Research Guides: Cache River, Illinois: Watershed Science and Policy: Zoology

Books, Dissertations, Theses and Research Papers

Baumann, K. (2016). Macroinvertebrate community responses to hydrologic extremes in a divided river: implications for restoration efforts. Master's Thesis, Southern Illinois University Carbondale. 141 p. Available to users on the SIUC campus network. Non-SIUC patrons should contact the interlibrary loan department of their local library.

Crawford, J. (2014). Ecology of the swamp rabbit and eastern cottontail in bottomland hardword forests in southern Illinois. Ph.D. dissertation, Southern Illinois University Carbondale. 115 p. Available to users on the SIUC campus network. Non-SIUC patrons should contact the interlibrary loan department of their local library.

Elkin, K. A. (2002).Distribution and life history aspects of Etheostoma crossopetrum (Percidae), the fringed darter, in the Cache River drainage, Illinois. Master’s Thesis, Southern Illinois University Carbondale. 70 p. Location: Morris Library, 4thf loor, Theses & Dissertations. Call Number: Z 2002 E43d

Eubanks, B. W. (2010). Status and distribution of the state-threatened marsh rice rat (Oryzomys palustris) in Illinois. Master's thesis, Southern Illinois University Carbondale. Available to users on the SIUC campus network. Non-SIUC patrons should contact the interlibrary loan department of their local library.

Finder, R. A. (1998). Relationships between landscape patterns and white-tailed deer/vehicle accidents. Master’s thesis, Southern Illinois University at Carbondale. 80 p. Location: Morris Library, 4th Floor, Theses & Dissertations. Call Number: q. Z 1998 F494r. [Includes Alexander, Massac, Pulaski, and Union Counties]

Gibbs, T. J. (1998). Abundance, distribution, and potential habitat of the bobcat in Illinois. Master’s thesis, Southern Illinois University at Carbondale. 90 p. Location: Morris Library, 4th Floor, Theses & Dissertations. Call Number: q. Z 1998 G442. [Includes Alexander, Massac, Pulaski, and Union Counties]

Gunning, G. E. (1954). The fishes of Horseshoe Lake, Illinois. Master’s thesis, Southern Illinois University. 37 p. Call Number: Q. 597.09773 G976F (Basement). Another copy is available on the 4th floor, Theses & Dissertation. Call Number: q. BI 1994 C371

Heinrich, K. (2011). Insect emergence and riparian bird responses to rock weir construction in the Cache River Basin of southern Illinois. Master's thesis, Southern Illinois University. Available to the SIUC community at http://opensiuc.lib.siu.edu/theses/664/ Non-SIUC patrons should contact the interlibrary loan department of their local library.

Hicks, B. M. (2003). Habitat contribution and waterbird use of Wetland Reserve Program sites in the Cache River Watershed, Illinois. Master's thesis, Southern Illinois University Carbondale. 144 p. Location: Morris Library, 4th Floor, Theses & Dissertations. Call Number: Z 2003 H631h [Note: our copy is "Overdue, Assumed Lost"]

Kjolhaug, M. S. (1986). Status, distribution, and factors determining habitat quality of the swamp rabbit in Illinois. Master’s thesis, Southern Illinois University, Carbondale.109 p. Location: Morris Library, 4th Floor, Theses & Dissertations. Call Number: q. Z 1986 K62

McClain, D. R. 2016. Response of cavity-nesting birds to aquatic macroinvertebrate availability in the Cache River watershed, southern Illinois. Master’s thesis, Southern Illinois University at Carbondale. 88 p. Available to users on the SIUC campus network. Non-SIUC patrons should contact the interlibrary loan department of their local library.

Moeller, H. C. (1994). Status of a Johnson County, Illinois, population of dusky salamander, genus Desmognathus, (Amphibia: Plethodontidae). Master’s thesis, Southern Illinois University at Carbondale. 47 p. Location: Morris Library, 4th Floor, Theses & Dissertations. Call Number: q. Z 1994 M693. [Jug Spring]

O’Neill, B. J. (2003). Scale-dependent interrelationships among fish, landscape characteristics, and amphibian assemblages in forest ponds. Master’s thesis, Southern Illinois University Carbondale. 62 p. Location: Morris Library, 4th Floor, Theses & Dissertations. Call Number: Z 2003 O58s.

Pankau, A. K. (2008). Examining cost effectiveness of actively and passively managed wetlands for migrating and wintering waterfowl in southern Illinois. Master's thesis, Southern Illinois University Carbondale. 168 p. Available to users on the SIUC campus network. Non-SIUC patrons should contact the interlibrary loan department of their local library.

Rodman, L. B. (2008). Population dynamics of white-footed mice (Peromyscus leucopus) in a tornado-impacted forest in southern Illinois. Master’s thesis, Southern Illinois University Carbondale. 76 p. Print Location: Morris Library, 1^st Floor, Special Collections Research Center. Call Number: Thesis 2008. [Requires 72 hours notice for retrieval]

Rubert, L. (2007). Identifying habitat suitability and potential linkages for swamp rabbit conservation in southern Illinois. Master’s thesis, Southern Illinois University Carbondale. 98 p. Print Location: Morris Library, Special Collections Research Center. Call Number: Thesis 2007. [Requires 72 hours notice for retrieval]

Ruzicka, K. J., Jr. (2007). Vegetative development and deer browsing patterns following bottomland afforestation. [Grassy Slough]. Master’s thesis, Southern Illinois University Carbondale. 54 p. Print Location: Morris Library, Special Collections Research Center. Call Number: Thesis 2007. [Requires 72 hours notice for retrieval]

Scharine, P. D. (2008). Lagomorph-habitat relationships in southern Illinois. Master’s thesis, Southern Illinois University Carbondale. 78 p. Print Location: Morris Library, Special Collections Research Center Call Number: Thesis 2008.

Walther, D. A. (2007). Biological evaluation of stream restoration efforts in the Cache River basin in southern Illinois. Ph.D. dissertation, Southern Illinois University Carbondale. 105 p.

Weber, W. L. (2000). Contribution of the Conservation Reserve Program to upland wildlife habitat and general landscape structure in Illinois. Master’s thesis, Southern Illinois University Carbondale. 119 p. Location: Morris Library, 4th Floor, Theses & Dissertations. Call Number: q. Z 2000 W376c [Includes Johnson County].

Wichmann, R. F. (1996). A natural history of the Cache River watershed. Research paper, Southern Illinois University, Carbondale, 95 p. Location: Morris Library, Special Collections Research Center. Call Number: 96-WICH325169R [Requires 72 hours notice for retrieval]

Williams, C. L. (2002). Distribution of migratory land birds among forest patches in southern Illinois during spring stopover. Ph.D. dissertation, Southern Illinois University Carbondale. 116 p. Print Location: Morris Library, 4th Floor, Theses & Dissertations. Call Number: GE 2002 W722d

Wilson, A. (2001). Land management impacts upon the amphibian and reptile fauna of Lake Creek and its riparian areas, Alexander County, Illinois. Master’s thesis, Southern Illinois University Carbondale. 93 p. Location: Morris Library, 4th Floor, Theses & Dissertations. Call Number: q. Z 2001 W747l.

Wolff, J. M. (2007). Differences in bat communities between a tornado disturbed and undisturbed site at Mermet Lake State Forest and Wildlife Area. Master’s thesis, Southern Illinois University Carbondale. 78 p. Print Location: Morris Library, 1^st Floor, Special Collections Research Center. Call Number: Thesis 2007. [Requires 72 hours notice for retrieval]

Wolff, M. R. (1998). A habitat model of Sceloporus undulatus (the fence lizard) in southern Illinois. Master’s thesis, Southern Illinois University Carbondale. 67 p. Location: Morris Library, 4th Floor, Theses & Dissertations. Call Number: q. Z 1998 W855h.

Articles, Papers, and Reports

Barbour, M. S., Woolf, A., & Porath, J. W. (2001). Recent trends and future outlook for the swamp rabbit (Sylvilagus aquaticus) in Illinois. Transactions of the Illinois State Academy of Science, 94(3), 151-160. Retrieved from http://ilacadofsci.com/wp-content/uploads/2013/08/094-15MS2018-print.pdf

Bonjour, S. M., Rantala, H. M., Bennett, M. G, Whiles, M. R. 2018. Fish community structure and diet responses to Newbury weirs in a low-gradient river. Environmental Management, 61, 928-938. doi:10.1007/s00267-018-1022-9 Open access at https://link.springer.com/content/pdf/10.1007%2Fs00267-018-1022-9.pdf

Bouska, K. L. & Whitledge, G. (2013). Habitat associations of fish assemblages in the Cache River, Illinois. Environmental Biology of Fishes, 97(1), 27-42. doi:10.1007/s10641-013-0120-z Post-peer review manuscript available at no charge via OpenSIUC at http://opensiuc.lib.siu.edu/fiaq_pubs/80/

Burbrink, F. T., Phillips, C. A., & Heske, E. J. (1998). A riparian zone in southern Illinois as a potential dispersal corridor for reptiles and amphibians. Biological Conservation, 86(2), 107-115. doi:10.1016/S0006-3207(98)00054-8 Open access, retrieved from http://wwx.inhs.illinois.edu/files/8113/4185/1351/BiolCons.pdf (Illinois Natural History Survey).

Burr, B. M. (1978). The life history of the cypress darter, Ethostoma proeliare in Max Creek, Illinois. Urbana: State of Illinois, Department of Registration and Education, Natural Survey Division. Location 1: Morris Library, 5th Floor. Call Number: QH9 .I5 no. 106. Location 2: McLafferty Annex Call Number: 574.9773 I29BI v. 106.
Burr, B. M., Cook, K. M., Eisenhour, D. J., Piller, K. R., Poly, W. J., Sauer, R. W., Taylor, C. A., Atwood, E. R., & Seegert, G. L. (1996). Selected Illinois fishes in jeopardy:New records and status evaluations. Transactions of the Illinois Academy of Science, 89(3 & 4):169-186. Retrieved from http://ilacadofsci.com/wp-content/uploads/2013/08/089-15MS9609-print.pdf

Burr, B. M., & Mayden, R. L. (1982). Life history of the Brindled Madtom Noturus miurus in Mill Creek, Illinois (Pisces: Ictaluridae). American Midland Naturalist, 107(1), 25-41. [Mill Creek, Pulaski County]

Burr, B. M., Sipiorski, J. T., Thomas, M. R., Cummings, K. S., Taylor, C. A. (2004). Fishes, Mussels, Crayfishes, and Aquatic Habitats of the Hoosier-Shawnee Ecological Assessment Area. In F. R. Thompson (Ed.), The Hoosier-Shawnee ecological assessment. St. Paul, MN: U.S. Department of Agriculture, Forest Service, North Central Research Station (pp. 109-171). General Technical Report NC-244. Chapter retrieved from http://nrs.fs.fed.us/pubs/gtr/gtr_nc244/gtr_nc244_ch6.pdf Full Report available at http://www.treesearch.fs.fed.us/pubs/12398

The Cache River Basin: An inventory of the region’s resources. (1997). Illinois Department of Natural Resources, Office of Realty and Environmental Planning; Nature of Illinois Foundation. Retrieved from http://hdl.handle.net/2142/13965 [Print copy at Morris Library, Call Number: 333.7 C1191997]

Carfagno, G. L. F., Heske, E. J., & Weatherhead, P. J. (2006). Does mammalian prey abundance explain forest-edge use by snakes? Écoscience, 13(3), 293-297. doi: 10.2980/i1195-6860-13-3-293.1

Carfagno, G. L. F., & Weatherhead, P. J. (2006). Intraspecific and interspecific variation in use of forest-edge habitat by snakes. Canadian Journal of Zoology, 84(10), 1440-1452. doi:10.1139/Z06-124 Retrieved from http://www.nrcresearchpress.com/doi/10.1139/z06-124

Carfagno, G. L. F., & Weatherhead, P. J. (2008). Energetics and space use: Intraspecific and interspecific comparison of movements and home ranges of two colubrid snakes. Journal of Animal Ecology, 77(2), 416-424.

Carfagno, G. L. F., & Weatherhead, P. J. (2009). Ratsnake response to bottomland flooding: implications for avian nest predation. Acta Herpetologica, 4(2), 191-194. http://dx.doi.org/10.13128/Acta_Herpetol-3422

Chapas-Vargas, L., & Robinson, S. K. (2007). Nesting success of acadian flycatchers (Empidonax virescens) in floodplain forest corridors. Auk, 124(4), 1267-1280. doi:10.1642/0004-8038(2007)124[1267:NSOAFE]2.0.CO;2

Dyer, W. G., & Wilson, A. K. (1997). Falcaustra wardi (Nematoda: Kathlaniidae) in the false map turtle (Graptemys pseudogeographica) (Testudines: Emydidae) from southern Illinois. Transactions of the Illinois State Academy of Science, 90(3-4), 135-138. Retrieved from http://www.il-acad-sci.org/transactions_pdf_files/9011.pdf [Horseshoe Lake]

Gabbe, A. P., Robinson, S. K., Brawn, J. D. (2002). Tree-species preferences of foraging insectivorous birds: Implications for floodplain forest restoration. Conservation Biology, 16(2), 462-470. doi:10.1046/j.1523-1739.2002.00460.x
Graber, J. W., & Graber, R. R. (1979). Severe winter weather and bird populations in southern Illinois. Wilson Bulletin, 91(1), 88-103. [Heron Pond]
Graber, J. W., & Graber, R. R. (1983). Expectable decline of forest bird populations in severe and mild winters. Wilson Bulletin, 95(4), 682-690. [Heron Pond]
Grixti, J. C., Wong, L. T., Cameron, S.A., & Favret, C. (2009). Decline of bumble bees (Bombus) in the North American Midwest. Biological Conservation, 142(1), 75-84. doi:10.1016/j.biocon.2008.09.027 [Study sites include Dongola and Karnak]
Guetersloh, M. (2002). Big Creek watershed restoration plan: A component of the Cache River watershed resource pla n. Report to the Cache River Watershed Resource Planning Committee. Springfield, IL: Pilot Watersheds Program, Illinois Department of Natural Resources. Retrieved from http://opensiuc.lib.siu.edu/env_cache/1/ [Note: Has extensive lists of animal species.]

Hanley, R. S., & Goodrich, M. A. (1994). The Oxyporinae (Coleoptera: Staphylinidae) of Illinois. Journal of the Kansas Entomological Society, 67(4), 394-414.

Hayes, J. (1970). Check list of the mosquitoes in Johnson and Massac Counties, Illinois. Transactions of the Illinois State Academy of Science, 63(1), 109-112. Retrieved from http://www.il-acad-sci.org/transactions_pdf_files/6318.pdf

Hofmann, J. E., Gardner, J. E., & Morris, M. J. (1990). Distribution, abundance, and habitat of the marsh rice rat (Oryzomys palustris) in southern Illinois. Transactions of the Illinois State Academy of Science, 83(3-4), 162-180. Retrieved from http://www.il-acad-sci.org/transactions_pdf_files/8318.pdf

Holmes, R. R. (1996). Hydraulic, geotechnical, geomorphic, and biologic data for the Cache River/Heron Pond area in southern Illinois. U.S. Geological Survey open-file report ; 96-467. Urbana, IL: U.S. Geological Survey ; Denver, CO : Branch of Information Service. Retrieved from http://il.water.usgs.gov/pubs/ofr96_467.pdf [Also available: Morris Library, McLafferty Annex, Call Number: 574.526322 H752h 1996]

Hoover, J. P. (2003). Experiments and observations of prothonotary warblers indicate a lack of adaptive responses to brood parasitism. Animal Behaviour, 65(5), 935-944. doi:10.1006/anbe.2003.2154

Hoover, J. P. (2003). Multiple effects of brood parasitism reduce the reproductive success of prothonotary warblers, Protonotaria citrea. Animal Behaviour, 65(5), 923-934. doi:10.1006/anbe.2003.2155

Hoover, J. P. (2006). Water depth influences nest predation for a wetland-dependent bird in fragmented bottomland forests. Biological Conservation, 127(1), 37-45. doi:10.1016/j.biocon.2005.07.017

Hoover, J. P. (2008, March 20). Effects of off-channel wetland restoration on breeding bird communities. Technical Report INHS 2008 (12). Illinois Natural History Survey. From the IDEALS site: "This document is a product of the Illinois Natural History Survey, and has been selected and made available by the Illinois Natural History Survey and the University Library, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign. It is intended solely for noncommercial research and educational use, and proper attribution is requested." PDF available at http://hdl.handle.net/2142/18084 .

Hoover, J. P. (2009). Effects of hydrologic restoration on birds breeding in forested wetlands. Wetlands, 29(2), 564-573. doi:10.1672/08-75.1

Hoover, J. P., & Reetz, M. J. (2006). Brood parasitism increases provisioning rate, and reduces offspring recruitment and adult return rates, in a cowbird host. Oecologia (Berlin) 149(1), 165-173. doi:10.1007/s00442-006-0424-1

Hoover, J. P., & Robinson, S. K. (2007). Retaliatory mafia behavior by a parasitic cowbird favors host acceptance of parasitic eggs. Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences of the United States of America, 104(11), 4479-4483. Retrieved from http://www.pnas.org/content/104/11/4479.abstract [PDF link on page].

Hopkinson, C. S. (1992). A comparison of ecosystem dynamics in freshwater wetlands. Estuaries, 15(4): 549-562.

Kjolhaug, M. S., Woolf, A., & Klimstra, W. D. (1987). Current status and distribution of the swamp rabbit in Illinois. Transactions of the Illinois State Academy of Science, 80(3-4), 299-308. Retrieved from http://www.il-acad-sci.org/transactions_pdf_files/8029.pdf

Klimstra, W. D., & Roseberry, J. L. (1969). Additional observations on some southern Illinois mammals. Transactions of the Illinois State Academy of Science, 69(4), 413-417. Retrieved from http://www.il-acad-sci.org/transactions_pdf_files/62.63.pdf

Krumholz, L. A. (1944). Northward acclimatization of the western mosquitofish, Gambusia affinis affinis. Copeia, 1944(2), 82-85.

Layne, J. N. (1958). Notes on the mammals of southern Illinois. American Midland Naturalist, 60(1), 219-254.
Muir, D. P, Hite, R. L., King, M. M., Matson, M. R. (1995). An intensive survey of the Cache River Basin, summer 1992. Springfield, IL: State of Illinois Environmental Protection Agency, Bureau of Water, Planning Section. IEPA/WPC/95-013. Available online for download at HathiTrust, https://catalog.hathitrust.org/Record/100813876. Available in print at: Morris Library, Call Number: 363.739409773 I29in 1995.

Nielsen, C. K., & Woolf, A. (2002). Habitat-relative abundance relationship for bobcats in southern Illinois. Wildlife Society Bulletin, 30(1), 222-230.

Palis, J. G. (2004). Geographic Distribution. Kinosternon subrubrum. Herpetological Review, 35(1), 80. Retrieved from https://www.dropbox.com/s/ycdfhmz6pgrfubq/HR%202004.35.1.pgs76-96R.pdf?dl=1

Palis, J. G. (2004). Geographic Distribution. Pseudemys concinna. Herpetological Review, 35(1), 80. Retrieved from https://www.dropbox.com/s/ycdfhmz6pgrfubq/HR%202004.35.1.pgs76-96R.pdf?dl=1
Palis, J. G. (2007). If you build it, they will come: Herpetofaunal colonization of constructed wetlands and adjacent terrestrial habitat in the Cache River drainage of southern Illinois. Transactions of the Illinois State Academy of Science, 100(2), 177-189. Retrieved from http://www.thefreelibrary.com/If+you+build+it%2c+they+will+come%3a+herpetofaunal+colonization+of...-a0189797350

Palis, J. G. (2009). Aggressive interaction between a sora and Virginia rail during spring migration. Meadowlark, 18(4),128-129.

Palis, J. G. (2010). Hyla avivoca. Distance from breeding site. Herpetological Review, 41(1), 63-64.
Palis, J. G., Adams, S. M., & Peterson, M. J. (2007). Evaluation of two types of commercially-made aquatic funnel traps for capturing ranid frogs. Herpetological Review, 38(2), 166-167.
Petranka, J. W. (1982). Geographic variation in the mode of reproduction and larval characteristics of the small-mouthed salamander (Ambystoma texanum) in the East-Central United States. Herpetologica, 38(4), 475-485. [Several Cache River, IL Watershed locations]
Petzing, J. E., Mui, J. M., Dreslik, M. J., Phillips, C. A., Shepard, D. B., Crawford, J. A., Kuhns, A. R., Meyer, M. J., Anton, T. G., Moll, E. O., Palis, J. G, & Mauger, D. (2002). Filling in the gaps I: new county records for amphibians and reptiles in Illinois. Herpetological Review, 33(4), 327-330.
Petzing, J. E., & Phillips, C. A. (1999). Rana sphenocephala (southern leopard frog). Reproduction (fall breeding). Herpetological Review, 30(2), 93-94. Location: Morris Library, Third Floor, Periodicals. Shelved by Journal Title.

Poly, W. J. (1998). New state, host, and distribution records of the fish ectoparasite, Argulus (Branchiura), from Illinois (U.S.A.). Crustaceana, 71(1),1-8.

Poly, W. J. (2003). Design and evaluation of a translocation strategy for the fringed darter (Etheostoma crossopterum) in Illinois. Biological Conservation, 113(1), 13-22. doi:10.1016/S0006-3207(02)00345-2

Poly, W. J., & Wetzel, J. E. (2003). Transbranchioral spawning: novel reproductive strategy observed for the pirate perch Aphredoderus sayanus (Aphredoderidae). Ichthyological Exploration of Freshwaters, 14(2), 151-158. Journal Location: Morris Library, Third Floor, Journals. Call Number: Shelved by Journal Title.

Poly, W. J., & Wilson, A. K. (1998). The fringed darter, Etheostoma crossopterum, in the Cache River Basin of southern Illinois (Percidae: subgenus Catonotus). Ohio Journal of Science, 98(2), 6-9. Retrieved from http://hdl.handle.net/1811/23774

Poly, W. J., & Wilson, A. K. (2003). Thamnophis sirtalis sirtalis (eastern garter snake). Predation. Herpetological Review, 34(4), 378. [Available in print, Third Floor, Morris Library]

Robinson, S. K., Thompson, F. R., Donovan, T. M., Whitehead, D. R., & Faaborg, J. (1995). Regional forest fragmentation and the nesting success of migratory birds. Science, 267(5206), 1987-1990. doi:10.1126/science.267.5206.1987

Ruzicka, K. J., Groninger, J. W., & Zaczek, J. J. (2009). Deer browsing, forest edge effects, and vegetation dynamics following bottomland forest restoration. Restoration Ecology, Early View Article, (9 pages).

Scharine, P. D., Nielsen, C. K., Schauber, E. M., & Rubert, L. (2009). Swamp rabbits in floodplain ecosystems: Influence of landscape- and stand-level habitat on relative abundance. Wetlands, 29(2), 615-623. doi:10.1672/08-48.1 Available from http://mypage.siu.edu/schauber/reprints/Scharine_et_al_wetlands_09.pdf

Schauber, E. M., Scharine, P. D., Nielsen, C. K., Rubert, L. (2008). An artificial latrine log for swamp rabbit studies. Journal of Wildlife Management, 72(2), 561-563. doi:10.2193/2007-234. PDF available at no charge from OpenSIUC at http://opensiuc.lib.siu.edu/zool_pubs/100/

Shasteen, Scott et al. (2002). An intensive survey of the Cache River Basin, data summary: summer 1999. Springfield, Ill. : State of Illinois, Environmental Protection Agency, Bureau of Water. Available for download at HathiTrust, https://catalog.hathitrust.org/Record/100815956. Print Location: Morris Library, 5th Floor. Call Number: QH96.8.B5 I58 2002.

Taylor, C. A., Burr, B. M., & Cook, K. M. (1994). Status and distribution of three rare Illinois fishes: Blacktail Shiner (Cyprinella venusta), Northern Starhead Topminnow d(Funulus dispar), and Cypress Darter (Etheostoma proeliare). Transactions of the Illinois State Academy of Science, 87 (1-2), 71-82. Retrieved from http://ilacadofsci.com/wp-content/uploads/2013/08/087-09MS9319-print.pdf

Thompson, F. R., III. (Ed.) (2004). The Hoosier-Shawnee Ecological Assessment. General Technical Report NC-244. St. Paul, MN: U.S. Department of Agriculture, Forest Service, North Central Research Station. Includes chapters about aquatic animals, terrestrial wildlife, forest diseases and pests, exotic animals, ecological sections and soils, water resources, forests, and plants. Zoology-related chapters listed above. Full report retrieved from http://www.treesearch.fs.fed.us/pubs/12398

Vandermyde, Jodi M.; Shults, Steven. (2015, December 31). Survey of historic populations of slackwater fish Species in Greatest Need of Conservation in the Cache River watershed. Technical Report INHS 2015 (44). Illinois Natural History Survey. From the IDEALS site: "This document is a product of the Illinois Natural History Survey, and has been selected and made available by the Illinois Natural History Survey and the University Library, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign. It is intended solely for noncommercial research and educational use, and proper attribution is requested." PDF available at http://hdl.handle.net/2142/90088.

Walther, D. A., & Whiles, M. R. (2008). Macroinvertebrate responses to constructed riffles in the Cache River, Illinois, USA. Environmental Management, 41(4), 516-527. doi:10.1007/s00267-007-9058-2

Walther, D. A., & Whiles, M. R. (2011). Secondary production in a southern Illinois headwater stream: relationships between organic matter standing stocks and invertebrate productivity. Journal of the North American Benthological Society, 30(2): 357-373. doi:10.1899/10-006.1 [Big Creek]

Walther, D. A., Whiles, M. R., Flinn, M. B., & Butler, D. W. (2006). Assemblage-level estimation of nontanypodine chironomid growth and production in a southern Illinois stream. Journal of the North American Benthological Society, 25(2), 444-452. doi: 10.1899/0887-3593(2006)25[444:AEONCG]2.0.CO;2 [Big Creek]

Warren, M. L. & Burr, B. M. (1989). Distribution, abundance, and status of the cypress minnow, Hybognathus hayi, an Illinois endangered species. Natural Areas Journal, 9(3):163-168.
Watland, A. M., Schauber, E. M., & Woolf, A. (2007). Translocation of swamp rabbits in Southern Illinois. Southeastern Naturalist, 6(2), 259-270. Retrieved from http://opensiuc.lib.siu.edu/cgi/viewcontent.cgi?article=1098&context=zool_pubs

Webb, D. W., Wetzel, M. J., Reed, P. C., Phillippe, L. R., & Harris, M. A. (1995). Aquatic biodiversity in Illinois springs. Journal of the Kansas Entomological Society, 68(2, Suppl):93-107.

Wetzel, M. J. (1987). Limnodrilus tortilipenis, a new North American species of freshwater Tubificidae (Annelida: Clitellata: Oligochaeta). Proceedings of the Biological Society of Washington, 100(1), 182-185. Journal Location: McLafferty Annex. Call Number: Shelved by Journal Title.

Whiles, M. R., & Garvey, J. E. (2004). Freshwater resources in the Hoosier-Shawnee Ecological Assessment Area. In F. R. Thompson (Ed.), The Hoosier-Shawnee ecological assessment. St. Paul, MN: U.S. Department of Agriculture, Forest Service, North Central Research Station (pp. 81-108). General Technical Report NC-244. Chapter retrieved from http://nrs.fs.fed.us/pubs/gtr/gtr_nc244/gtr_nc244_ch5.pdf Full Report available at http://www.treesearch.fs.fed.us/pubs/12398

Whiteside, L. A., & Burr, B. M. (1986). Aspects of the life history of the tadpole madtom, Noturus gyrinus (Siluriformes: Ictaluridae), in southern Illinois. The Ohio Journal of Science, 86(4), 153-160.Retrieved from http://hdl.handle.net/1811/23151

Wolff, J. M., Battaglia, L., Carter, T. C., Rodman, L. B., Britzke, E., & Feldhamer, G. A. (2009). Effects of tornado disturbance on bat communities in southern Illinois. Northeastern Naturalist, 16(4), 553-562. doi:10.1656/045.016.n405

Subject Guide

Mary Taylor

Email Me

Contact:

Morris Library
Room 260G
Southern Illinois University
Carbondale, IL

618-453-5492

Subjects: Agribusiness Economics, Animal Science, Biological Sciences, Crop, Soil, and Environmental Management, Environmental Studies, Fermentation Science, Forestry, Horticulture, Hospitality, Tourism, and Event Management, Human Nutrition and Dietetics, Plant Biology, Zoology