A guide to research in the RTD program.
Check out these authoritative resources for scholarly articles and more.
- Communication & Mass Media Complete
Provides the most robust, quality research solution in areas related to communication and mass media. CMMC incorporates the content of CommSearch and Mass Media Articles Index.
- Film & Television Literature Index with Full Text
Film & Television Literature Index is an indexing and abstracting database for publications in the areas of film and television.
- Film Literature Index (1976-2001)
The Film Literature Index annually indexes 150 film and television periodicals from 30 countries for articles on film and television. The periodicals range from the scholarly and critical to the popular.
A database of full text non-current scholarly journals.
- Business Source Complete
A scholarly business database, providing the ultimate collection of bibliographic and full text content.includes financial data, books, conference proceedings, case studies, industry reports, market research, and more.
- SocIndex with Full Text
SocINDEX with Full Text offers comprehensive coverage of sociology, encompassing all sub-disciplines and closely related areas of study.
- Chicago Tribune (1849-1990)
- Chicago Tribune (1989-Present)
- New York Times (1851 - 2009)
- New York Times (1980-Present)
- Kanopy Streaming Videos
A streaming video resource with a collection of over 26,000 documentary and narrative films from producers such as Criterion Collection, The Great Courses, New Day Films, HBO, California Newsreel, Kino Lorber, PBS, BBC, and First Run Features.
- Academic Search Complete
Large multi-disciplinary full-text database from EBSCO.
- Kanopy Streaming Videos
A streaming video resource with a collection of over 26,000 films from leading producers such as Criterion Collection, The Great Courses, New Day Films, HBO California Newsreel, Kino Lorber, PBS, BBC, First Run Features, The Video Project, and more.
- Alexander Street Press Video Online
Collections of streaming video, mostly documentary, available through the library.
- Filmakers library Online
A collection of award-winning documentaries with relevance across the curriculum presenting points of view and historical and current experiences from diverse cultures and traditions world-wide
- LexisNexis Academic Search - Legacy Interface (after 10/5/2017 see Nexis Uni)
LexisNexis Academic provides searchable access to a comprehensive spectrum of full-text information from over 5,600 sources, selected to meet academic research needs, including broadcast transcripts.
- MLA International Bibliography
Detailed indexof journal articles, books and dissertations from the Modern Language Association, with some full text.
Search books, journals, government documents, videos, DVDs, music CDs, and music scores.
Search I-Share @ Morris Library
Request items from around the world through Interlibrary Loan.
- Interlibrary Loan
If there's a book not in I-Share, we'll find it. If there's an article that says "We don't have this online," we will get it for you. Just sign up for an Interlibrary Loan account (click First-Time User). Request articles through "Request a Photocopy".
Worldwide catalog of library resources. See if it's in I-Share, SIU, or locate items to request via ILL.
For unpublished research from SIU and other colleges and universities. Order unavialable dissertations and theses via ILL.
- Dissertations and Theses Abstracts
Abstracts of 2 million dissertations and theses from 1861 to the present. Preview 20-25 pages of the work and then order through SIU interlibrary loan for free.
- Dissertations & Theses @ Southern Illinois University Carbondale
Provides electronic versions of dissertations and theses from Southern Illinois University Carbondale AFTER Spring 2005. Print copies from BEFORE Spring 2005 are shelved by academic department on the 4th floor of Morris Library.
OpenSIUC is an institutional repository offering permanent, reliable,and free access to research and scholarly material produced at Southern Illinois University Carbondale.