Research Guides: Resources for the Study of African American History in Southern Illinois: Archival Collections

Finding Aids

All of the following links point to finding aids for the respective collections. These contain background information on the collection and the gist of the materials they include. The documents themselves can be viewed in SCRC's Reading Room.

Manuscript Collections

Vertical File Manuscripts

David P. Bennetts Vertical File Manuscript
Seminar paper, History 500, SIUC, 1966, entitled "Southern Illinois and Negro Servitude." TD, 31 pp.
John A. Metzger Vertical File Manuscript
"The Brown Incident." History class papers, Aug. 22, 1967, dealing with the incident of William Brown who was hanged for the ax-murder of two women near Brookport, IL, 1927. TMS, 34 pp.
William S. Stewart Vertical File Manuscript
Term paper, 1932, "Management of Negro Laborers in a Southern Industrial Plant," by William Stewart, written while a student at Northwestern University, concerns Black workers in a Carbondale railroad-tie manufacturing plant. AMsS, 48 pp.
Carter's Cafe Vertical File Manuscript
Scrapbook, 1936-1969 / Contains news clippings, photographs, and letters relating to Carter's Cafe, a student hangout (1936-1947) which stood on the present location of SIUC Woody Hall. Included is information about picketing of the cafe because of it segregation policies. 1 scrapbook, 64 pp.: Photocopy.

Political Papers Collections

University Archives Collections

School of Architecture “Preservation Summer” Projects:

2002-2003. African-American Nurses and Hospital Ship Red Rover, Mound City.

2005. Shady Grove, Massac/Pope Counties: African American Settlement and the Underground Railroad.

2005-2006. Blues Music and Venues, Cairo.

2006. Thebes Courthouse, Alexander County.

2007-2008. Urban Planning Project, Cairo.

Search the Archives

ArchivEra Database of SCRC Inventories and Finding Aids
Finding aids for the manuscript, political and SIUC university collections held in the Special Collections Research Center (SCRC). Search materials ranging from the late 18th century to the present including correspondence, manuscripts and typescripts of literary works, office files, photographs, and printed material. Covers only a portion of the Center's materials, which are added on a continuing basis.

Morris Library