A guide to research in the WGSS program.
Try these links to search scholarly articles, primary sources, and more.
Mostly full-text database, non-current (approximately three to five years and older) but running back to first issue in multiple disciplines. Select Feminist and Women's Studies discipline (29 journals).
- LGBT Life with Full Text
Includes citations and abstracts for articles and books on lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender issues. For over 50 of the magazines and journals, it also includes the full text of the articles.
- SocIndex with Full Text
The go-to database for sociology (qualitative and quantitative).
- America: History and Life (EBSCO)
The definitive index of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present." Indexes 1,700 journals from 1964 to present.
- Women and Social Movements, Scholars Edition
Primary and secondary sources, including material from the League of Women Voters, Women's Christian Temperance Movement, Women's Suffrage, and U.S. Government reports on the status of women
- ProQuest Historical Newspapers
Chicago Tribune (1849-1987), The Chicago Defender (1905-1975), The Wall Street Journal (1889 - 1993), and The New York Times (1851-2007).
- Kanopy Streaming Videos
A streaming video resource with a collection of over 26,000 documentary and narrative films from producers such as Criterion Collection, The Great Courses, New Day Films, HBO, California Newsreel, Kino Lorber, PBS, BBC, and First Run Features.
For primary resources and searching in multi-disciplinary scholarly databases.
- Academic Search Complete
Multidisciplinary database of scholarly, popular, and trade journals.
- British and Irish Women's Letters and Diaries
British and Irish Women's Letters and Diaries includes the immediate experiences of approximately 500 women, as revealed in over 100,000 pages of diaries and letters, spanning more than 300 years.
- Literature Online (LION)
Over 350,000 works of poetry, prose, and drama from the 8th to the 21st century. Also includes an extensive collection of criticism and reference materials.
- Project Muse
Access to the full text of all Johns Hopkins University Press' scholarly journals covering such disciplines as psychology, classics, cinema, medicine, literature, history, and more.
- Cost of Living Index
City-to-city comparisons of key consumer costs for more than 300 US cities.
Search books, journals, government documents, videos, DVDs, music CDs, and music scores.
Search I-Share @ Morris Library
Request items from around the world through Interlibrary Loan.
- Interlibrary Loan
If there's a book not in I-Share, we'll find it. If there's an article that says "We don't have this online," we will get it for you. Just sign up for an Interlibrary Loan account (click First-Time User). Request articles through "Request a Photocopy".
Worldwide catalog of library resources. See if it's in I-Share, SIU, or locate items to request via ILL.
For in-depth arguments (often) not yet published, try these databases of dissertations and theses.