Forestry: Finding Journal Articles

Provides pest detection data by county. From the site: "The Alien Forest Pest Explorer (AFPE) is an interactive web tool which provides detailed spatial data describing pest distributions and host inventory estimates for damaging, non-indigenous forest insect and disease pathogens currently established in the United States. To date, the AFPE database includes 74 species of forest insects and 15 species of forest pathogens. This tool allows users to scale county-level data to meet local forest health research needs. "

From the site: "The Forest History Society collections contain an extraordinary range of information about forest and conservation history, from prehistoric times to current events. This Research Portal provides access to over 45,000 citations to published items on environmental history topics, over 30,000 historic photographs, U.S. Forest Service history materials, descriptions of nearly 8,000 archival collections from over 450 North American repositories, and much more."

From the site: "i-Tree is a state-of-the-art, peer-reviewed software suite from the USDA Forest Service that provides urban forestry analysis and benefits assessment tools. The i-Tree Tools help communities of all sizes to strengthen their urban forest management and advocacy efforts by quantifying the structure of community trees and the environmental services that trees provide."

From the site: "The State of the World's Forests reports on the status of forests, recent major policy and institutional developments and key issues concerning the forest sector. It makes current, reliable and policy-relevant information widely available to facilitate informed discussion and decision-making with regard to the world's forests." This report is part of biennial series. There are links at the site for Mobi/Epub editions.

Contains full text of U.S. federal documents dated prior to 1975. Collections include Fish and Wildlife Service,
Geological Survey, Water Resources Center and more.