Women, Gender, and Sexuality Studies: Resources

This library resource guide provides a list of books on or about LGBTQ+ topics from fiction, non-fiction, YA, and juvenile.

"Since 1996, the Women's Prize for Fiction has recognized and celebrated the best fiction by women writers around the world. Bestselling novelist and playwright Kate Mosse founded the UK-based award to champion women in the male-dominated awards scene."

Request books that you can't find at Morris Library or through I-Share. Articles are usually delivered to your @siu email; books are delivered to the first floor circulation desk at Morris Library.

Created by the The Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture, this guide links to works written by African American women during the 19th Century, from biographies, autobiographies, fiction, and more.

This database provides access to digital collections of primary sources (photos, letters, diaries, artifacts, etc.) that document the history of women in the United States. These diverse collections range from Ancestral Pueblo pottery to interviews with women engineers from the 1970s.

Run by Cornell University Library, this archive holds online copies of books and journals relating to home economics published between 1850 and 1950. Users can keyword search or browse by title or year.

"The Jane Addams Papers is a scholarly editing project publishing the correspondence and writings of Jane Addams from 1901-1935 in a freely accessible digital edition and in a selected print edition. The site has been built by editors, working with students at Ramapo College of New Jersey."

Online exhibits featuring materials from the archive's holdings.

Open Access collaborative publication between the University of Massachusetts Dartmouth and the University of Rhode Island that promotes feminist scholarship across the discipline.

From the website: MP is an online, peer-reviewed, international feminist journal. Our goal is to provide an intelligent forum for feminist discourse in cyberspace, to give voice to a variety of voices on issues of gender and power.

From the website: S&F Online, a triannual, multimedia, peer-reviewed, online-only journal of feminist theories and women’s movements established in 2003. The journal provides public access to the Barnard Center for Research on Women’s most innovative programming by providing written transcripts, audio and visual recordings, and links to relevant intellectual and social action networks.

Full-text transcripts of speeches given by women on a wide array of topics from antiquity until today. Transcripts are searchable and can also be browsed by topic or speaker.

Teacher resources, including primary resources, on British Suffragettes created by the British National Archives.

From the website: Thirdspace is a peer-reviewed journal, offering work in English and French, that aims to present the best in scholarship on feminist theory and culture. Founded in 2000, our goal is to produce a top-quality journal that demonstrates a wide range of applications for feminist theory and methodology. We envision a broad definition of studies in "feminist theory and culture" which can include, but are not limited to, development and applications of feminist theory; cultures of feminism and feminist movement (including academia); and feminist cultural studies.

UN Women is part of the United Nations and helps member states move toward gender equality and women empowerment. On this website, you can find resources about women around the world, including annual reports created by UN Women.

Created by Iowa State University's Carrie Chapman Catt Center for Women and Politics, this resource guide curated links to online collections of United States Women's Suffrage.

From the website: "The Atlantis is a scholarly research journal devoted to critical work in a variety of formats that reflects current scholarship and approaches to the discipline of Women's and Gender Studies. It incorporates a diversity of feminist, anti-racist and critical identity, intersectional, transnational, and cultural studies approaches to a wide range of contemporary issues, topics, and knowledges. Atlantis is dedicated to the ongoing growth of knowledge in the field of Women's and Gender Studies, as well as to critical reflections on the field itself."

From the website: "The purpose of the Digital Transgender Archive (DTA) is to increase the accessibility of transgender history by providing an online hub for digitized historical materials, born-digital materials, and information on archival holdings throughout the world. Based in Boston, Massachusetts at Northeastern University, the DTA is an international collaboration among more than sixty colleges, universities, nonprofit organizations, public libraries, and private collections. By digitally localizing a wide range of trans-related materials, the DTA expands access to trans history for academics and independent researchers alike in order to foster education and dialog concerning trans history." The archive focuses on materials created before the year 2000.

This website contains biographical information of around 1700 transgender individuals and information relating to trans history.

Begun in 1950, the Mattachine Society was an early homosexual rights advocacy organization. It became the subject of an FBI internal security investigation ...

Digital archive and museum devoted to Canada's LGBTQ2+ communities. Features resources for integrating materials into classroom lessons for grades 9-12.