Skip to Main Content
Home

Morris Library

EndNote Desktop: Cite While You Write (Mac)

A guide to EndNote Desktop X9

Ask a Librarian

Profile Photo
Ask A Librarian
There seems to be something wrong with your browser. Please try reloading this page.
For in-depth research assistance, fill out this form to meet with a librarian

For quick questions, call the Information Desk at (618) 453-2818

For questions that can wait a day or two, email us at askalibrarian@siu.edu

(All our services are answered by library staff.)

Cite While You Write

Cite While You Write (CWYW) allows you to insert citations and bibliographies into documents as you write them.

Select the Output style

Step 1: Open a document in MS Word.

Step 2: In the Tools menu in Word, go to the EndNote X7 submenu and select Configure Bibliography.

Step 3: Choose the desired output style from the drop-down menu labelled With output style OR click the Browse button to choose an output style not available in the menu.

Step 4: Click OK to save your selection.

Insert Citations and Bibliography

The easiest way to insert a citation into a document is to first select the reference in EndNote X7 and then use the Insert Selected Citation(s) feature.

Step 1: In EndNote Desktop, select the reference to be inserted as an in-text citation.

Step 2: In the document place your cursor where you want to insert the citation.

Step 3: In the Tools menu in Word, go to the EndNote X7 sub-menu and select Insert Selected Citation(s).

Step 4: EndNote Desktop adds an in-text citation in the body of the document and a corresponding full reference at the end of the document in the selected output style.

Edit Citations

If you need to edit an in-text citation or reference you've already inserted into a document with CWYW be sure to use the Edit & Manage Citation(s) option otherwise your edits will be discarded when you update the bibliography.

Step 1: In the Tools menu, go to the EndNote X7 submenu and select Edit & Manage Citation(s).

Step 2: Select the citation to edit in the upper half of the Edit & Manage Citations dialog box.

Step 3: In the lower half of the Edit & Manage Citations dialog box, make sure Edit Citation is selected. With Edit Citation you can:

A. Change how the in-text citation displays.

B. Add a prefix (i.e. see), suffix (i.e. table 2), or pagination to the in-text citation. Make sure to include any necessary spacing and punctuation. See below for examples.

Step 4: Click OK to save changes.

Edit References

Step 1: In the Tools menu, go to the EndNote X7 submenu and select Edit & Manage Citation(s).*

Step 2:  Select the citation to edit in the upper half of the Edit & Manage Citations dialog box.

Step 3: Click on the drop-down menu to the right of the citation and select Edit Library Reference.

Step 4: Make the appropriate edits in the new dialog box. Save the changes with Command + S or File>Save.

Alternatively, in the Tools menu, go to the EndNote X7 submenu and select Edit Library Reference(s) to edit the reference in EndNote Desktop.

Edit a Bibliography

Step 1: In the Tools menu in Word, go to the EndNote X7 submenu and select Configure Bibliography.

Step 2: Click on Layout at the top of the EndNote X Configure Bibliography box.

Step 3: In the Layout box you can:

A. Change the font and size of the text of the bibliography.

B. Add a title to the bibliography (i.e. References).

C. Adjust the numbering of references in the bibliography.

D. Adjust first line and hanging indents of the bibliography.

E. Adjust the line spacing of the references in the bibliography.

F. Adjust the line spacing between references in the bibliography.

Back to TOP