Research Guides: Cataloging: RDA

Print Resources

Describing Electronic, Digital, and Other Media Using AACR2 and RDA
"a how-to-do-it manual and CD-ROM for librarians"

These materials are all available in Morris Library, many in the Cataloging Department.

Introducing RDA: a Guide to the Basics
"Practical advice for catalogers and library administrators on how to make the transition from the Anglo-American cataloging rules (AACR) to Resource description and access (RDA)."
Maxwell's Handbook for RDA, Resource Description & Access
"This comprehensive handbook illustrates and applies the new cataloging rules in the MARC21 environment for every type of information format -- from books to electronic materials to music and beyond."
RDA: Strategies for Implementation
"As the Internet emerged as a tool of accessing information, libraries were confronted with the need to examine their tools for description. New electronic and digital resources became increasingly difficult to catalog and classify. This book is a discussion of key issues related to RDA, to help prepare catalogers for its implementation."
RDA and Serials Cataloging
"This manual is designed to be used by serials catalogers who are new to RDA and by monograph catalogers who are new to both serials cataloging and RDA. Those new to serials cataloging will be introduced to both the infinite variety of the objects of serial cataloging and the sometimes arcane mysteries of the craft itself."
RDA, Resource Description & Access and Cartographic Resources
"As the cataloging universe moves into the era of RDA (Resource Description and Access), specialist catalogers need information on managing the materials in their areas of responsibility. In this manual, three expert catalogers offer a summary and overview of how to catalog cartographic resources using the new standard. Through abundant examples and sample records to illustrate the work, the authors take a close look at what will remain familiar from AACR2, and what is new and different in RDA."
RDA Workbook: Learning the Basics of Resource Description & Access
"Whether a library catalogs its own materials or not, librarians still need to have some understanding of RDA. Designed to be used by academic, public, and school librarians, this is the perfect introduction."
FRBR: a Guide for the Perplexed
"Clear, concise explanations" for librarians.
What is FRBR? A Conceptual Model for the Bibliographic Universe
Written by Barbara Tillett of the Library of Congress, a brief introduction to FRBR.

General Online Resources

Descriptive Cataloging Using RDA (Library of Congress)
This is a 9-module training program created by the Cooperative and Instructional Programs Division at the Library of Congress. The curriculum targets novice and beginning catalogers with little education or experience in cataloging, but parts of it may still be useful for experienced catalogers new to FRBR and RDA. Each module includes a PowerPoint of the teacher's slides, and some modules includes tests.

These links are primarily for training materials available from other institutions, such as the Library of Congress or OCLC. Be sure to avoid any non-U.S. information.

Library of Congress RDA Training Materials
Contains links to training materials developed by the Library of Congress covering FRBR and RDA.
BIBCO Standard Record (BSR) RDA Metadata Application Profile
The BIBCO Standard Record (BSR) is a "model" for bibliographic monographic records. Although these are intended specifically for libraries that are members of BIBCO, they are good examples of "full" records, providing a set of mandatory and mandatory if applicable elements.
LC RDA Core Elements
Core elements in RDA are minimum elements required for describing resources. Core elements are a new feature of RDA which allowed for certain metadata elements to be identified as “required” in the cataloging process. The assignment of core status is based on attributes mandatory for a national level record, as documented in the FRBR/FRAD modules. At a minimum, a bibliographic description should include all the required core elements that are applicable. Some elements are always core (if applicable); some are core only in certain situations.
RDA in MARC
This page notes the various RDA-specific MARC fields that are currently in use. Many include links to more information, such as instructions on indicators and subfields. In particular, this page includes links to creating the 336, 337, and 338 fields.
Cataloging Defensively (OCLC)
These presentations are not cataloging workshops, per se, but are designed to give some background to how OCLC's Duplicate Detection and Resolution (DDR) software deals with bibliographic records, both generally and for specific formats. These are particularly useful for original catalogers.
Penn State University Libraries' Cataloging and Metadata Services
Penn State generally has very high quality catalogers and cataloging documentation.
Yale University Library Cataloging
Yale has excellent documentation, especially for special formats.

FRBR resources online

A brief selection of presentations from other sources explaining Functional Requirements for Bibliographic Records (FRBR).

Library of Congress RDA Training Materials
Contains links to training materials developed by the Library of Congress covering FRBR and RDA.
FRBR: Entity Relationships for the Bibliographic Universe
This is another introductory presentation that is useful. This link does not include the notes but also does not require you to sign up. The same presentation with the notes is available for download here: http://www.academia.edu/3662699/FRBR_Entity_Relationships_for_the_Bibliographic_Universe. You will be asked to create a log in.
Functional Requirements for Bibliographic Records (FRBR)
Module 2 of this training program for RDA covers FRBR. The "teaching slides" include the instructors notes and are very useful.

Map Resources

Cartographic Resources Cataloging at Yale University
Yale has excellent documentation for map cataloging.

These are resources specifically for cataloging cartographic materials.

Music Resources

These are resources specifically for cataloging music scores and sound recordings.

Cataloging Audio Recordings with RDA
This presentation was given at the 2014 OLAC conference. The slides are divided into three parts. Change the number before ".pdf" in the URL to access the slides for parts 2 and 3.
Library of Congress Medium of Performance Thesaurus for Music (LCMPT)
The LCMPT is a stand-alone vocabulary that provides terminology to describe the instruments, voices, etc., used in the performance of musical works. The authorized terms are intended to be used in field 382 of MARC21 bibliographic and authority records.
Music Cataloging at Yale
Yale has excellent documentation as well as examples.
Cataloging and Metadata Committee, Music Library Association
Documentation includes a best practices document and presentations from past conferences.
Music OCLC Users Group Cataloging Resources
Includes various tools, websites, and presentations.
RDA for Music Scores
These presentation slides from the 2014 OLAC conference are very comprehensive and give a lot of specific examples.

Serials Resources

CONSER Standard Record RDA Metadata Application Profile
The CONSER Standard Record is a combination of RDA "Core," RDA "Core if," "PCC Core," and "PCC Recommended" elements applicable to textual serials in various formats. Although this was created for CONSER catalogers to be considered a model for serial descriptive records, it can also serve as a good example of a "complete" record.

These resources are specifically for cataloging print serials.

NASIGuide: MARC Coding for Serials
Although this was published in 2008 (pre-RDA), there is still a significant amount of useful information in this document. If the link doesn't work, go to nasig.org and, under the Publications tab, click on NASIGuides.

Video Resources

These are resources for cataloging videos.

OLAC Publications and Training Materials
The OLAC Catalogers Network supports catalogers of audio-visual and other non-book materials. Documents at this website include Best Practices for Cataloging DVD-Video and Blu-ray Discs Using RDA and MARC21.
RDA Cataloging of Videorecordings
These slides are from two presentations given by OCLC's Jay Weitz at the 2014 OLAC conference.
Video Cataloging at Yale
Yale has excellent documentation as well as examples.