Research Guides: BIOL 211: Introductory Cell Biology and Genetics: Enzyme Activity Report

In this Guide

Your Librarian--Get Help

Email Me

Contact:

Morris Library
Room 260G
Southern Illinois University
Carbondale, IL

618-453-5492

Subjects: Agribusiness Economics, Agricultural Education, Agricultural Sciences, Agricultural Systems, Agricultural Systems and Education, Air Traffic Control, Animal Science, Automotive Technology, Automotive, Truck, and Equipment Management, Aviation Flight, Aviation Management, Aviation Technologies, Biological Sciences, Crop Breeding, Genetics, and Biotechnology, Crop, Soil, and Environmental Management, Environmental Resources and Policy, Environmental Studies, Equine Studies, Fermentation Science, Food and Process Engineering Technology, Forestry, Geography and Environmental Resources, Geology and Geosciences, GIS, Horticulture, Microbiology, Molecular Biology, Microbiology, and Biochemistry, Molecular, Cellular, and Systemic Physiology, Neuroscience, Pharmacology and Neuroscience, Plant Biology, Plant, Soil, and Agricultural Systems, Sustainability, Unmanned Aircraft Systems, Zoology

Can't find it at Morris?

Request items from around the world through Interlibrary Loan. Check and request books from I-Share first before requesting books through this service.

Interlibrary Loan
Request books that you can't find at Morris Library or through I-Share. Articles are usually delivered to your @siu email; books are delivered to the first floor circulation desk at Morris Library.
more...less...
used in description of NEW ECONOMICS PAPERS on AGBE; in the FINDING BOOKS box on HORTICULTURE: FINDING BOOKS AND OTHER STUFF; HOW TO FIND BOOKS box on POLITICAL SCIENCE: BOOKS AND OTHER STUFF. STEP #2 on WORKFORCE ED: RESEARCH STRATEGY; RESEARCH TIPS on EDUCATION; FINDING BOOKS on FOR 409

WorldCat
Worldwide union catalog created and maintained collectively by more than 9,000 member institutions. If you find a resource in WorldCat, check in the library catalog to see if Morris Library or an I-Share library own a copy. If not, try Interlibrary Loan.

McMillan: Writing Lab Reports and Research Papers

Writing Papers in the Biological Sciences by Victoria E. McMillan
Call Number: Reserves, 1st Floor
ISBN: 1319047130
Publication Date: 2016
Ask for our copy of the sixth edition of Writing Papers in the Biological Sciences (2017) by Victoria McMillan, Robert Arnold, and Charles F. Priore, Jr., at the Circulation Desk.

Chapter 4: Writing Lab Reports and Research Papers
From the fifth edition of Writing Papers in the Biological Sciences (2011), by Vicky McMillan.
Chapter 5: Writing a Review Paper
From the fifth edition of Writing Papers in the Biological Sciences (2011), by Vicky McMillan.

Find Articles

We suggest you start with using the EBSCOHost Databases for finding basic research articles. A few sample searches and sample articles found in the database are listed below. There are many more databases! See the Biology Research Guide, or please contact me or the librarians at Morris Library. Note: if you can't find an article online or in print at the library, please contact me.

Sample searches:

amylase and inhibitors and plants
- (On results screen: check the Scholarly, Peer-reviewed Journal limit on the left side)
- If the PDF is not available, use the Find Full Text or Linked Full Text options

carbohydrates and amylase and temperature
- (On results screen: check the Scholarly, Peer-reviewd Journal limit on the left side)
- If the PDF is not available, use the Find Full Text or Linked Full Text options

amylases and properties
- (On results screen: check the Scholarly, Peer-reviewd Journal limit on the left side)
- If the PDF is not available, use the Find Full Text or Linked Full Text options

EBSCOhost Research Databases

Biological Sciences
by Mary Taylor Last Updated Sep 27, 2024 31 views this year

Ask A Librarian
Instant Message a librarian most hours that the library is open or email a librarian. When the library is open, you can also call 618-453-2818 or stop by the information desk on the first floor.
more...less...
used in FIND BOOKS on ANS 200; FIND BOOKS on BIOL 211; GETTING HELP on GETTING STARTED ON YOUR LITERATURE REVIEW

Sample Articles

Find Books

Use the Morris Library catalog to find books and other resources. Search by broad topic and then limit by format type including electronic books (see the right hand-hand column of the search results screen). You may limit to SIUC only if you choose (this works for electronic books). However, you will find more materials if you use the "All I-Share Libraries" search, although you won't be able to request ebooks. You may also change the search type from relevance to newest. If you are unable to request an item from I-Share, ask me or Ask A Librarian about requesting it using a different interlibrary loan system.

Here are some sample search terms:

Amylase
Carbohydrates
Carbohydrates metabolism
Starch
Starch Metabolism

Search Morris Library's Catalog

Search for books, ebooks, journals, government documents, DVDs, CDs, and more.

Book Examples

Starch by Yasunori Nakamura (Editor)
Call Number: eBook, Click the title for access
ISBN: 9784431554950
Publication Date: 2015
This book provides a detailed overview of the current understanding of the metabolic system of starch biosynthesis and degradation in plants. The focus is on new topics regarding the functional interaction between multiple enzymes and the initiation process of starch biosynthesis, which are essential for further understanding of related metabolic features. The book also explains and discusses the distinct structures of amylopectin and amylose and the crystalline structure of starch granules. At the same time, readers will be made aware of areas where further research remains to be done, such as the regulation of starch metabolism, the fine structure of starch molecules, and the manipulation of the structure and functional properties of starch by genetic and molecular technology. Also described are aspects of the biosynthetic machinery of starch, the structure and metabolism of which have developed and been refined during the process of plant evolution. In addition, recent approaches to producing novel starches with distinct physicochemical and functional properties in gene-modified mutants and transgenic plants for industrial applications are introduced. Finally, the book elaborates on the unresolved topics, necessary approaches and future prospects to achieve a complete understanding of the regulation of starch metabolism. This volume is of great value for general scientists, students and anyone wishing to understand the specific and complicated events of starch metabolism and biotechnology. It will be especially useful for food scientists and engineers in academia and industry.
Methods for Analysis of Carbohydrate Metabolism in Photosynthetic Organisms by Horacio G. Pontis
Call Number: eBook, Click the title for access
ISBN: 9780128034033
Publication Date: 2016
Methods for Analysis of Carbohydrate Metabolism in Photosynthetic Organisms: Plants, Green Algae and Cyanobacteria examines both general and detailed aspects of carbohydrate metabolism in photosynthetic organisms, along with the four main oligosaccharides and each enzymatic reaction that gives birth to them. Chapters include information on how biological active protein is extracted for different cells, determination of enzymatic activity, separation of proteins by different available methods, and descriptions of analytical methods for the determination of various types of carbohydrates in photosynthetic organisms. The book contains useful protocols for researchers working on the determination of carbohydrate metabolism. The book provides foundational content as well as step-by-step guidance on how to design and conduct an experiment, including what other methodologies could be used if advanced instruments are not readily available. Includes a variety of analytical methods and how to apply the methods using examples from specific case studies Discusses technical information on how to characterize plant carbohydrates and sugar nucleosides Contains easy-to-follow protocols with detailed explanations for self-guidance Provides foundational content as well as step-by-step guidance on how to design and conduct an experiment

About CSE Style

The Council of Science Editors (CSE) style (formerly known as CBE style) is used by many scientists.

Morris Library keeps a print copy of the newest edition behind the Information Desk for in-library use.

Scientific Style and Format, 8th ed. by Council of Council of Science Editors
Call Number: Reference Office (non-circulating), Ask at Information Desk, 1st Floor ; T11 .S386 2014
ISBN: 9780226116495
Publication Date: 2014

Online CSE Resources

Official Scientific Style and Format Citation Quick Guide
There are 3 ways to format citations in CSE Style: Author-Name, Citation-Sequence, and Citation-Name. Ask your instructor about which format to use. Use the tabs for the different format styles.

EndNote Online
Users must create a personal account for the EndNote Online citation management service via Web of Science. If you are already registered on Web of Science, you will be directed to login with that password instead of completing the registration form.