Library
Call Number: 977.3004016 I29 1999, Dewey Books, Basement
1999. Illinois State Library special report series ; vol. 6, no. 2.
In Unity There Is Strength by Schiller, Bill
Call Number: F549.C35 I5 1999, LC Books, 6th Floor
ISBN: 1563115093
1999. Paducah, KY: Turner Publishing Company. Also available at Reference (non-circulating), 1st Floor, F549.C35 I5 1999, and Special Collections (non-circulating), 1st floor, 004972.
Negroes in Jackson County, 1850-1910 by Jones, Johnetta L.
Call Number: q. HI 1971 J77, Theses, etc., Special Collections (non-circulating), 1st floor (Requires 48-hour notice)
1971. MA Thesis: Southern Illinois University.
A History of the City of Cairo, Illinois by Lansden, John M.
Call Number: Available online, follow the "Full Text Available at HathiTrust" link
ISBN: 0809329360
1910. Reprinted multiple times. Also available at 977.3999 L295h 1910, Dewey Books, Basement; F549.C2 L29 2009, LC Books, 6th floor; and Special Collections (non-circulating), 1st floor, 004924
Free Black Communities and the Underground Railroad by LaRoche, Cheryl Janifer
Call Number: Available online, follow the "CARLI Ebooks: University Press Scholarship Online" link
ISBN: 0252095898
2014. Urbana: University of Illinois Press. Also available at Special Collections (non-circulating), 1st floor, 037146.
Crusade Against Slavery by Leichtle, Kurt E.
Call Number: F545.C695 L44 2011, LC Books, 6th floor
ISBN: 0809330423
2011. Carbondale: SIU Press.
Generations: a pictorial review of African Americans in Carbondale, Illinois by Macklin, Melvin LeRoy Green
Call Number: Special Collections (non-circulating), 1st floor, 005060
2003. Dallas, TX: Ingenuity Press.
The legacy of Attucks and black institutions in the northeast Carbondale community by Macklin, Melvin LeRoy Green
Call Number: Special Collections (non-circulating), 1st floor, 005367
2004. Dallas, TX: Ingenuity Press.
Traces in the Dust by Macklin, Melvin LeRoy Green
Call Number: F549.C37 M34 2001x, 6th Floor
ISBN: 0970158203
2001. Magnolia, TX: Ingenuity Press. Also available at Oversize F549.C37 M34 2001x, Oversize Books, 4th Floor, and Special Collections (non-circulating), 1st floor, 005061.
The nutrition environment in rural southern Illinois: an African-American perspective by McGoy, Shanell L.
Call Number: Available online, follow the "OpenSIUC Theses and Dissertations" link
2013. Dissertation, Southern Illinois University Carbondale. Also available at Theses, etc., Special Collections (non-circulating), 1st floor (Requires 48-hour notice).
The Nest: Attucks High School Year Book
Call Number: Special Collections (non-circulating) , 1st floor, 036483
1961, 1963, 1964. Carbondale, IL.
Faith in Black Power: religion, race, and resistance in Cairo, Illinois by Pimblott, Kerry
Call Number: Special Collections (non-circulating), 1st floor, 037418
ISBN: 0813168821
2017. Lexington, KY: University Press of Kentucky.
Escape Betwixt Two Suns: a true tale of the underground railroad in Illinois by Pirtle, Carol
Call Number: 973.7115 P672e 2000, Dewey Books, Basement
ISBN: 0809323001
2000. Carbondale: Southern Illinois University Press. Also available at Special Collections (non-circulating), 1st floor, 005305.
Illinois blacks through the Civil War: a struggle for equality by Ricke, Dennis Frank
Call Number: Thesis HI 1972 R539, Theses & Dissertations, 3rd Floor
1972. MA Thesis: Southern Illinois University Carbondale.
Social adjustment of aged negroes of Carbondale, Illinois by Sherman, Eugene Garfield, Jr.
Call Number: Theses, etc., Special Collections (non-circulating), 1st floor (Requires 48-hour notice)
1955. MA Thesis: Southern Illinois University Carbondale.
African American Directory by Southern Illinois University at Carbondale. Office of Executive Assistant to the President (Affirmative Action/Equal Opportunity)
Call Number: 378.773 S727WAF, Dewey Books, Basement
1991.
A glimpse of the past: our lives in memories by Spinner, Cozette Bell, and Melvin LeRoy Green Macklin
Call Number: Special Collections (non-circulating), 1st floor, 037600
2012. Detroit, MI: C.B. Spinner and M.L.G. Macklin.
A history of African Americans at Southern Illinois University at Carbondale 1915-1987 by Stalls, Madlyn
Call Number: Theses, etc., Special Collections (non-circulating), 1st floor (Requires 48-hour notice)
1990. Dissertation, Southern Illinois University Carbondale.
The state is your ally: Examining the long Civil Rights Movement in Cairo, Illinois by Taylor, Nathaniel
Call Number: Theses, etc., Special Collections (non-circulating), 1st floor (Requires 48-hour notice)
2009. Research Paper, SIUC.
The personification and masculation of Samuel Henry Dalton by Tow, Michael
Call Number: Available online, follow the "Dissertations & Theses @ Southern Illinois University Carbondale (ProQuest)" link
2014. MA Thesis: Southern Illinois University Carbondale. Also available at Theses, etc., Special Collections (non-circulating), 1st floor (Requires 48-hour notice).
Where freedom’s flower grows: the story of Priscilla and the hollyhocks by Whitfield, John H.
Call Number: Special Collections (non-circulating), 1st floor, 032891
2004. Prattville, AL: John H. Whitfield.
A descriptive study of selected black studies units in American colleges and universities by Wilson, Henry, Jr
Call Number: Q. 371.974 W748D, Off-site storage
1972. Dissertation, Southern Illinois University Carbondale.
The Black community in the rural north : Pulaski County, Illinois, 1860-1900 by Portwood, Shirley Motley
Call Number: Special Collections (non-circulaing); 1st floor. 001547
Publication Date: 1982 Dissertation: Washington University
A socio-economic history of blacks in Pulaski county, 1850-1900 by Dwight, Margaret L.
Call Number: HI 1972 D992, Theses and Dissertations, 3rd Floor
Publication Date: 1972 MA Thesis: Southern Illinois University Carbondale
French slavery in the Mississippi Valley by Fourtner, Tyge W.
Call Number: HI 1996 F781, Theses and Dissertatons, 3rd Floor.
Publication Date: 1996 MA Thesis: Southern Illinois University Carbondale
An evaluation of the Carbondale Model Cities Program by Young, Tyler
Call Number: Thesis GO 1980 Y77, Theses & Dissertations, 3rd Floor
1980. MA Thesis: Southern Illinois University Carbondale.