Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Home

Morris Library

EndNote Online: Home

What is EndNote Online?

EndNote Online is a reference management tool available online.  While EndNote Desktop is available only to SIU graduate students and faculty, undergraduate students and staff have access to the online version of EndNote.  You can access it and register for an account through the Web of Science database.

The EndNote Online version through Web of Science is available for Windows and Mac users, integrates with MS Word, allows sharing of references with other EndNote online users, and can allow the user to create citations in a variety of styles. 

Users can add references from databases and other sources, store references and attachments, create bibliographies, and Cite While You Write.

Setting up an account

Manually Adding References

You may manually add individual references to your EndNote Online library.

Add New Reference Linnk

 

Choose your reference type (Book, Journal Article, etc.) and fill in the needed fields.

Bibliiographic Fields

Capture Reference Tool

To add references from webpages, install the Capture tool. Go to the Downloads tab and install the Capture tool to your bookmarks / favorites bar

Capture tool

This tool is great for capturing the citation information from websites. For the website you wish to reference, click on the EndNote Capture link in your favorites bar. That opens up a form. Feel free to add or change any elements.

capture new reference example

Adding References from Library Databases

EndNote Online also allows you to directly add references from library databases.  The procedure is slightly different for each database. 

Examples of several are below:

EBSCO databases

 

Web of Science

 

 

JSTOR, ProQuest, etc.

 

Some databases require a few extra steps.  You will need to download an RIS file and import that file into your EndNote online account.

In your search results list, select the items you wish to put into EndNote, click on the "Export Selected Citations" dropdown and select "Export a RIS file"

Save the RIS file to your computer.

Go to your EndNote online account.  Go to "Collect", then "Import References".  Choose the RIS file from your computer, Change the "Import Option" to the database where you collected the reference(s).  Here, we used JSTOR.  Then select the specific group you want to house those references.

 

Using EndNote Online with MS Word

EndNote has a feature called Cite While You Write (CWYW) that works with MS Word (Windows or Mac) and Open Office.  It allows a user to place an in-text citations as well as format your bibliiography / reference section.

To get CWYW, go to the Downloads tab in EndNote Online and download the appropriate file (Windows or Mac) and follow your installation instructions..

An EndNote tab will be installed into your MS Word.

Next, you will need to save your EndNote account in Word.  Select the EndNote tab, click on Preferences, select the Applications tab, enter your EndNote online account information, click the "Remember" box, and select OK.