This is the "Home" page of the "Cataloging" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Cataloging  

Last Updated: Jan 9, 2014 URL: http://libguides.lib.siu.edu/cataloging Print Guide

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Introduction to Department

Cataloging Department

The Cataloging Department, a component of Information Resources Management, is responsible for providing bibliographic access to the collections and information resources of Morris Library. In addition, we are responsible for online catalog maintenance and authority control. We maintain bibliographic and holdings records in a shared online catalog whose resources are utilized by the students and faculty of Southern Illinois University and member libraries around the state, in addition to being available nationally and internationally through the Internet.

General Policy

Staff members are responsible for the bibliographic integrity and consistency of information entered in I-Share and I-Share, including bibliographic, holding, and item records. We work according to rules and standards established in AACR2 and by the Library of Congress and OCLC in addition to local cataloging practices and policies. As a member of CARLI, we are part of a shared cataloging environment and bibliographic maintenance activities are regulated to a large extent by consortial agreements. The Cooperative Cataloging Guidelines for I-Share Databases are available at http://www.carli.illinois.edu/mem-prod/I-Share/cat/coop_cat_guidelines.html.

Database Maintenance Unit

The Database Maintenance Unit maintains the integrity of the online catalog by updating bibliographic information and through problem solving. To ensure timely processing, the unit is responsible for organizing and searching of newly received material. The unit also provides system support to improve productivity and to accommodate changes in workflow.

Cataloging Group Goals

The Cataloging Group will:

  1. Provide original and/or derived bibliographic records for library materials in all formats that are forwarded to us. According to established guidelines and within staffing capabilities, full bibliographic access includes:
  • Accurate description and classification.
  • Appropriate and adequate access points (personal, corporate, subject).
  • Name and subject heading authority work.
  • Rush on-demand cataloging.
  1. Work to improve ease of access to the library's collections.
  2. Collect statistics on cataloging and maintenance activities as necessary for administrative reports and planning purposes.
  3. Continue to review procedures and workflow for maximum productivity and efficiency.
  4. Pursue solutions to cataloging those materials for which we have limited or no expertise.
  5. Pursue solutions to retrospective conversion for materials unavailable in the online catalog.
  6. Utilize student help wherever possible to assist processing of current materials and for special projects.
      
     

    Cataloging Staff

    Tori Bond
    453-1157
    tbond@siu.edu
    Monographs, IMC

    Daren Callahan
    453-7681
    dcallaha@lib.siu.edu
    Department Head

    Heidi Coons
    453-1453
    hcoons@lib.siu.edu
    Database maintenance

    Beth Cox
    453-5594
    bcox@lib.siu.edu
    Special formats

    Joe Fiedler
    453-1157
    jfiedler@siu.edu
    Monographs, maps

    Susan Howell
    453-1243
    showell@lib.siu.edu
    Database maintenance

    Karin McClure
    453-1157
    kmcclure@lib.siu.edu
    Videos, special formats

    Contact Morris

    Morris Library
    Southern Illinois University
    Carbondale, IL 62901
    Information Desk: (618) 453-2818
    Administrative Office: (618) 453-2522
    Circulation Desk: (618) 453-1455

    Web Administrator

    Copyright

    © 2014 SIU Board of Trustees

    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip