Research Guides: 2024 Total Solar Eclipse Resources: Home

Credit: (NASA/Aubrey Gemignani)

On April 8, 2024, Southern Illinois University, Carbondale, will once again be in the path of totality for a total solar eclipse. Carbondale will see 4 minutes and 9 seconds of totality for the 2024 eclipse. The 2017 and 2024 total eclipse paths form an intersection just south of the SIU campus around Cedar Lake.

Books

Sun Moon Earth by Tyler Nordgren
Call Number: Science : Nordgren : 01/2017
ISBN: 9780465060924
Publication Date: 2016-09-13
Racing the Moon's Shadow with Concorde 001 by Pierre Léna; Stephen Lyle (Translator)
ISBN: 9783319217291
Publication Date: 2015-10-31
Totality: the Great American Eclipses of 2017 And 2024 by Mark Littmann; Fred Espenak
ISBN: 0198795696
Publication Date: 2017-05-01
Celestial Shadows by John Westfall; William Sheehan
ISBN: 9781493915354
Publication Date: 2014-11-19
Total Addiction by Kate Russo
ISBN: 9783642304811
Publication Date: 2012-08-01
Totality by Mark Littmann; Ken Willcox; Fred Espenak
Call Number: QB541 .L69 2008
ISBN: 0199532095
Publication Date: 2008-09-22
Total Solar Eclipses and How to Observe Them by Martin Mobberley
ISBN: 9780387698281
Publication Date: 2007-08-03
Mask of the Sun by John Dvorak
Call Number: Science : Dvorak : 04/2017
ISBN: 9781681773308
Publication Date: 2017-03-07
Eclipses by Frank Close
ISBN: 9780190902469
Publication Date: 2019-09-03
American Eclipse by David Baron
Call Number: Science : Baron : 06/2017
ISBN: 9781631490163
Publication Date: 2017-06-06
Proving Einstein Right by S. James Gates; Cathie Pelletier
ISBN: 9781541762251
Publication Date: 2019-09-24
No Shadow of a Doubt by Daniel Kennefick
ISBN: 9780691190051
Publication Date: 2019-04-30
The Solar Eclipse Of 2017 by Wolfgang Held; Christian von Arnim (Translator)
ISBN: 9781782501688
Publication Date: 2015-01-15
O

Local Eclipse Resources

SIUC Eclipse Site
Provides an overview of the festivities & events being held at SIUC for the total solar eclipse on April 8, 2024.
Southern Illinois Regional Eclipse Website
Enjoy Illinois - Solar Eclipse 2024
Official website of the Illinois Office of Tourism

Related Databases

ArXiv.org
Searchable scientific papers in full-text from the fields of physics, mathematics, non-linear science, computer science, and quantitative biology.
Web of Science
Provides access to over 170 million citations in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities. Allows cited reference searches. Tutorials available at https://www.youtube.com/user/WoSTraining.

Astrophysics Data System (ADS)
ADS is a free resource that indexes and provides abstracts from journals and conferences, primarily in astronomy and astrophysics as well as in general physics and engineering.

JSTOR
Provides access to more than 12 million journal articles, books, images, and primary sources in 75 disciplines.

Related Journals at Morris

Government Resources

NASA Eclipses and Transits
NASA's main site on transits, lunar eclipses, and solar eclipses.
NASA's 2024 Eclipse Site
Special site dedicated to the 2024 total solar eclipse.
NASA Image and Video Library
Find images, videos, and audio relating to many astronomy related topics including eclipses.
Library of Congress Solar Eclipses Reference Guide
Forest Service Eclipse Information

Novels Featuring Solar Eclipses

A Connecticut Yankee in King Arthur's Court by Mark Twain
Call Number: 813.4 C625C1949
ISBN: 9781681464985
Voyage by Sterling Hayden
Call Number: 813.54 H415v 1976
ISBN: 0399116656
Publication Date: 1976-12-29
Nightfall by Isaac Asimov; Robert Silverberg
Call Number: 813.5 A8325NIGH
ISBN: 9781299231191
Shooting the Sun by Max Byrd
Call Number: PS3552.Y675 S47 2004
ISBN: 0553802089
Publication Date: 2003-12-30
Black Sun by Rebecca Roanhorse
ISBN: 9781534437678
Publication Date: 2020-10-13

Children's Books in the IMC

Eclipse: Darkness to Daytime by Franklyn M. Branley; Donald Crews (Illustrator)
Call Number: IMC 523.7 B82e 1988
ISBN: 0690046197
Publication Date: 1988-06-01
The Day the Sun Disappeared by John Hamberger
Call Number: IMC E H199d
Publication Date: 1964
Someone Is Eating the Sun by Ruth A. Sonneburn; Eric Gurney (Illustrator)
Call Number: IMC E S69so
ISBN: 0394829174
Publication Date: 1974-09-12

Popular Eclipse Websites

Eclipse Chasers
Website for those that view eclipses around the world and includes cartoons, photography, and trip reports.
Eclipse Guy
Website created by a film producer to encourage others to view eclipses. It includes photos, calendars, numerous videos, and a database listing dramatic films and documentaries dealing with eclipses.
EclipseWise
Website maintained by retired NASA astrophysicist Fred Espenak. Includes large amounts of data and eclipse predictions beneficial for those interested in astrophysics & scientific research.
Mr. Eclipse
Website also by Fred Espenak. This site focuses more on eclipse photography, gives plenty of details for beginners, and includes special sections such as eclipse quotations, images of eclipse stamps, etc.
Eclipsophile
Meteorologists run this site that is dedicated to climate and weather for celestial events.
Solar Eclipse Interactive Google Maps
Website by Xavier M. Jubier that provides Google Maps relating to solar eclipses and their paths across the Earth's surface.

Morris Library

2024 Total Solar Eclipse Resources: Home