This is the "Home" page of the "ECE 595: Communication Skills" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

ECE 595: Communication Skills   Tags: 595, ece, electrical and computer engineering, electrical engineering, engineering, engr  

Last Updated: Nov 21, 2014 URL: http://libguides.lib.siu.edu/ece595 Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Key Databases

  • IEEE Xplore  
      
    Full-text publications back to 1988 from IEEE (originally the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers) and IET (the institution of Engineering and Technology), including journals, transactions, proceedings, magazines, and standards.
  • Computers & Applied Sciences Complete  
      
    Computers & Applied Sciences Complete can be used to find articles in all areas of engineering and technology. It is especially good for finding articles trade publications and popular science magazines.
  • Web of Science  
      
    On Web of Science, Morris Library has Web of Science Core Collection, a multidisciplinary citation index, as well as Medline, Biological Abstracts, and Zoological Record. If you want to use just one of these databases, click on the "Select Database" tab. It also includes citation searching and analysis, journal impact factor and a bibliographic management tool.

Google Scholar



Government Resources

  • USPTO Patent Database
    The U.S. Patent and Trademark office's entry page to search full text and full-image patents from the United States.
  • Google Patents  
      
    Google Patents includes the patents available in the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office (USPTO) Web site. It has patents from the 1790s up to a few months ago. Google Patents has scanned the USPTO images of patents into full-text searchable pdfs.
  • Science.gov  
      
    Science.gov is a gateway to over 50 million pages of authoritative selected science information provided by U.S. government agencies, including research and development results.
  • NTIS - National Technical Information Service
    Provides access to more than three million government funded technical, scientific, engineering, and business related resources
  • TRAIL: Technical Report Archive and Image Library
    Contains full text of U.S. federal documents dated prior to 1975. Collections so far include Bureau of Mines, National Standards, and Atomic Energy Commission materials, with more to come.
  • Data.gov
    Access to the U.S. government's open datasets.

IEEE Standards (online)

Full Text IEEE standards may be found in IEEE Xplore Digital Library.  The database allows users to search IEEE standards or browse the standards by collection, number, topic, or ICS Code.

ASTM Standards (print)

Print ASTM Standards: Call # TA 401 .A653

Morris Library's most recent copies ASTM standards are kept in the reference section on the first floor of the library.  Older copies of the Annual Book of ASTM Standards can be found elsewhere in the library.

ASTM prints a complete set of the standards each year, but only a fraction of the standards are new.

Other Morris Library Research Guides

Can't find it at Morris?

Request items from around the world through Interlibrary Loan.

  • Interlibrary Loan
    If there's a book not in I-Share, we'll find it. If there's an article that says "We don't have this online," we will get it for you. Just sign up for an Interlibrary Loan account (click First-Time User). Request articles through "Request a Photocopy".
  • WorldCat  
      
    Worldwide catalog of library resources. See if it's in I-Share, SIU, or locate items to request via ILL.

Dissertations/Theses

For in-depth arguments (often) not yet published, try these databases of dissertations and theses.

Contact Morris

Morris Library
Southern Illinois University
Carbondale, IL 62901
Information Desk: (618) 453-2818
Administrative Office: (618) 453-2522
Circulation Desk: (618) 453-1455

Web Administrator

Copyright

© 2014 SIU Board of Trustees

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip