AVM 300: Introduction to Aviation Management Research: Government Information

From the Library of Congress. Provides legislative information, including info about bills, laws, treaties, committee reports, Congressional Record, legislative sessions, etc.

From the site: "CRS serves as nonpartisan shared staff to congressional committees and Members of Congress. It operates solely at the behest of and under the direction of Congress. Information in a CRS Report should not be relied upon for purposes other than public understanding of information that has been provided by CRS to Members of Congress in connection with CRS’s institutional role. Example: "Delegation of Federal Aviation Administration Certification Authorities to Aviation Manufacturers" or "Cockpit Automation, Flight Systems Complexity, and Aircraft Certification: Background and Issues for Congress."

Access government materials, including the Federal Register, Congressional Record, hearings, laws, US Code, Code of Federal Regulations, etc. Congressional also indexes these documents, and you may want to try that database if you find this interface difficult to use.

Contains full text of government and non-government reports, conference papers, etc.

From the site: "The U.S. Government Accountability Office (GAO) is an independent, nonpartisan agency that works for Congress. Often called the "congressional watchdog," GAO examines how taxpayer dollars are spent and provides Congress and federal agencies with objective, reliable information to help the government save money and work more efficiently." For example, see "Air Traffic Control: FAA's Analysis of Costs and Benefits Drove Its Plans to Improve Surveillance in U.S. Oceanic Airspace."

Includes links to reports (preliminary and final data), runway incursion data and research, commercial carrier fatalities, the Aviation Safety Information Analysis and Sharing (ASIAS) databases, etc.

Contains information from 1962 to 2008 (with full text for many reports after 1993) about civil aviation accidents and incidents in the US and its territories. See the CAROL database for recent reports.

Links to numerous U.S. government databases, including FAA Accident/Incident Data System (AIDS), Air Registry, Aviation Safety Reporting System, Bureau of Transportation Statistics, Near Midair Collision System, NTSB Safety Recommendations to the FAA with FAA Responses, NTSB Aviation Accident and Incident Data System, Runway Safety Office Runway Incursion, and World Aircraft Summary.

Includes aviation investigations 1/1/1983 and later, surface mode investigations1/1/2010 and later, and all safety recommendations. Maintained by the U.S. National Transportation Safety Board.

The U.S. DOL site also contains statistics and access to the Bureau of Labor Statistics' publication, Monthly Labor Review.

Includes the Subcommittee on Space and Science.

While many of the resources on this page are for University of Illinois faculty, staff, and students only, the resources in the table of labor law statutes are available to all via the Legal Information Institute at Cornell University.

Search for laws using their common names. The resource links to the law in the U.S. Code.

Also see the U.S. Code version at the Legal Information Institute's website.