Southern Illinois University Carbondale
1. In EndNote, open the References menu and select New Reference.
2. Select the Reference Type and fill in the fields that are relevant to your citation.
3. Select Save to close.
Most databases have a similar procedure for exporting citations into your library. File extensions vary by database (e.g. .ris, .ciw, .nbib), and most have a similar procedure to select titles within the database and export files to add to your EndNote library.
Note that importing a citation does not necessarily attach the full text (PDF). Full text availability depends on multiple factors, including the age of the article, presence of a digital object identifier (DOI), and database restrictions.See Find Full Text in this guide for information about finding and adding full text.
1. To export a single citation or multiple citations, conduct a search in EBSCO or an EBSCO database (e.g. PsychInfo).
2. Select the title(s) of the records you want to export.
3. On the top-right of the screen, select the quotation mark icon which indicates Cite.
4. In the pop-up window, you can select EndNote web as a destination, or export in RIS format to EndNote desktop.
5. Open the download to import into EndNote.
Note: This process will download the citation. Full text availability depends on multiple factors, including the age of the article, presence of a DOI, and database restrictions. See Find Full Text for more information.
1. Search and select the reference(s) you want to add from PubMed.
2. Click the Send button below the search bar.
3. Select Citation Manager from the drop down menu options.
4. You will be prompted to save and name your download as an .nbib file.
5. Open the downloaded file to automatically import citation(s) into your EndNote library.
Note: This process will download the citation and may download full text. Full text availability depends on multiple factors, including the age of the article, presence of a DOI, and database restrictions. See Find Full Text for more information.
1. To export citations from the Google Scholar search page, click on the quotation icon Cite under the reference you want to add.
2. Select EndNote at the bottom of the pop-up box.
3. Note that at this time Google Scholar does not export full-text. Follow the instructions on Find Full Text to attach a PDF.
Export one reference at a time, or bulk export up to 1,000 references from Web of Science.
1. Search Web of Science and select references by checking boxes to the left of the titles. To select all the references on a page, check the numbered results box.
2. Click Export and select either EndNote desktop or EndNote online from the drop down menu at the top of the results page, depending on which platform you are working with at the time. You can modify record content in the Export box before selecting Export.
EndNote desktop: selected references will be downloaded. Open the download to import your selections in EndNote desktop.
EndNote online: you will be prompted to login to your account and then the selected references will be added.
Note: This process will download the citation and may download full text. Full text availability depends on multiple factors, including the age of the article, presence of a DOI, and database restrictions. See Find Full Text for more information.