Skip to Main Content
Home

Morris Library

EndNote Desktop: Cite While You Write (Windows)

A guide to EndNote Desktop X9

Ask a Librarian

Profile Photo
Ask A Librarian
There seems to be something wrong with your browser. Please try reloading this page.
For in-depth research assistance, fill out this form to meet with a librarian

For quick questions, call the Information Desk at (618) 453-2818

For questions that can wait a day or two, email us at askalibrarian@siu.edu

(All our services are answered by library staff.)

Cite While You Write

Select the Output Style

Step 1: Open a document or slides.

Step 2: Click the EndNote X7 tab in Word (this should appear automatically after you install Desktop on your device).

Step 3. Choose your preferred output style in the drop-down menu labelled: Style OR choose Select Another Style... to choose an output style not available in the menu.

Insert Citations and Bibliography

The easiest way to insert a citation into a document is to first select the reference in EndNote X7 and then use the Insert Selected Citation(s) feature.

Step 1: In EndNote Desktop, select the reference to be inserted.

Step 2: In the body of the document or slide place your cursor where you want to insert the citation.

Step 3: On the EndNote X7 tab click Insert Citation and choose Insert Selected Citation(s).

Step 4: EndNote Desktop adds an in-text citation in the body of the document and a corresponding full reference at the end of the document in the selected output style.

Edit a Citation

If you need to edit an in-text citation you've already inserted into a document with CWYW be sure to use the Edit & Manage Citation(s) option otherwise your edits will be discarded when you update the bibliography.

Step 1: Click Edit & Manage Citation(s) on the EndNote X7 tab.

Step 2: Select the citation to edit in the upper half of the Edit & Manage Citations box.

Step 3: In the lower half of the Edit & Manage Citations dialog box, make sure Edit Citation is selected. With the Edit Citation tab you can:

A. Change how the in-text citation displays.

 

B. Add a prefix (i.e. see), suffix (i.e. table 2), or pagination to the in-text citation. Make sure to include any necessary spacing and punctuation. See below for examples.

Step 4: Click OK when you're done.

Edit or Delete References

If you need to edit or delete a reference you've already inserted into a document with CWYW be sure to use the Edit & Manage Citation(s) option otherwise your edits will be discarded when you update the bibliography.

Step 1: Click Edit & Manage Citation(s) in the EndNote X7 tab.

Step 2: Select the reference to edit or delete in the upper half of the Edit & Manage Citations dialog box.

Step 3: To edit, select Edit Library Reference in the Edit Reference drop-down menu to the right of the reference. The reference edit window will open in EndNote Desktop.

Step 4: Make the appropriate edits in Desktop and save.

Step 5: The edits will appear in the document or slides after you save the changes in EndNote Desktop.

Step 6: To delete a citation and its corresponding reference, select Remove Citation in the Edit Reference drop-down menu to the right of the reference.

Edit a Bibliography

Step 1: To open the Configure Bibliography dialog box, click on the bottom corner arrow in the Bibliography box.

Step 2: Click the Layout tab.

Step 3: On the Layout box you can:

A. Change the font and size of the text of the bibliography.

B. Add a title to the bibliography (i.e. References).

C. Adjust the numbering of references in the bibliography.

D. Adjust first line and hanging indents of the bibliography.

E. Adjust the line spacing of the references in the bibliography.

F. Adjust the line spacing between references in the bibliography.

Back to TOP