Latinx & Hispanic Heritage: Readings and Resources

"Through readings of novels by Helena María Viramontes, Oscar Casares, Lorraine López, Maceo Montoya, Reyna Grande, Daniel Peña, and others, Brady illustrates how submerged captivities reveal the way mechanisms of constraint such as deportability underpin institutional forms of carceral modernity and how such practices scale relations by naturalizing the logic of scalar hierarchies underpinning racial capitalism. By showing how representations of the captive child critique the entrenched logic undergirding colonial power, Brady challenges racialized modes of citizenship while offering visions for living beyond borders."

"In the new fourth edition of this text, Rodolfo Acuña continues in his quest to uncover the rich complexities of Chicano/a history. In addition to a vast amount of new and updated sources, there is new material throughout the text exploring issues of gender, making this edition the most comprehensive to date. With spirit and passion, Acuña engages students and professors alike with an examination of Mexican-American history that is both thorough and challenging."

"... offers an expansive and critical look at contemporary TV by and about U.S. Latinx communities. This volume unpacks the negative implications of older representation and celebrates the progress of new representation all while recognizing that television still has a long way to go."

"Mike Amezcua details the complex political struggle over white-flight neighborhoods in postwar Chicago, showing that while white oppression of Blacks was often based in supremacist ideologies, discrimination against Latinx peoples-especially Mexicans-was rooted in questions of sovereignty and belonging. Immigration policy was central to the "defense" of the white city. While the story of white flight from blackness is well known, Amezcua demonstrates that white fears of brownness were likewise powerful-yet they also set the terms by which Latinx community and political power did develop."

"... examines how Latinx teenagers influence twenty-first century U.S. popular culture. The book explores the diverse ways that contemporary mainstream film, television, theatre, and young adult literature invokes, constructs, and interprets adolescent Latinidad."

"This book is a collection of empirical studies that seeks to address how receiving instruction in Spanish language affects heritage Spanish speakers not only linguistically, but also attitudinally, socially, and academically. The research literature identifies three pedagogically significant ways in which heritage language (HL) learners differ from second (L2) learners: namely, with respect to their skills in the target language, their socio-affective needs vis-à-vis the target language and culture, and their receptivity to instruction."

"...introduces the central topics in pragmatics and discourse from a sociolinguistic perspective. Pragmatic variation is addressed within each topic, with examples from different varieties of Spanish spoken in Latin America, Spain and the United States. Key topics include: speech acts in context and deictic expressions; implicit meaning and inferential communication; intercultural competence in study abroad contexts; pragmatics and computer-mediated discourse; politeness and impoliteness in the Spanish-speaking world; the pragmatics of Spanish among US heritage speakers; the teaching and learning of pragmatics."

"Inspired by a 1968 U.S. Commission on Civil Rights six-day hearing in San Antonio that introduced the Mexican American people to the rest of the nation, this book is an examination of the social change of Mexican Americans of Texas over the past half century with recommendations for the future of immigration, voting rights, educational equity, employment and economic security, health and the criminal justice system."

"For Francisco Cantú the border is in the blood: his mother, a park ranger and daughter of a Mexican immigrant, raised him in the scrublands of the Southwest. Haunted by the landscape of his youth, Cantú joins the Border Patrol. He and his partners are posted to remote regions crisscrossed by drug routes and smuggling corridors, where they learn to track other humans under blistering sun and through frigid nights. They haul in the dead and deliver to detention those they find alive. Cantú tries not to think where the stories go from there. Plagued by nightmares, he abandons the Patrol for civilian life. But when an immigrant friend travels to Mexico to visit his dying mother and does not return, Cantú discovers that the border has migrated with him, and now he must know the whole story."

"Chapters carefully and meticulously establish the issues of access to care in Latinx communities before addressing the unique needs of these patients in the context of common psychiatric disorders. Each disorder includes clinical cases for a reader-friendly approach to the challenges that develop effective assessment and treatment plans. Mental Health for Hispanic Communities is a concise yet comprehensive reference invaluable to all clinicians, students, and other medical professionals seeking to work with this population effectively."

"Created by an interdisciplinary team of researchers in partnership with a large urban school district, this guidebook helps teachers and school district leaders in Texas and beyond learn how to overlay Latina/o/x Studies content on top of existing state standards, providing a practical roadmap toward historically accurate, culturally relevant curricula and instruction that can be injected into all K-12 social studies classes. Following a detailed introductory essay synthesizing the field for new practitioners, it provides detailed explanations of seven major themes that define Latinx Studies across time and space, each accompanied by embedded "enduring understandings" and "essential questions" to jumpstart the process of backward design."

"In the Midwest's largest city, Latinos have been fighting for political representation for more than half a century. In this exploration of urban politics in Chicago, Wilfredo Cruz shows for the first time how Latinos went from being ignored by the Irish-controlled political machine to becoming a respected constituency. Beginning with the Latino community's first attempt to acquire a political voice in Chicago politics in 1911 and continuing through Latino officeholders of the early twenty-first century, Cruz surveys not only the struggles of this community--specifically the two largest Latino groups in the city, Mexicans and Puerto Ricans--but also the ways in which Chicago's Latinos overcame those challenges to gain their political voice." Recipient of a Certificate of Excellence for scholarly books from the Illinois State Historical Society (ISHS).

"... draws literary, historical, and social connections so that readers will come away understanding this literature as a rich and compelling canon. In forty-five chapters by leading and innovative scholars, the Handbook provides a comprehensive introduction, helping readers to see the region's intrinsic heterogeneity--for only with a broader view can one fully appreciate García Márquez or Bolaño. This volume charts the literary tradition of the Latin American novel from its beginnings during colonial times, its development during the nineteenth and the first half of the twentieth century, and its flourishing from the 1960s onward. Furthermore, the Handbook explores the regions, representations of identity, narrative trends, and authors that make this literature so diverse and fascinating, reflecting on the Latin American novel's position in world literature."

Accessible and engaging, Latinx Belonging underscores and highlights Latinxs' continued presence and contributions to everyday life in the United States as they both carve out and defend their place in society."

Essays from the Seminar on the Acquisition of Latin American Library Materials.

"Placemaking helps sustain communities in the current atmosphere of xenophobia and racism through cultural expression ranging from festivals to zines to sanctuary movements. It emerges not only in specific locations but as movement within and between sites; not only as part of a built environment, but also as an aesthetic practice; and not only because of efforts by cultural, political, and institutional leaders, but through mass media and countless human interactions. A rare and crucial perspective on Latina/o/x people in the Midwest, Building Sustainable Worlds reveals how expressive culture contributes to, and sustains, a sense of place in an uncertain era."

"Details the unsuccessful Puerto Rican insurrection of 1950 through the life of Pedro Albizu Campos, the president of the Nationalist Party of Puerto Rico."

"... he most up-to-date, fully ecumenical collection of scholarship in the field. Bringing together contributions by a diverse panel of established scholars and newer voices within various theological disciplines, this comprehensive volume challenges Western readings of Christianity and offers fresh insights into theological truth from varied cultural and ethnic perspectives. The Companion addresses a wide range of Latinoax contexts while highlighting the thought of female, male, and LGBTQ+ Latinoax scholars in theology, introducing readers to this significant movement."

"With contributions from a wide array of scholars and activists, including leading Chicana feminists from the period, this groundbreaking anthology is the first collection of scholarly essays and testimonios that focuses on Chicana organizing, activism, and leadership in the movement years."

"Citizenship, along with legality and rights, holds varied meanings for Latinx youth coming of age in the United States. Through an ethnography, Growing Up Latinx documents how Latinx reproduce and challenge meanings of citizenship as they forge opportunities to develop and enact their sociopolitical agency within school, family and communities."

"Against the backdrop of America's escalating urban rebellions in the 1960s, an unexpected cohort of New York radicals unleashed a series of urban guerrilla actions against the city's racist policies and contempt for the poor. Their dramatic flair, uncompromising vision, and skillful ability to link local problems to international crises riveted the media, alarmed New York's political class, and challenged nationwide perceptions of civil rights and black power protest. The group called itself the Young Lords. [The author] utiliz[es] oral histories, archival records, and an enormous cache of police records released only after a decade-long Freedom of Information Law request and subsequent court battle ... [for this] account of the Young Lords, from their roots as a street gang to their rise and fall as a political organization."

"Whether at UFW picket lines in California’s Central Valley or capturing summertime street life in East Harlem Latinx photographers have documented fights for dignity and justice as well as the daily lives of ordinary people."

"... brings together the voices of Chicana poets, writers, and activists who reflect upon the Chicana Feminist Movement that began in the late 1960s. With energy and passion, this anthology of writings documents the personal and collective political struggles of Chicana feminists."

"This anthology features work by and about queer, trans, and gender nonconforming Latinx communities, including immigrants and social dissidents who reflect and write about diasporic and migratory movements within and across geographical spaces in the United States."

"... examines the relationship between race, migration, and colonialism through the lives, works, and epistemologies of Black Latinx people across diasporas. Lorgia García-Peña presents Black Latinidad as a social, cultural, and political formation that produces new approaches, knowledges, and ways of understanding our present world."

"This first-ever book of Latinx representation in the most-performed playwright's canon offers a new methodology for reading ethnic theater looks beyond the visual to prioritize aural signifiers such as music, accents, and the Spanish language. The book's focus is on textual adaptations or performances in which Shakespearean plays, stories, or characters are made Latinx through stage techniques, aesthetics, processes for art-making (including casting), and modes of storytelling. The case studies range from performances at large repertory theaters to small community theaters and from established directors to emerging playwrights. To analyze these productions, the book draws on interviews with practitioners, script analysis, first-hand practitioner insight, and interdisciplinary theoretical lenses, largely by scholars of color."

"A sweeping history of the Latinx experience in the United States. The first new edition in ten years of this important study of Latinos in U.S. history, Harvest of Empire spans five centuries--from the European colonization of the Americas to the 2020 election. Latinos are now the largest minority group in the United States, and their impact on American culture and politics is greater than ever. With family portraits of real-life immigrant Latino pioneers, as well as accounts of the events and conditions that compelled them to leave their homelands, Gonzalez highlights the complexity of a segment of the American population that is often discussed but frequently misrepresented. This landmark history is required reading for anyone wishing to understand the history and legacy of this influential and diverse group."

Nonfiction. "Emmy Award-winning NPR journalist Maria Hinojosa shares her personal story interwoven with American immigration policy's coming-of-age journey at a time when our country's branding went from "The Land of the Free" to "the land of invasion.""

Nonfiction. "This is an inspired exploration of home, family, memory, and belonging, narrated by the obsessed girl who fought to become an artist so she could capture the world she loved in all its wild and delicate beauty."

"... Jimenez Caballero has created an identity that bridges his Mexican indigenous heritage with the overall Latino culture of southern California. Through all of his trials and tribulations he created a successful life for a young indigenous boy who had grown up in a culturally mixed, Mestizo-indigenous, peasant village where the cows and horses had to be chased off a grass landing strip. From these humble beginnings he moved up to the bright lights and fame as a jewelry artist to the stars in Hollywood. Jimenez Caballero's success as an entrepreneur and artist opened doors where he connected with the wealthy elite and became a celebrated philanthropist."

"... focuses on drag and transgender performance and activism in Puerto Rico and its diaspora. Arguing for its political potential, Lawrence La Fountain-Stokes explores the social and cultural disruptions caused by Latin American and Latinx "locas" (effeminate men, drag queens, transgender performers, and unruly women) and the various forms of violence that queer individuals in Puerto Rico and the U.S. are subjected to. This interdisciplinary, auto-ethnographic, queer-of-color performance studies book explores the lives and work of contemporary performers and activists ...."

"An assessment, celebration, and careful notation of the extraordinary melting pot of Latin music."

"... a cultural history of Mexican Americans in film, television, and theater. Each chapter presents an in-depth case study analyzing the lives and creative careers of four underappreciated actors--Anthony Quinn, Katy Jurado, Robert Beltran, and Lupe Ontiveros-to answer the question: How do racially and socio-economically marginalized Latino-Latina subjects contribute to U.S. culture, beyond the black-white binary? Drawing on methods borrowed from cultural studies, Macías argues that these performers, neither assimilationists nor nationalists, expressed a dynamic, complex ethnic identity, created an alternative strategy for how Latinos and Latinas are seen in popular culture, and carved out a space for imagining a polycultural America."

"The Poor People's Campaign of 1968 has long been overshadowed by the assassination of its architect, Dr. Martin Luther King Jr., and the political turmoil of that year. In a major reinterpretation of civil rights and Chicano movement history, Gordon K. Mantler demonstrates how King's unfinished crusade became the era's most high-profile attempt at multiracial collaboration and sheds light on the interdependent relationship between racial identity and political coalition among African Americans and Mexican Americans."

"... Martinez presents the radical Latina perspective on race, liberation, and identity. in these trenchant essays, Martinez describes the provocative ideas and new movements created by the rapidly expanding U.S. Latino community, as it confronts intensified exploitation and racism."

"... the first textbook to introduce literary and textual analysis of Hispanic literature through the lens of health, illness, and medicine. The book meets the needs of the fast-growing numbers of Spanish majors and minors who are preparing themselves for careers in healthcare, in which they will engage Hispanic communities. These students seek advanced-level study of Hispanic culture and language that prepares them to communicate about health-related issues."

"We begin this volume by introducing what we hope is valuable context for the remainder of the text. After introducing ourselves, the authors, we provide background in a number of areas that contextualize later chapters. Specifically, we address diversity within Latinx populations including the intersection of Latinx and immigrant identities. Several topics important in the Latinx mental health literature, like the Hispanic Health Paradox, the Immigrant Paradox, acculturation, and acculturative stress are introduced. The special case of unaccompanied immigrant minors, a section of the Latinx population in the U.S. that has grown rapidly over the last decade, is also described. We also present relevant ethical principles and codes of conduct relevant to working with Latinx persons and make our case of the importance of culturally sensitive assessment practices."

"Charting the performances of an emergent generation of playwrights, directors, actors, designers, and multimedia artists, this book illustrates how the Argentine theatre has presented the country's shifting discourses on the dictatorship and transitional justice policies from the 1990s to the early years of the twenty-first century."

Nonfiction. "The principles that ostensibly bind America together-mutual respect for the Constitution and its institutions, and reciprocal adherence to principles such as freedom, the rule of law, due process, and equality under the law-fall apart at our borders. As those values dissolve at our country's frontiers, they allow for otherwise impermissible cruelty towards those who are considered outsiders."

"While the number of culturally and linguistically diverse students continues to grow within midwestern states, the demographics of teachers remain white, female, and monolingual. Often teachers have little to no training working with students and their families whose backgrounds differ from their own. Thus, there is a great urgency for teachers to develop culturally competent teaching practices that address the needs of all students. The purpose of this year-long, school-based narrative inquiry was to examine the beliefs, attitudes, and practices of rural educators as they described their work with Latinx immigrant, elementary students, negotiated the 'space' between a professional and personal identity and demonstrated an ethic of care."

"Young Latinos across the United States are redefining their identities, pushing boundaries, and awakening politically in powerful and surprising ways. Many of them--Afrolatino, Indigenous, Muslim, queer and undocumented, living in large cities and small towns--are voices who have been chronically overlooked in how the diverse population of almost sixty million Latinos in the U.S. has been represented. No longer. In this empowering cross-country travelogue, journalist and activist Paola Ramos embarks on a journey to find the communities of people defining the controversial term, 'Latinx.' ... Drawing on intensive field research as well as her own personal story, Ramos chronicles how 'Latinx' has given rise to a sense of collectivity and solidarity among Latinos unseen in this country for decades."

"... collects personal and academic writing from Latino, Latin American, Latinx, and Luso poets about the nature of poetry and its practice. At the heart of this anthology lies the intersection of history, language, and the human experience. The collection explores the ways in which a people's history and language are vital to the development of a poet's imagination and insists that the meaning and value of poetry are necessary to understand the history and future of a people. The Latinx community is not a monolith, and accordingly the poets assembled here vary in style, language, and nationality."

"... unearths a buried African archive within widely-read Latinx writers of the last fifty years. It challenges dominant narratives in World Literature and transatlantic studies that ignore Africa's impact in broader Latin American culture. Sarah Quesada argues that these canonical works evoke textual memorials of African memory. She shows how the African Atlantic haunts modern Latinx and Carribbean writing, and examines the disavowal or distortion of the African subject in the constructions of national, racial, sexual, and spiritual Latinx identity. Queseda shows how themes such as the 19th century 'scramble for Africa,' the decolonizing wars, Black internationalism, and the neoliberal turn are embedded in key narratives. Drawing from multilingual archives about West and Central Africa, she examines how the legacies of colonial French, Iberian, British and U.S. Imperialisms have impacted on the relationships between African and Latinx identities."

"Essays chronicling the experiences of fourteen Latina/o LGBT activists present a new perspective on the hitherto-marginalized history of their work in the last three decades of the twentieth century."

"... a collection of articles based on presentations from the 2020 Advancing the Science of Cancer in Latinos conference that gives an overview of conference outcomes. The vision of the conference has been to unite researchers, scientists, physicians and other healthcare professionals, patient advocates and students from across the world to discuss research advancements, identify gaps, and develop actionable goals to translate basic research findings into clinical best practices, effective community interventions, and professional training programs to decrease cancer risks and eliminate cancer disparities for Latinos."

"This book approaches the social histories and contemporary lives of a diverse range of Latina and Latino populations, including immigrants, exiles, refugees, and US-born groups from across the Americas. Adopting a comparative ethnic studies lens that captures local and transnational perspectives on community, national and pan-ethnic identifications, and diverse social and demographic trends, this anthology emphasizes the breadth and dynamism of the ideas, debates, and questions that drive the dynamic field of Latinx Studies."

"... brings together leading and emerging scholars of media, literature, education, law, linguistics, sound, and politics to theorize accent as an understudied lynchpin of the global cultural economy. It reframes accent as a powerfully coded and yet unexplored mode of perception-one that, properly harnessed, can yield transformative modalities of knowledge, action, and care. Accent, this anthology shows, does more than denote geographic, ethnic, or social identity. Accent emerges through listening, mobilizes negotiations of power, and enacts desiring relations. To think with an accent is to practice a dialogical and multimodal inquiry that unfolds the tensions of address within mediated utterances."

"... advances philosophical conversations and debates about immigration by theorizing migration from the Latin American and Latinx context."

"... the visual history of Latinx printmaking in the US. Tatiana Reinoza employs a pan-ethnic comparative model for this interdisciplinary study of graphic art, drawing on art history, Latinx studies, and geography in her discussions. The book contests printmaking's historical complicity in the logics of colonization and restores the art form and the lands it once illustrated to the Indigenous, migrant, mestiza/o, and Afro-descendant people of the Americas."

"... addresses history, music, gender, class, and media representations in more than sixty selections, including scholarly essays, memoirs, newspaper and magazine articles, poetry, short stories, and interviews. ... The central question of how Afro-Latin@s relate to and experience U.S. and Latin American racial ideologies is engaged throughout, in first-person accounts of growing up Afro-Latin@, a classic essay by a leader of the Young Lords, and analyses of U.S. census data on race and ethnicity, as well as in pieces on gender and sexuality, major-league baseball, and religion. The contributions that Afro-Latin@s have made to U.S. culture are highlighted in essays on the illustrious Afro-Puerto Rican bibliophile Arturo Alfonso Schomburg and music and dance genres from salsa to mambo, and from boogaloo to hip hop."

"From the colonial period to independence and into the twenty-first century, Latin American culture has been mapped as a subordinate "other" to Europe and the United States. This collection reconsiders geographical space and power and the ways in which theatrical and performance histories have been constructed throughout the Americas. Essays bridge political, racial, gender, class, and national divides that have traditionally restricted and distorted our understanding of Latin American theatre and performance."

"The author recalls his early experiences with poverty and discrimination, his involvement with drugs and gangs, and his prison sentence for armed robbery which led to his rehabilitation and work with street gangs and drug addicts."

"This book is a cross-genre, cross-disciplinary study discussing how Latinx narratives in literature, photography, and film reveal the strategic interplay between free-market economy and national security, a necessarily violent process that plays out on Latinx bodies, peoples, and migrants; it shows how these texts ultimately imagine what forms of resistance or mobilization are possible while living and dying within this violence."

"This book argues that punitive federal immigration policies in the United States lead to "medical legal violence" that unites criminal law, immigration enforcement, and healthcare policy in ways that undermine the health of many Latinx immigrants and implicate the safety-net healthcare institutions and personnel that provide their care."

"The Hispanic population is a growing minority, and the presence of heritage speakers can be observed in second language Spanish classes in all levels of education, which presents unique challenges for practitioners. This collection focuses on differing populations of learners in educational settings in a variety of geographical areas, such as Arizona, California, Maryland, Massachusetts, Ohio, Tennessee, and Texas. The studies included in the volume offer invaluable data and methodological insights into the instructional advantages of multiliteracies pedagogies in heritage language classrooms, and they will appeal to Spanish practitioners and researchers, as well as those interested in the education and practice of heritage languages."

Fiction. "[T]races the lives of each of the Marte women, weaving together past and present, the Dominican Republic and New York City. Told with Elizabeth Acevedo's inimitable voice, this is an indelible portrait of sisters and cousins, aunts and nieces--one family's journey through their history helping them better navigate all that is to come."

"Violeta comes into the world on a stormy day in 1920, the first girl in a family of five boisterous sons. The ripples of the Great War are still being felt, even as the Spanish flu arrives on the shores of her South American homeland almost at the moment of her birth. As the Great Depression transforms the genteel city life she has known, Violeta's family loses all and is forced to retreat to a wild and beautiful but remote part of the country. She tells her story in the form of a letter to someone she loves above all others, recounting devastating heartbreak and passionate affairs, times of both poverty and wealth, terrible loss and immense joy. Her life will be shaped by some of the most important events of history: the fight for women's rights, the rise and fall of tyrants, and, ultimately, not one but two pandemics."

"Dona Flor's husband may have been a gambler and womanizer, but when he dies all she remembers is his lovemaking. A new marriage does not bring the erotic love she longs for. So when her first husband appears naked at the foot of her bed, eager to reclaim his conjugal rights, it is hard to resist."

"This book tells the story of Esperanza Cordero, a young girl growing up in the Hispanic quarter of Chicago, whose neighborhood is one of harsh realities and harsh beauty. Esperanza doesn't want to belong, not to her run-down neighborhood, and not to the low expectations the world has for her. Capturing her thoughts and emotions in poems and stories, she is able to rise above hopelessness and create a quiet space for herself in the midst of her oppressive surroundings. Esperanza's story is that of a young girl coming into her power, and inventing for herself what she will become."

"During her family's annual car trip from Chicago to Mexico City, Lala Reyes listens to stories about her family, including her grandmother, the descendant of a renowned dynasty of shawl makers, whose magnificent striped shawl has come into Lala's possession."

"The culture shock of Sophie Coco, a 12-year-old Haitian girl from the provinces, summoned to New York by her mother whom she hardly knows and who is toiling in a nursing home to provide for the family back home."

"Examining the lives of ordinary Haitians, particularly those struggling to survive under the brutal Duvalier regime, Danticat illuminates the distance between people's desires and the stifling reality of their lives." Short stories.

"This stunningly original collection of stories illuminates a spectrum of Latinx, Chicanx, and immigrant women's voices. In confrontations with fraught matrilineal lines, absent or abusive fathers, and the effects of historical violence, these women and girls navigate a male-dominated world where they rely on a resilient mujer network to get them through sometimes supernatural obstacles. In visceral, embodied prose, Fragoza's imperfect characters are drawn with an authentic, sympathetic tenderness as they struggle against circumstances and conditions designed to defeat them."

Fiction. "The severed head of Josuãe Nadal, floating in the Pacific Ocean off the shore of Mexico, remembers his life, friends, enemies, and lovers, and his involvement in the drug trade and the corruption frequently encountered in his country."

"The story of a family divided politically and geographically by the Cuban revolution."

"Burdened by poverty, illiteracy, and vulnerability as Mexican immigrants to California's Coachella Valley, three generations of González men turn to vices or withdraw into depression. As brothers Rigoberto and Alex grow to manhood, they are haunted by the traumas of their mother's early death, their lonely youth, their father's desertion, and their grandfather's invective. Rigoberto's success in escaping--first to college and then by becoming a writer--is blighted by his struggles with alcohol and abusive relationships, while Alex contends with difficult family relations, his own rocky marriage, and fatherhood. Descending into a dark emotional space that compromises their mental and physical health, the brothers eventually find hope in aiding each other."

"... centered around one Salvadoran family's experiences with grief and identity as it relates to a homeland that only exists in the "in-between"- the place where all the diaspora people exist. The book argues that the Salvadoran Civil War permanently altered the Salvadoran people's reality by forcing them to become refugees that continue to leave their homeland even decades after the war."

"The Ramirez women of Staten Island orbit around absence. When thirteen year old middle child Ruthy disappeared after track practice without a trace, it left the family scarred and scrambling. One night, twelve years later, oldest sister Jessica spots a woman on her TV screen in Catfight, a raunchy reality show. She rushes to tell her younger sister, Nina: This woman's hair is dyed red, and she calls herself Ruby, but the beauty mark under her left eye is instantly recognizable. Could it be Ruthy, after all this time?"

"... a horror novel about an undocumented brother and sister who end up at a Vegas hotel that exploits and consumes anyone who comes into its orbit."

"In eight captivating stories, In This World of Ultraviolet Light navigates tensions between Cubans, Cuban Americans, and the larger Latinx community. Though these stories span many locations-from a mulch manufacturing facility on the edge of Big Cypress National Preserve to the borderlands between Georgia and the Carolinas-they are overshadowed by an obsession with Miami as a place that exists in the popular imagination. Beyond beaches and palm trees, Raul Palma goes off the beaten path to portray everyday people clinging to their city and struggling to find cultural grounding."

" The word is out in Spanish Harlem: Willy Bodega is king. Need college tuition for your daughter? Start-up funds for your fruit stand? Bodega can help. He gives everyone a leg up, in exchange only for loyalty--and a steady income from the drugs he pushes. Bodega turns to Chino, a smart, promising young man, for a favor. Chino is drawn to Bodega's street-smart idealism, but soon finds himself over his head, navigating an underworld of switchblade tempers, turncoat morality, and murder."

"... a collection of short stories that explores Latinx identity through the lens of newer generations of Mexican and Salvadoran diasporas to the US. The theme of wandering comes up in each story, whether it be through feelings of unease or liberation, especially due to the cultural, physical, and/or psychological separation or loss from one generation to the next as a result of living in a tumultuous nation. To capture the complexity of Latinx identity, the stories also play with and within different genres, from 'literary' realist fiction to hallucinatory realist, magical realist, noir, science fiction, and speculative fiction stories."

"Seven-year-old Chula and her older sister Cassandra enjoy carefree lives thanks to their gated community in Bogotá, but the threat of kidnappings, car bombs, and assassinations hover just outside the neighborhood walls, where the godlike drug lord Pablo Escobar continues to elude authorities and capture the attention of the nation. When their mother hires Petrona, a live-in-maid from the city's guerrilla-occupied slum, Chula makes it her mission to understand Petrona's mysterious ways. But Petrona's unusual behavior belies more than shyness. She is a young woman crumbling under the burden of providing for her family as the rip tide of first love pulls her in the opposite direction. As both girls' families scramble to maintain stability amidst the rapidly escalating conflict, Petrona and Chula find themselves entangled in a web of secrecy that will force them both to choose between sacrifice and betrayal."

"... provides an associative, critical Latinx aesthetic connecting the Mexico-U.S. borderlands to Latin America's neo-baroque heritage. Migrants, settlers, tourists, and exiles moving across various hemispheric landscapes are featured in these exuberant, capacious, and self-reflexive poems. Tejada relates the ravages of white supremacy in our culture that, together with immigrant precarity, turn home into a place of foreboding and impending eviction, even as a dream-weather makes room at last for scenes of possibility and attainment in the account of human history."

Fiction. "In the early 1960s in the Dominican Republic, twelve-year-old Anita learns that her family is involved in the underground movement to end the bloody rule of the dictator, General Trujillo."

"New York City high school student Mateo dreams of becoming a Broadway star, but his life is transformed after his parents are deported to Mexico."

"A Puerto Rican girl coming of age in the 1950s struggles to negotiate her own terms of survival within the confines of her culture."

"Draws on little-known Cuban history to tell a stirring story in poetry. Based on the diaries and letters of Swedish suffragist Fredrika Bremer, who spent three months in Cuba in 1851, the story focuses on oppressed women, the privileged as well as the enslaved, in three alternating free-verse narratives."

"Cuba has fought three wars for independence, and still she is not free. This history in verse creates a lyrical portrait of Cuba."

"Juan Francisco Manzano was born in 1797 into the household of wealthy slave owners in Cuba. He spent his early years at the side of his owner's wife, entertaining her friends. His poetry was his outlet, reflecting the beauty and cruelty of his world. Written in verse."

"A girl named Petra Peña, who wanted nothing more than to be a storyteller, like her abuelita. But Petra's world is ending. Earth has been destroyed by a comet, and only a few hundred scientists and their children - among them Petra and her family - have been chosen to journey to a new planet. They are the ones who must carry on the human race. Hundreds of years later, Petra wakes to this new planet - and the discovery that she is the only person who remembers Earth. A sinister Collective has taken over the ship during its journey, bent on erasing the sins of humanity's past. They have systematically purged the memories of all aboard - or purged them altogether. Petra alone now carries the stories of our past, and with them, any hope for our future. Can she make them live again?"

"Sixteen-year-old Gabi Hernandez chronicles her senior year in high school as she copes with her friend Cindy's pregnancy, friend Sebastian's coming out, her father's meth habit, her own cravings for food and cute boys, and especially, the poetry that helps forge her identity."

"Sixteen-year-old Mexican American Yami Flores starts Catholic school, determined to keep her brother out of trouble and keep herself closeted, but her priorities shift when Yami discovers that her openly gay classmate Bo is also annoyingly cute."

"When Esperanza and Mama are forced to flee to the bountiful region of Aguascalientes, Mexico, to a Mexican farm labor camp in California, they must adjust to a life without the fancy dresses and servants they were accustomed to on Rancho de las Rosas. Now they must confront the challenges of hard work, acceptance by their own people, and economic difficulties brought on by the Great Depression. When Mama falls ill and a strike for better working conditions threatens to uproot their new life, Esperanza must relinquish her hold on the past learn to embrace a future ripe with the riches of family and community."

Fiction. "Aristotle is an angry teen with a brother in prison. Dante is a know-it-all who has an unusual way of looking at the world. When the two meet at the swimming pool, they seem to have nothing in common. But as the loners start spending time together, they discover that they share a special friendship -- the kind that changes lives and lasts a lifetime. And it is through this friendship that Ari and Dante will learn the most important truths about themselves and the kind of people they want to be."

"When the sister who delighted their parents by her faithful embrace of Mexican culture dies in a tragic accident, Julia, who longs to go to college and move into a home of her own, discovers from mutual friends that her sister may not have been as perfect as believed."

"When Francisco, a young Mexican American boy, tries to help his grandfather find work, he discovers that even though the old man cannot speak English, he has something even more valuable to teach Francisco."

"Introduces the Queen of Salsa who has a magical vibrancy as a Cuban Salsa Singer. To her her voice or see her perform was to feel her life-affirming energy deep within your soul."

"While riding on a bus with her grandmother, a little girl imagines that they are carried up into the sky and fly over the sights of New York City."

"A biography of Cesar Chavez, from age ten when he and his family lived happily on their Arizona ranch, to age thirty-eight when he led a peaceful protest against California migrant workers' miserable working conditions."

"An illustrated picture book autobiography in which award-winning author Yuyi Morales tells her own immigration story."

"Child, you are awake! A fawn takes her first tentatitve steps into the world and breathes deeply, experiencing new sights and sounds as a gentle voice encourages her along the way. She looks and listens, exploring a border landscape teeming with life, and learning how to make her voice heard in the face of a seemingly insurmountable barrier."

" When Daisy Ramona zooms around her neighborhood with her papi on his motorcycle, she sees the people and places she's always known. She also sees a community that is rapidly changing around her. But as the sun sets purple-blue-gold behind Daisy Ramona and her papi, she knows that the love she feels will always be there. This book is a young girl's love letter to her hardworking dad and to memories of home that we hold close in the midst of change."

"A group of children with different abilities and strengths come together to build a community garden."

"Almost 10 years before Brown vs. Board of Education, Sylvia Mendez and her parents helped end school segregation in California. An American citizen of Mexican and Puerto Rican heritage who spoke and wrote perfect English, Mendez was denied enrollment to a "Whites only" school. Her parents took action by organizing the Hispanic community and filing a lawsuit in federal district court. Their success eventually brought an end to the era of segregated education in California."

"Presents the life of the legendary athlete from Puerto Rico who became one of the most respected baseball players of all time and the first Latino inducted into the National Baseball Hall of Fame."