Southern Illinois University Carbondale
Overview:
III. Formatting the Call Number in the MFHD
IV. LC Biography and Artists' Tables
VIII. Modification of LC Call Numbers
I. Basic Elements
|
1st element: |
One, two or three LETTERS |
|
2nd element: |
Whole number (1-9999) or whole number with decimal extension |
|
3rd element: |
.Axx |
|
4th element: |
date or Axx |
|
5th element: |
date (If second cutter appears in 4th line) |
Succeeding elements include copy number, volume number or part designations (guide, part, series, supplement, etc.)
II. Conversion Policies
Starting in January 2002, new materials acquired for Morris Library were classified according to the Library of Congress Classification system.
Categories of material in locations other than the general collection were discussed during meetings held in December 2001, with the resulting decisions:
ADDS
Classify additional copies of books already in the Dewey collection in LC. Create a new holding record with the LC stacks location for new copies.
BOOKS with accompanying media (e.g., CD-ROM)
Give the same LC call number to the book and the accompanying material, but create separate MFHDs for each item. Superscript accompanying material for Media.
|
Book: |
852 0 $$b MORRIS $$c lcx $$h QA76.73.J39 $$i V36 2000 |
|
Accompanying Material: |
852 0 $$b MORRIS $$c lcx $$k Media $$h QA76.73.J39 $$i V36 2000 |
IMC / H.IMC
Class non-fiction in Dewey (13th ed.).
EDITIONS
Class new editions in LC. Leave previous editions in the Dewey collection. If an earlier edition has a valid LC-assigned LC number, use that for the new edition. If uncertain, ask your superior.
MAP LIBRARY
Classify all new material purchased for the Map Library in LC. Add a superscript for "Map Room" to the call number on the title page.
OVERSIZE map materials: Include a prefix ($$k) for "oversize." Add a superscript "Oversize" or "Folio" to the call number on the title page.
852 0 $$b MORRIS $$c mrx $$k Oversize $$h G1440 $$i .G6 1976
OVERSIZE
New material for the LC stacks that meets the criteria for Oversizei will be shelved in a separate location. Add a superscript "Oversize" or "Folio" to the call number on the title page to alert Marking. Do not use Oversize designations for Reference material.
852 0 $$b MORRIS $$c lcq $$k Oversize $$h TR681.A7 $$i D43 1999
852 0 $$b MORRIS $$c lcf $$k Folio $$h TR654.I98 $$i S2 2001
|
Oversize |
Folio |
III. Formatting the Call Number in the MFHD
|
Example 1: Simple class number and cutter
|
|
|
$$h Axx $$i .Axx date |
$$h GV735 $$i .C57 1985 |
|
Example 2: $h subfield includes a decimal and the first cutter as part of the call number
|
|
|
$$h AAxxxx.xx.Axx $$i Axx date |
$$h E183.8.G7 $$i A66 2000 |
IV. LC Biography and Artists’ Tables
Below is the table which LC uses in conjunction with Cutter numbers assigned to biographical works about individual persons (except in Class P and for individual artists in Class N).
|
.x |
Cutter number for individual |
|
.xA2 |
Collected works, by date of imprint. (If entry is open, use the earliest imprint date.) |
|
.xA25 |
Selected works, by date of imprint. (If entry is open, use the earliest imprint date.) |
|
.xA3-39 |
Autobiography, diaries, etc. |
|
.xA4 |
Letters, by date of imprint |
|
.xA41-49 |
Letters to an individual, by correspondent (A-Z) |
|
.xA5-59 |
Speeches, etc. |
|
.xA6-Z |
Biography and criticism |
Individual artists (Class N)
|
.x |
Cutter number for individual |
|
.xA2 |
Autobiography, by date |
|
.xA3 |
Letters, by date |
|
.xA35 |
Speeches, essays, interviews, etc. of the artist, by date |
|
.xA4 |
Reproductions (collections) by date, including exhibition catalogs even if the artist is not the main entry |
|
.xA6-79 |
Individual works of art, alphabetically by title of work of art, and date |
|
.xA8-Z |
Biography and criticism |
General Cutter tables for LCC
1) After initial vowels
|
for the second letter: |
b-c |
d-k |
l-m |
n-o |
p-q |
r |
s-t |
u-z |
|
use number: |
2 |
3 |
4 |
5 |
6 |
7 |
8 |
9 |
2) After the initial letter S
|
for the second letter: |
a |
ch |
e |
h-i |
m-p |
t |
u |
w-z |
|
use number: |
2 |
3 |
4 |
5 |
6 |
7 |
8 |
9 |
3) After the initial letters Qu
|
for the second letter: |
a |
e |
i |
o |
r |
t |
y |
|
use number: |
3 |
4 |
5 |
6 |
7 |
8 |
9 |
For initial letters beginning Qa-Qt, use: 2-29.
4) After other initial consonants
|
for the second letter: |
a |
e |
i |
o |
r |
u |
y |
|
use number: |
3 |
4 |
5 |
6 |
7 |
8 |
9 |
5) For expansion
|
for the letter: |
a-d |
e-h |
i-l |
m-o |
p-s |
t-v |
w-z |
|
use number: |
3 |
4 |
5 |
6 |
7 |
8 |
9 |
For authors or titles starting with Arabic numerals, use A12-19.
Cutter translations using the following table:
|
.x |
Original work |
|
.x12 |
Polyglot ** |
|
.x13 |
English translation |
|
.x14 |
French translation |
|
.x15 |
German translation |
|
.x16 |
Italian translation |
|
.x17 |
Russian translation |
|
.x18 |
Spanish translation |
**The cutter for polyglot is assigned when a work is written in several languages.
Use the Translation Table when cuttering for a translation only when a uniform title plus language(s) is provided and when the main entry is a personal author or title. Do not use the table for entries with a corporate or conference heading. Do not use the table for autobiographies or correspondence.
If two languages are named in the uniform title, cutter for the first language.
If cuttering for a language not indicated in the table, assign a cutter that fits alphabetically into the table.
If the classification schedule says By language, A-Z, do not use the translation table.
Z5051-8999 (subject and personal bibliographies) are not used locally. Class these items by subject.
Alternate or obsolete LC call numbers - those in parentheses in the LC schedule and in Classification Plus - are not used locally. Assign a current LC number; consider reclassing other works in the obsolete range, if feasible.
VIII. Modification of LC Call Numbers
If a bibliographic record lacks an 050 or 090, create a call number. Assign a Cutter number with at least two digits. Add a lowercase x to the date in the call number you create in order to avoid duplicating a call number assigned by LC to a different title.
$$h D157 $$i .O482 1999x
If necessary, the call number may be revised if LC also catalogs the item at a later date.
Editions. Modify LC call numbers for different editions of a title to represent the book in hand by adding the appropriate publication date to an LC-assigned call number.
For editions published in the same year, add sequential work letters, beginning with "b" to differentiate the items.
$$h PR6019.O9 $$i P64 2000
$$h PR6019.O9 $$I P64 2000b
$$h PR6019.O9 $$i P64 2000c (etc.)
Facsimile or photocopies. For facsimile or photocopy editions, use the imprint date of the original edition and add a lowercase "a" to the date. Using the date of the reproduction might mislead library users into believing they have located a new edition of the title.
$$h D157 $$i .O482 1999
$$h D157 $$i .O482 1999a
Corporate authors. For corporate main entries, use the imprint date in the call number. If another work by the same corporate body is received in the same year, add sequential letters beginning with "a" to the date.
$$h N611 $$i .A6 1924
$$h N611 $$I .A6 1924a
Bibliographies. Class with the subject. Use Z for general or national bibliographies.