Resources - SOCW 555 - Fall 2022 - Research Guides at Southern Illinois University

Finding Journal Articles

SocIndex with Full Text
PsycINFO
PubMed
Academic Search Complete
HeinOnline (SIU Law Library subscription)
Includes law review and law journal articles.

News

Nexis Uni
U.S. Major Dailies
Provides access to US national and regional newspapers, including The New York Times, Washington Post, The Wall Street Journal, Los Angeles Times, and Chicago Tribune.
Ethnic Diversity Source

Agency Websites

Presentation

SOCW 555 Presentation

Recording of SOCW 555 Presentation

U.S. Federal Legislation

1. Public Law - 1st printing of the law in a slip or pamphlet format

Pub. L. XXX-XXX - First group of number is the session of Congress. The second group is the chronological order in which the law was passed.

2. Statutes at Large - 2nd printing of the law. Printed as a bound version in chronological order..

XXX Stat. XXXX - First group of numbers is the volume number and the second is the page number.

3. U.S. Code - 3rd printing of the law. Printed by topic and incorporates any amendments.

XX USC § XXX (Year) - First group of numbers is the US. Code title and the second is the section number.

ProQuest Congressional

Congress.gov
Provides full text legislative information beginning with the 104th Congress (1995/96). Includes congressional bills, public laws, roll call votes, the Congressional Record, committee reports and information on the legislative process.
A Century of Lawmaking for a New Nation
Congressional information from 1774-1875.

Congressional Record

The Congressional Record is the official record of the proceedings and debate of the United States Congress. It is published daily.

ProQuest Congressional

Congressional Record from Congress.gov
Search 1873 - present.
Congressional Record (Bound Edition)
Includes the Congressional Record from 1873 and is available for full-text searching.

U.S. Federal Government Resources

GovInfo
GovInfo provides free public access to official publications from all three branches of the Federal Government.
U.S. Government Accountability Office (GAO)
Search for information on audits, evaluations, and investigations provided to Congress.
Congressional Research Service
The Congressional Research Service conducts research and analysis for Congress on a broad range of national policy issues.
more...less...
used in the description of Congressional Research Service Reports, Health Law and Policy

HeinOnline (SIU Law Library subscription)
Includes the United States Code, Statutes at Large, Code of Federal Regulations, and the Federal Register.
ProQuest Congressional
1985-Present
Go to the Advanced Search and check "Congressional Record".
Can search by Topic or Member of Congress

Illinois & Missouri Government Resources

Illinois Compiled Statutes
Codified statutes of Illinois.
Illinois Administrative Code
Access to the administrative rules of Illinois state agencies.
Illinois General Assembly
Includes Illinois Legislation & Laws, Senate and House Information, and legislator information. Find hearing information, transcripts of floor debate, and summary reports.
Missouri Revisor of Statues
Missouri Legislative Branch
Missouri Code of State Regulations
State and Local Business, Finance, and Government Resources
The State and Local Government Internet directory provides convenient one-stop access to the websites of thousands of state agencies and city and county governments.

Wisconsin Government Resources

Wisconsin State Statutes
Compilation of the general laws of Wisconsin.
Wisconsin Administrative Code
Wisconsin State Legislature
Site includes committee schedule, calendars, laws and legislation, admin rules, session information, etc.
Wisconsin State Agencies

Court Case Information

Nexis Uni
Search for federal and state cases, including Supreme Court decisions since 1790. Allows the ability to validate cases through Shepardizing the case.
HeinOnline (SIU Law Library subscription)
Search cases as well as an extensive law journal library.

Supreme Court of the United States
Official website of the United States Supreme Court. Includes court opinions, oral argument transcripts and audio files, and case documents.
Oyez
Multimedia archive of Supreme Court cases including summaries, transcripts, and audio. Includes information on the justices and the court.
National Center for State Courts
Listing of state court websites.
Illinois Courts
Includes opinions, dockets, orders, and announcements and, also, an interactive map linking to U.S. judiciaries’ websites.
Missouri Courts
Website of the Missouri Courts, including opinions, dockets, orders, and announcements.
Wisconsin Court System

Data and Statistics

U.S. Census Bureau
Provides information about the U.S. population. In addition to data on populations, housing, income, etc., the “Business and Industry” link provides valuable information on the economic profiles of the U.S. There is also useful data via “Find an Area Profile with Quick Facts” (on the Census home page). Selecting “Illinois” from the drop-down menu will produce data for population, housing, and business. The site also includes the “American Fact Finder,” with community-level data.
Explore Census Data, U.S. Census Bureau
"data.census.gov is the new platform to access data and digital content from the U.S. Census Bureau."
Healthy People 2030
Comprised of "measurable goals to improve the health and well-being of people nationwide". The fifth version of the initiative contains hundreds of "evidence-based objectives organized into user-friendly topics".
National Center for Health Statistics, CDC
Documents from the National Center for Health Statistics on a wide variety of topics.
Statistical Abstracts Series, U.S. Census Bureau
Free or open source. Access to older (1990-2010) print version of the Statistical Abstracts of the the United States in electronic format.
National Information Center on Health Services Research and Health Care Technology (NICHSR)
Search tips: You can search the topic e.g. "Health Care Reform, Health Economics, and Health Policy" > You will find related data, tools, statistics; guidelines, journals, videos, blogs, press release, statements, reports, briefing, key organizations/programs, etc.
Data and Statistics, Illinois Department of Public Health (IDPH)
Data, Surveillance Systems, and Statistical Reports, Missouri Department of Health and Senior Services (DHSS)
Kaiser Family Foundation (KFF)
"KFF is a non-profit organization focusing on national health issues, as well as the U.S. role in global health policy."
Pew Research Center
The Pew Research Center is a nonpartisan fact tank that informs the public about the issues, attitudes and trends shaping America and the world.
Statistics, Child Welfare Information Gateway
Find reports, databases, and other sources of statistics and demographic data on children and families in the United States, child abuse and neglect, child welfare services, children and youth in foster care, and domestic and international adoption.
Childstats.gov
Compiled by the Federal Interagency Forum on Child and Family Statistics, this site provides access to federal and state statistics on children and their families, including population and family characteristics, economic security, health, behavior, social environment and education. The Forum annually publishes "America's Children: Key National Indicators of Well-Being."
CLASP, Center for Law and Social Policy
CLASP provides data on programs that affect low-income people and families.

APA Citations

APA Style and Formatting (OWL)
Quick guide for citing resources in APA style.

Your Librarian

Jennifer Horton

Email Me

Contact:

Morris Library
Room 290
Southern Illinois University
Carbondale, IL

618-453-1459

Subjects: Chemistry, Criminology and Criminal Justice, Electrical Engineering, Legal Studies, Pre-Law, Public Safety Administration

Morris Library

SOCW 555 - Fall 2022: Resources